smartissexy

49M. I'm a playwright & performer living in San Francisco for the last 22 years. The Victorians had a marvelous word, borrowed from the French-- flaneur. A flaneur drinks in his city, and informs it by being part of it. I consider that my civic duty: to act as a social critic and social celebrant of all things San Franciscan. So yes, I probably have some pretty strong and reasonable opinions about what to see and do here.

San Francisco, California
Joined May 2009
6 Followers

Following 0 people

8 Loved Places

Listings

  • Pilsner Inn The Castro, San Francisco
  • Ton Kiang Richmond, San Francisco
  • Woodhouse Fish Company The Castro, San Francisco
  • Cliff's Variety The Castro, San Francisco
  • EXIT Theatre Union Square, San Francisco

Cities

  • smartissexy
    smartissexy reviewed Ton Kiang Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Make the trek for great dim sum!!
    If you already know about dim sum, prepare to have your expectations forever changed. This Richmond District restaurant is the most delicate, delicious Chinese brunch offering you can imagine. Don't miss the duck, the pea vines, and the ambrosial custard pies. If you go on Sunday at noon, be braced for a wait!

  • smartissexy
    smartissexy reviewed Glama-Rama Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A new 'do, and so much more...
    Stylists, great art, custom wig design-- and now, live theatre!! The Glama-Rama Salon is a local treasure: absolutely knockout hair-styling, monthly art openings, and the new home of STALE MAGNOLIAS, an outrageous evening of drag superstars in an original full-length play by SF's Best Comic Playwright, Sean Owens. (that's me.)

  • smartissexy
    smartissexy reviewed Woodhouse Fish Company Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Chowder, oysters... and shortcake!
    This is a great East-Coast clamshack, transported to the chic micro-neighborhood of Landers Grove (really just the corner of 14th & Market). A truly exceptional chowder... buttery, dense, with red new potatoes and huge hunks of fresh clam... Tuesdays are $1 oyster nights, and the record stands at a whopping $145, consumed by a single diner!

  • smartissexy
    smartissexy reviewed Truck Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Home of COCKTAILGATE!
    Sunday is the new Friday at Truck... the home of Cocktailgate, a hot, hot drag show, hosted by the ever-outrageous Suppositori Spelling! The cast of queer theatre spectacle, Stale Magnolias (just around the corner at the Glama-rama) always stops by for a drink, and the boys are cute & friendly! Also a great spot for late night eats...

  • smartissexy
    smartissexy reviewed Cliff's Variety Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My mother's angel food cake pan.
    My mom bought her angel-food cake pan here in the '50's. This store has the wildest assortment of fun & fabulous items-- as practical as gaskets, as glamorous as maribou. Toys, trinkets, wigs, dishes-- you name it. A quintessential stop on your Castro walking tour.

  • smartissexy
    smartissexy reviewed EXIT Theatre Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The epicenter of new work in SF.
    I'll admit a bias: I'm their playwright-in-residence. But the EXIT, now in its 25th year, is one of the greatest venues for ground-breaking yet affordable theatre in SF, possibly all of California. The neighborhood looks a little dicey, so don't act like a tourist... stride confidently toward an authentic home to SF's finest new theatre.

  • smartissexy
    smartissexy reviewed Pilsner Inn Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Where the locals drink.
    If you're willing to eschew the glitz & glam of a hot Saturday in the Castro, wander down to the always popular, never pretentious Pilsner Inn. Warren, the handsome chocolatey bartender, makes a delicious Manhattan.