socaliscorpio

Jake Myers, 41M. I love to travel, go to the beach, play tennis, watch movies and TV, lay by the pool, get massages, go out on the town, eat at restaurants, read, walk my dog. I also help promote companies through the advertising options on GayCities.com, Queerty, and LGBTQNation! I'm also a therapist and am analyzing you now.

Los Angeles, California
Joined Feb 2009
104 Followers 62 Following

65 Loved Places

Listings

  • Jungle Midtown, Atlanta
  • Alibi Wilton Manors, Fort Lauderdale
  • Abbey West Hollywood, West Hollywood
  • Hunters Palm Springs Arenas Road Area, Palm Springs
  • Fiesta Cantina West Hollywood, West Hollywood

Cities

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed The Grand Resort and Spa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Love this hotel. Feels clean, nice, sexy but not overly sexual or predatory, walk to the beach, it's a bit of a walk to the gay beach, but still great

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Copley's on Palm Canyon 7 months ago
    Loves it

    amazing
    one of the best meals in PS

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C. Over a year ago
    Loves it

    love this hotel!

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Hacienda Tres Ríos, Resort, Spa and Nature Park Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Beautiful & rustic gay-friendly resort. Loved it!
    We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 night stay at this resort. The room was huge, very clean and nice, overlooking the jungle like resort with trees, rivers, birds, etc. We were told one floor up (we were on 2) you can see the ocean, but alas it was still a pretty view. The restaurants were great, especially the Mexican, Italian, and The Grill. Concierge was very helpful. The resort offered snorkeling down a centote that was REALLY fun, and it goes right out to a rustic and cool looking beach to the left of the resort. 3 jacuzzi's at this resort were KEY, so we didn't really have to fight for one. The location was good as we could go to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, and Cancun within pretty short drives, although one of our best days was simply staying in at the resort and eating, swimming, snorkeling, etc. A great stay!

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Eagle Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Amazing beautiful beach
    LOVED the white fine sand and turquoise waters of this beach. Down by the manchebo resort is a HUGE point where the sand goes out..that's the prettiest spot. A couple gay couples, but not many. You can dive down in the water and see huge gorgeous starfish. Sunsets can be beautiful as well.

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Screaming Eagle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great decor....service was so so
    Great looking place. Cool beds you can lay in while eating. very South Beach with white curtains. Service was really slow, however. and they brought a couple things incorrectly. my food was good though!

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Beacon South Beach Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    great gay friendly hotel !

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed The Tropicale Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best meal I've had in a long time....
    Our experience here was nothing less than stellar. Ryan the waiter was very friendly and attentive, and really helpful in explaining various dishes. The appetizer of coconut shrimp and calamari was great, especially the calamari (not overly fried, not overly mushy). I had the filet special which was to die for...can we say "truffled mashed potatoes!"? Mmmm The steak was cooked perfectly. We ordered cookies for dessert and were surprised when they came out freshly baked and warm, and about 8 different kinds/flavors. Ranz, who I believe is one of the owners, came over and said hi. A really great dining experience!

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed The Grove Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best outdoor mall
    I love The Grove. The movie theater now has online reserved seating, the restaurants are nice, it feels like you're 'doing something' besides going to a mall. Cool water fountain show. Snow in the winter. Sometimes too crowded around the holidays.

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed The Pines Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    huge wide great beach
    This beach is awesome. you can look to the right and to the left for miles and it's just wide, sandy, white beach. People aren't crammed in too close to each other. It was kinda windy one day, and cold water!

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Yogurt Stop Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun "gay" flavors
    This yogurt stop is fun because it has "gay" flavors like "Harvey Chocolate Milk" and "Circuit Boy Citris" (or something like that). The staff is friendly and the little outdoor seating area is nice. Good people watching.

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Warwick Denver Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Lovely stay, AMAZING Staff
    We had a good stay at the Warwick. The staff was especially nice and friendly, really going out of their way to make sure we were satisfied with our room and got one as soon as possible. The rooftop pool was nice....wish there was a jacuzzi though. And not enough chairs. The room itself was quiet, sort of basic furniture but spacious, and a nice view. Great shower head! I'd stay here again. There were some other gays on the roof by the pool as well! :)

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed The Madison Fire Island Pines Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Relaxing and quiet
    Great stay. Pool is great and we didn't realize they had a hot tub before coming, which was a nice bonus after getting out of the cold ocean! The beach is SO close, just a few steps down the boardwalk, which makes everything so convenient and ideal. Room was pretty nice. You have to tell them if you want them to clean the room or they won't. Breakfast was a bit lacking during the week, as they didn't have enough food for everyone.

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Playa Los Muertos Over a year ago
    Loves it

    nice beach
    some crowds and music, but overall a great swimming beach too

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Shockingly great hotel in great area! Superseded my expectations.
    I couldn't believe how nice the room was at Villa Mercedes. It was HUGE, and had a balcony that wrapped all the way around the building. We had 2 bathrooms which was great as well. I wasn't expecting to see the amazing ocean view where the sun would set every night right into the water from our balcony. Couldn't have been more perfect. The noise wasn't bad either. We only woke up one night to some voices and car noises down on the street, but fell back asleep. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. We didn't use the pool much, but the outdoor area in the hotel is very cute. I would definitely go back here, especially since it was right in the heart of the gay area and a block from the beach. Tons of great restaurants and shops right around us.

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Random Haus Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nicest rooms in PS
    Stayed here during Coachella weekend and I couldn't believe how nice the suites were. We had a private back patio with mountain view and a fountain that was very spacious. The rooms were modern and chic.

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Courtyard Marriott New Orleans Downtown/Iberville Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Amazing hotel
    Great place downtown!

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Ace Hotel & Swim Club Over a year ago
    Loves it

    fantastic massage
    went to the Ace for a day of relaxation. used the gym and got one of the best massages i've had in my life. love the restaurant too

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Hotel Nash Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Lords is the best
    Fantastic hotel. Right by the most beautiful gay beach I had ever seen. Friendly service, clean, cute rooms. Loved the feel you get in the lobby. And they even have pool parties!

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Andaz Wall Street Over a year ago
    Loves it

    love it
    great hotel...beautiful

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Chelsea Pines Inn Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cute, hip little B&B
    LOVED this place. Cute and well decorated with an Old Hollywood theme. We had the Paul Newman room which was fabulous, with a hot, shirtless picture of Paul in his 20's in the bathroom! The inn was quiet and close to everything in chelsea...such a cute area. Loved the bed as well, and the shower was so unique and nice. I would totally stay here again. Friendly staff as well.

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Alibi Over a year ago
    Loves it

    fun
    totally great place and CHEAP drinks!

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Marix Tex Mex Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Margarita Mondays...worth it!
    I went to Marix shockingly for the first time for Margarita Monday this week, after living in weho or weho adjacent for years. It was PACKED and lively on a Monday night, which was refreshing. The margaritas were only $4 and strong. The guacamole was OK. We didn't eat since we had already eaten, but I would go back and try the food. All in all a good experience. Nice waiter too.

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed El Mirasol Over a year ago
    Loves it

    REALLY GOOD FOOD and yummy margaritas
    I LOVED the tacos .....in fact it's making me hungry now thinking about it. The whole meal was good, including the beans and rice. The Margarita was great. They asked us if we wanted a double but we just got the single, and it was still yummy! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Atmosphere was nice and fun...lots of gays. We didn't even have to wait for a table on a busy night. There is no other Mexican food like Southern Cali Mexican food....mmm good!

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Hunters Palm Springs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun place - wish we had stayed longer
    I really like Hunters. It was dead when we got there at about 9, but by 10 it was kicking with all kinds of guys, mostly on the cuter, younger side. The music was good. We left and went to Toucan's and wished we had stayed at Hunter's longer. Fun place!

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa 1 year ago
    Loves it

    Amazing massage in huge spacious gay playground
    I absolutely love this resort and can't wait to go back. I only went for a day to get a massage, but I totally want to stay there now. The owner showed me the rooms and I used the spa and pools and had a blast. The massage was LITERALLY the best massage I had ever had in my entire life, and they told me that they screen the therapists, etc. The cocktail hour after the massage was amazing, with this delicious vodka grapefruit juice drink (sounds gross but is so sweet and good) made with fresh picked grapefruits off their tree. The nicest and cutest guys were there, one of whom we had seen out at Hunter's the night before!

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Triangle Inn Palm Springs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Absolutely gorgeous and comfortable getaway B&B
    My friend and I had such an amazing time here. The hotel is cozy and comfortable, with about 8-10 rooms, so you never feel overwhelmed with people, yet everyone was extremely friendly. The pool and jacuzzi were both very nice and warm. The room is what really blew me away. It was way bigger than expected, with a separate living room (and even the pull out couch was comfortable!), huge kitchen, and nice bedroom. The icing on the cake here was the breakfast every morning by the pool, as well as the cocktail hour in the evenings. The margaritas were yummy! The staff were all helpful and fun. They even sang Happy Birthday to another guest, bringing out a cake, and asked us to join. It was like a big happy, hot family at the Triangle-Inn! :)

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Club One Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best in Savannah
    I haven't been in awhile, but this used to be the best gay bar in Savannah, and the only real gay 'club'! Great Drag shows too. Make sure to catch Lady Chablis!

  • socaliscorpio
    socaliscorpio reviewed Squat and Gobble Over a year ago
    Loves it

    CREPES ARE TO DIE FOR!
    I loved this cute little place in the heart of the Castro. The crepes were sooooo yummy! Delicious and flavorful with a nice side salad. There was a lot of fun people-watching too.