trabster

60M.

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Joined Jan 2010
3 Followers 4 Following

Following 4 people

20 Loved Places

Listings

  • Lookout Bar The Castro, San Francisco
  • The Cafe The Castro, San Francisco
  • 5801 Video Lounge & Cafe Shadyside, Pittsburgh
  • Flex Nightclub & Bar Raleigh Raleigh
  • Element Shadyside, Pittsburgh

Cities

  • trabster
    trabster reviewed Flex Nightclub & Bar Raleigh Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Trashy but fun and nice crowd ...
    We went here on Thursday night the 22nd at the suggestion of several we met a The Borough. This particular night was the annual Miss Trailer Trash pageant ... and trashy, it was, too. Not into drag shows as a rule, but the crowd was great, from 18 up ... and somewhat mixed: a number of straight, college couples and singles, as well from the local colleges: UNC, Duke and NCS. We found a lot of the people to be really friendly and sociable ... well, as sociable as you can be with the "music" blaring at an ear-shattering level. (Don't know why gay bars feel it necessary to play music so fucking loud!!) Know nothing about a urinal with peanuts, but there was one shirtless bear there strutting around like the rooster in the a house ... most of the hens not noticing, I might add. [grinning] Nearby were the clubs, Legends and CC (Capital Coral) which we didn't go to. All three of these clubs have a cover charge that ranges from $5 to $7. Apparently, it was goth night at Legends that night.

  • trabster
    trabster reviewed Inn on the Mexican War Streets Over a year ago
    Loves it

    to quote others: beautiful & elegant
    This is one incredible place! Never stayed or eaten here, but I'm told it's terrific. I have had drinks with friends here, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great ambiance. The architectural restoration of this B&B: A+

  • trabster
    trabster reviewed Lookout Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not what I expected ...
    I checked it out twice. Maybe it's my age, but I remember the bar that used to be in this location in the '80s as a great place to get together with people for conversation and drinks. Now it seems to have been transformed into just another bar like most others with ear-deafening, generic "music" making it almost impossible to talk to anyone ... an awful lot of attitude and posing, too.

  • trabster
    trabster reviewed The Cafe Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not what I remember or expected ...
    I remember the bar that used to be in this location in the '80s & '90a as a comfortable place to get together with friends to talk and have drinks. Now it seems to have been transformed into just another dance bar, which is OK, I suppose ... and I love to dance. The lighting is garish and poorly done, but the dance floor seems to be well located and decent size considering the overall space available ...

  • trabster
    trabster reviewed Persad Center Over a year ago
    Loves it

    One of the best ... !
    One of the best gay support organizations in the country hands down!

  • trabster
    trabster reviewed The Sewickley Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    genuinely great American food, reasonable prices
    Located in the charming village of Sewickley, Pennsylvania on the Ohio River just 9 miles north of Pittsburgh city center and 20 minutes from the airport. One of the most popular restaurants in the area, and for good reason. Personally I like it for lunch, but breakfasts and dinners are excellent, too. The desserts are unbelievable, as well!

  • trabster
    trabster reviewed Harvey's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It's not the old Elephant Walk but ...
    Harvey's is located where the Elephant Walk used to be: a huge loss to the community. Nevertheless, it has merit. I only know it from having had brunch there a few times. The food is pretty good, and large portions. The Bloody Marys are better than most, too. The location is excellent, as well, especially if you enjoy people watching.

  • trabster
    trabster reviewed Elite Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    a great place for weekend brunch
    If you're one who enjoys a good Bloody Mary, this is one place to find one. The food is excellent, as well. One drawback is that it gets crowded fast. So, you want to go early. The other drawback: it's on the expensive side, especially if you have several Bloodies before your meal. Apparently they only serve dinner during the weekdays, which I haven't tried yet.