piercedm4m

52M.

Pitts, Pennsylvania
Joined Aug 2011

Following 0 people

17 Loved Places

Listings

  • Blue Moon Lawrenceville, Pittsburgh
  • Brewer's Hotel Bar Strip District, Pittsburgh
  • Donny's Place Strip District, Pittsburgh
  • 5801 Video Lounge & Cafe Shadyside, Pittsburgh
  • Images Bar Downtown, Pittsburgh
  • Tilden Downtown, Pittsburgh
  • piercedm4m
    piercedm4m reviewed Lucky's Tavern Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Can't Believe It's Still Existing
    The big crowds are mostly gone except here and then, the strippers are getting a bit better but the music stinks, even the bartenders want a new DJ.. They don't take credit cards so you have to mess with cash. The place not been remodeled in YEARS. Very dirty, dingy and just plain unkept. If it wasn't one of the original bars in Pittsburgh I likely won't go but there are many nice people that go there so I stop by everyone once in awhile. Not a must on the 'to do' list.

  • piercedm4m
    piercedm4m reviewed Cattivo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great FOOD - Great People - Awesome Place
    This is the place to go in the early evening for some really good food (big portions - great prices) and have some cocktails or go on the weekend when it super busy with everyone movin to the music. Parking is not plentyful but if you don't mind walking a block or two you'll find a place. The owners are so super nice and take time to talk to their customers. I love supporting this bar. I'm a guy and this is mostly a women's bar but I've never felt uncomfortable yet. It's a YES for Me and don't forget to try some of their food or munchies.

  • piercedm4m
    piercedm4m reviewed The Link Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Fun Out of the City Place in Middle of Nowhere
    I love the bar, bartenders, music and atmosphere but enough of the drag shows already. The people truly make this place, everyone is friendly although many younger patrons that bring their wannabe girlfriends since not too many dance bars in rural area. I like this bar and I do drive an hour to get there when I'm bored with city bars but overall not my favorite.

  • piercedm4m
    piercedm4m reviewed Element Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice Upper Scale Bar
    I liked the place buy my partner thought it was a bit snooty. It was but I didn't care because we met a small group and had a great time. Drinks are a bit pricy but the atmosphere didn't come cheap so you pay for what you get. Great Music. Fun Crowd. Very conveniently across from 5801 which is also a great place.

  • piercedm4m
    piercedm4m reviewed Club Pittsburgh Baths Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Nice Place But Go Sober
    It's nice to go and have fun but don't go drunk. Never been to a place where so many individuals were so persistent. Felt like I was being stalked by old men on walkers. Steam Sauna siimply smells disgusting and is filthy. Dry Sauna nice. Back play room cramped with scary folk standing around waiting for something to happen. Don't agree with condom free videos they play as they should be encouraging safe sex. Stayed at other bath houses when traveling, this is not that kind. Definately intended for a quickie and that's about it. If you go, Have Fun but Play Safe and watch some of the crowd. I must say the staff is friendly.

  • piercedm4m
    piercedm4m reviewed Donny's Place Over a year ago
    Loves it

    GREAT BAR - HAVE FUN
    Donny's is a Pittsburgh original as is Donny himself. Donny's changed many times over years but Donny is running again....and it shows. He has remodeled third floor really nice, the main floor is open with pool tables and the basement is a leather bar. It's a Man's Man bar but people are extremely friendly. Yes, the lesbians are bitter because it's now a men's bar again but hey they have Cativo's which is a beautiful fun bar. It's a DEFINATE YES for me.

  • piercedm4m
    piercedm4m reviewed Tilden Over a year ago
    Hates it

    It's a 'SKIP IT' for Me
    You either like it or hate it. To me, it's very pricy and just not worth the time. If you want to go for afterhours, you must pay for membership then you have about 20 minutes to wait in massive line to get drinks before last call. Do yourself a favor, go home after 2 a.m., it's not worth the money or dealing with the drunk crowd of twinkies and their girlfriends.

  • piercedm4m
    piercedm4m reviewed There Ultra Lounge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun Place - Nice People - Good Drinks and Bartenders
    It's a YES for me. I like this place. It is friendly, clean, and just overall a pleasant place to meet friends or make new ones. Drink specials are good and they make a nice cocktail. Nice mixed crowd for happy hour and the weekends are fun. Try It.....You'll Like It.

  • piercedm4m
    piercedm4m reviewed 941 Saloon Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Skip It......
    I've tried this place several times and never liked it. Drinks way too high for atmosphere, service VERY slow as they'll stand and talk to friends instead of serving drinks. Known for hustler type crowds but that goes on in posh places too but more obvious here. Not a place I'd go anymore. Just not worth the time unless your visiting and want to try every bar in town. Good Luck.

  • piercedm4m
    piercedm4m reviewed Images Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    This once was a really cool place to go but the crowd has become a bit scary at times. If your staying downtown, give it a try, you may hit a good night but watch your wallets and your cash on the bar. With all the other new and old gay bars in the city, they need to clean up their act before it goes further down hill. They should have left the nice quant atmosphere alone that always drew a great happy hour and weekend crowd of respectful working class people. It's a toss on this. I would never say pass it by because life is about experiences so just be street smart and don't fall for any hussles.

  • piercedm4m
    piercedm4m reviewed Blue Moon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Welcome Back - Once Again a Fun Place
    The Blue Moon has seen it's issues but has really come back to being a fun, lively bar with great later evening and weekend crowds. Good Drinks, Fun Bar with nice people who talk to you if you make some mutual effort. Small outdoor patio but plenty of seating. Overall, it's a fun place to try out. I wasn't a big fan at one time but I really like how things have turned around. Definately a YES.

  • piercedm4m
    piercedm4m reviewed P-Town Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun Bar - Good Drinks - Friendly People
    Overall, it's a fun bar. All bartenders are friendly and the drinks are good. Weekends always busy and nice crowd for nude strippers several weekdays each week but happy hour is mainly a bust. One time their open and one time their not. If you plan to go before 9:00 p.m., give them a call to be sure they are open but overall, I really like the place, the music, the crowd. FUN PLACE. Try It.

  • piercedm4m
    piercedm4m reviewed 5801 Video Lounge & Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Atmosphere - Cool Crowd - Love IT
    Just a great place to hang out with respectable people in a really nicely decorated atmosphere. Love their designer. Bar has lots of really neat features. Anyhow, Parking Sucks so take the cab ride to Shadyside if visiting or plan to walk a couple blocks from public lots. Definately a great big YES on your list of gay bars with mixed crowd to visit. Great Drinks, Outdoor bar, smoke-free areas, good food...I Give it 4 Stars.

  • piercedm4m
    piercedm4m reviewed Brewer's Hotel Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Don't Eat Sunday Buffet or Drink from A Glass
    The bar is a neighborhood dive bar so you should expect locals, seniors and those that are at the door at 7 a.m. The crowd is pretty cool overall and most crowded weekday happy hour.....BUT you'll see roaches running across bar or falling from ceiling, the bathroom stinks and the police LOVE to watch this bar since they have illegal poker machines and they'll let you drink till you pass out. Bar has history with incidents requiring police. If you need a drink before 4 p.m. when most other gay bars open, try it, otherwise pick another place if going after 4 p.m. even if you have to pay 50 cents more a drink. Check out the Pittsburgh Out for all the bars. Several new one's opened in last few months and are doing well with fun crowds. As for the Brewer's, it will always be the dive it was for the past 25 years....just different roaches going there now.