leatherskin78

54.

Joined Mar 2010

Following 0 people

9 Loved Places

Listings

Events

  • leatherskin78
    leatherskin78 reviewed Aladdin's Eatery Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Part of a regional chain
    Aladdin's in Akron is part of chain of Lebanese-style cafes in Ohio and a few other states. I emphasize "lebanese-style" not authenic Lebanese. Don't expect Arabic music, exotic surroundings, or flavorful food. The menu is strictly pedestrian and Anglo friendly. Smoothies, Americanized versions of Arabic specialties, and grocery store-style flatbread are served in addition to stand-by favorites like baklava pastry, stuffed grape leaves, and grilled lamb. Some disappointments: my salad was drenched in crumbled feta, completely overpowering the greens. The grilled lamb pita sandwich was tough and chewy and the "bite sized" pieces were actually so big that I could barely chew them. The service was not very speedy or attentive either. Tends to be a date restaurant on weekends. Not very gay, but the vegetarian specialties and allegedly "foreign" ambience attract sophisticated gay guys. It's OK, but not great.

  • leatherskin78
    leatherskin78 reviewed Akron Steam and Sauna Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Don't judge a book by it's cover!
    Yeah, this place is a dive. But most gay places are dives, aren't they? Akron Steam and Sauna is a unique bathouse. It's definitely old school. No fancy frills. As a leather man, I prefer places like Steam and Sauna. When I went to college in Akron, I looked forward to a trip to the baths on Saturday night after the bars. You may not realize it by the looks of the outside, but a lot of hot men used to visit and have a lot of fun. Some of my best hook ups happened here. Good looking masculine younger guys compensate for the more mature types. It used to be very frisky, as long as you go late, like after midnight. There's a TV room, patio, and sauna. It looks dirty, but really isn't, as far as baths go. You won't find many twinks or shaved, athletic types here, which is fine with me. This is more like a 70s-style bathhouse than any of the baths in Cleveland. It refreshingly does not hide itself down a deserted street, like Flex in Cleveland. Steam and Sauna is located right off a main street, and is easily visible and accessible. In fact, if you are closeted and don't want to be seen, you should know that the baths are in a high traffic area, right by two straight porn palaces.

  • leatherskin78
    leatherskin78 reviewed Angel Falls Coffee Company Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A nice place for a gay-friendly afternoon
    I used to study here when I attended Akron U. The coffee is OK, not the best (my personal favorite is Phoenix Coffee in Cleveland), but it is a reasonably comfortable and convenient place for a get together with friends or to check out the Highland Square gay crowd. They have a nice drink menu with many options and a lot of seating plus a counter that looks over Market Street. I prefer coffeehouses that are more on the funky, dark side, but for Akron, Angel Falls is a nice gay option that you should check out at least once if you usually go to Caribou or Starbucks.

  • leatherskin78
    leatherskin78 reviewed The Interbelt Over a year ago
    Hates it

    The Queen of Akron, as far as Queens Go
    I went to college in Akron some years ago, and everyone loved the Innerbelt. Lines were long to get in, the place was packed, and bartenders were fun. Gays, straights, hustlers, and everyone in between partied til the wee hours. Nowadays, things are different. Last time I went, girls were using the men's room, which I thought was inappropriate, especially since I needed to use the facilities and probably would not be welcome in the women's room. Guys used to hook up in the restroom- I guess that no longer occurs with straight college girls around. Supposedly lesbians dominate, and I wouldn't be surprised, since lesbians usually take over bars once the gay male crowd decreases. I always thought the Innerbelt was a tad skeezy. When you're in your midtwenties, it was a fun place to go on the gay hunt. One of the best hook ups I ever had was with someone I met at the Belt. Things change. The seedier elements, that always were there, have taken more control of the scene. The area is also a little dicey at night, so go with friends if you go at all.

  • leatherskin78
    leatherskin78 reviewed Square Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Tres chic and tres twink
    This bar used to be called "Metro." Metrosexual is the right word. It is very sleek and ultra cool. But don't expect a hook up or manly men. I'd rather go to Tearez or even Adams Street.

  • leatherskin78
    leatherskin78 reviewed Cocktails Akron 2.0 Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Has great potential but fails to use it. The upstairs bar- Daddy's- was supposed to be a fetish/leather bar, but usually is just home to older men playing male drag dress-up. Real leather conversation or action is usually nonexistent. To make matters worse, the bartender (I don't know if he's still there) made surprising racist comments (as did some customers on other occasions, in regard to Arabs and Latinos) but no one chose to object. Very disappointing. I don't know if this was part of some macho leather posing or if those comments reflect their true feelings, but either way, my values are different and I feel uncomfortable in such a place. The main bar- Cocktails- is the sister bar of Cocktails Cleveland. Many guys love Cocktails because it's an unpretentious, large bar, but it has seen better days. Sundays in summer used to a lot of fun, with tipsy hot beefy guys on the patio and a lot of sexual innuendo and hook ups. In the winter, things are slower.

  • leatherskin78
    leatherskin78 reviewed Tear-Ez Over a year ago
    Loves it

    An Akron Legend
    Tearez began at another location and relocated to South Main more than a few years ago. People either love it or hate it. Honestly, it's not as busy as it once was. Since about 2001, for whatever reason, the bar's business has declined. Maybe the smoking ban aggravated the decline, who knows? Anyway, the drag divas and varied assortment of old men, college twinks, and bi curious folks still patronize the bar. It's just not as lively and fun as it used to be. Last time I went, the formerly blasting Sunday evening show was sad. A mostly empty bar with a mediocre lip-sinching. Parking is always a problem, but the area is usually safe. Hopefull things will pick up. They could use some new blood, in terms of bartenders and customers. Everyone knows "Cregger," everyone's favorite gay uncle/daddy. Gary, one of the owners, is also a beloved figure. Steve has his followers too. Haven't gone as much as I used to, so maybe some details have changed. When it's fun, you don't want to leave. It's always a good place to begin your night or end it. The men's room used to have a "notorious" reputation around last call.