scottcalvin

Scott Kleinheksel, 36M. I do a fair amount of travel for work, friends, and (surprisingly) school. I love to explore, and am obsessed with ranking and rating cities. I always try to find new places while re-visiting the best I've already found.

West Hollywood, California
Joined May 2010
15 Followers

30 Loved Places

Listings

  • Badlands The Castro, San Francisco
  • Martuni's The Castro, San Francisco
  • Lookout Bar The Castro, San Francisco
  • Moby Dick The Castro, San Francisco
  • Pilsner Inn The Castro, San Francisco
  • Blake's Midtown, Atlanta

Cities

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Piranha Boutique Nightclub Over a year ago
    Hates it

    It's OK
    I've been to Piranha a few times, and overall it's good, but not great. Unsurprisingly a lot of people are from out of town, which is both good and bad. Drinks are fine, the dancing is fine. I saw a good drag show in January, and met some guys who brought me upstairs to their VIP room. I tend to stop by each visit to Vegas, but it's not a place that I can't wait to return to.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Akbar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not a Fan
    I thought Akbar would be my favorite bar when I moved to LA, but was wrong. Very hipster crowd, really dark, and the dancing is only so-so. Parking is easy, but not convenient to hop around to other places. I understand why some people LOVE it, but it's not my scene.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Swinging Richards Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My Favorite Place in ATL
    I was in town with some friends for a conference, and a bunch of us headed over to Dick's. Undoubtedly something for everyone: Black, white, latino, smooth, scruffy, built, twink, everything. For a few bucks you can get a good show right at the platform, or for just $20-25 hop into the VIP section. Highly recommended.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Lucky Horseshoe Lounge Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Good Selection
    I liked that it was very unpretentious, and no cover. Just walk in, grab a drink, and watch some guys. Compared to clubs in other cities, though, Lucky Horseshoe came up a bit short.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Abbey Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It's the Abbey
    The Abbey is a great place that you love to hate. It's packed most nights of the week with a range of good looking guys, and lots of gals too. It's a regular stop for many that live in WeHo, and a destination for suburbanites and travelers. The crowds can be a bit much, and the go-go dancers aren't the best - i.e. it's a good place, but there's better nearby.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Roscoe's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    I didn't see the appeal
    All my friends told me I had to go to Roscoe's when I was here on a Thursday night in March. It seemed like a potentially good place, but not much was happening. I was traveling solo, and it didn't seem like an easy place to meet guys. Good music, great drink specials each night, but it wasn't anything special.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Gold Coast Over a year ago
    Hates it

    I'm not the target market
    Normally I'd give this 2 stars, but to be fair, the Gold Coast isn't aiming for the late-20's professional crowd. They had great drink specials, and a bunch of normal looking older guys (which I like). I also randomly had an arm wrestling competition with some guy I met. Aside from that, it's mainly just a bar with a lot of men.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Fiesta Cantina Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Happy Hour Central
    No better place in WeHo for a margarita (or three), and the extensive length of happy hour ensures fun all night long.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Micky's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    I want to love it
    When Micky's (re-)opened, I was very excited for a stylish, open-aired club. Every time I walk by, the place is packed and the crowd is having a good time. But when I go with my friends, it's never great. The go-go boys are hot, but full of themselves. The dance floor is going, but the music and the crowd usually don't match up. The drinks are good, but expensive. On the plus side, there's some great people watching, but again, you can find better elsewhere.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Metropolitan Nightclub Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Nothing Special
    I've only ever been to Factory during Cherry Pop, though for some reason prefer the UltraSuede side. The couches aren't very nice, and that's all I've really paid attention to.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Penthouse Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Good for dancing - kind of
    I prefer Cherry Pop to the likes of Rage or Mickey's, but the expensive drinks and super-vast dance floor put me off. There are a lot of straight females either in groups or with their gay buddies, and generally everybody tends to go in large groups. If you're visiting, Cherry Pop is worth it, as the dance music is great. With the vastness of it, though, tough to meet people.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Q Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Drinks, Great Location, Great Guys
    The space gets tight and packed, but so does any other good bar in the Castro. Drinks are tasty and strong, and a lot of good looking guys all around. For better or worse, there's more hip-hop music at QBar than most other bars nearby.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Moby Dick Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Friendly, Great Place
    Moby has a chill scene w/ a pool table, beat-filled music, and a bunch of friendly guys. It's normally pretty full, but never difficult to get a drink. I think it's a little nicer than Pilsner or Mix (though I recommend them all). Good place to start, end, or spend an entire evening.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Martuni's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Great Martini's, Good for Something Different
    The martini's are mixed very well, and the bartenders are very attentive and knowledgeable. Some guys at the piano can sing really well, though most are average. It's a good place and I'd like to give it more than 3 stars, but if you're visiting, I would recommend hitting up other places - Martuni's isn't very close to other bars, so you can't just move next door if you aren't feeling it.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Gym Sportsbar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best place to watch games - or the guy next to you
    If you like sports and/or guys that like sports, Gym is definitely the place to go. It's a small and awkward space, but it only gets really full for big games. Outdoor patio is great for people watching, and the 2:1 Happy Hour is great - you get a chip good for your second drink, redeemable that night or any other time. Older crowd than most WeHo spots, and a little more scruffy. One of my favorites here in LA.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Fubar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Dirtiest Bar in West Hollywood (in a good way!)
    If you like MEN (only ever a handful of females, if any) and a little sleazy, Fubar is for you. From underwear night to Big Fat Dick to red light parties, Fubar offers a bar unlike its WeHo counterparts. The guys are scruffy hot, the go-go dancers often show quite a bit, and the music keeps the crowd going. One of my favorites in SoCal.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Blake's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    The Abbey of the South
    I went to Blake's twice while in ATL during Fall 2009. I was there with a bunch of friends, and we all thought it was "good". The place was wall-to-wall packed both times, and it certainly seemed like the place to be. It didn't feel like anywhere we hadn't been before, though, leading us to wonder how it differed from the Abbey in LA.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Lookout Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The best spot on a sunny day
    I fell in love with this bar back when it was Metro, but Lookout has upheld the scene pretty well. Good dance / pop music, great place to hang out with your friends and run into people. The balcony is great for people watching, especially on holidays (Halloween, Bay 2 Breakers, Castro Street Fair, etc).

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Mother Lode Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The Least "LA" Bar in WeHo
    MotherLode has strong drinks, great bartenders, and cute guys. It's not a dive, but it is the least pretentious bar in West Hollywood. Guys are friendly and easy to talk with.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Urban Mo's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Fun, but nothing special
    I first went to Urban Mo's back as Hamburger Mary's (in 2005), and return about once a year when I'm in town. There are always cute guys around, and the food is good, but it's not an overly memorable place.

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Pilsner Inn Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Guys, Relaxed and Chill
    There's a pool table up front, patio area out back, and a bunch of down-to-earth guys. Always a great place to grab a drink and the beginning or end of the night, and less crowded than the main Castro strip. I met a future ex-boyfriend at the Pilsner - definitely an easy place to strike up a conversation. Great bloody mary's, too (if you get the right bartender).

  • scottcalvin
    scottcalvin reviewed Badlands Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My San Francisco Home
    For both better and worse, Badlands forever holds my heart. It has a front area to drink and a back area to dance - any Thurs to Sat is packed full. Lots of sweaty guys, occassional groping on the dance floor, and Top 40 dance music blasting. Guys from young twinks to older bears and everything in between, Badlands is something for everyone.