fedacct

John S, 47M.

Cincinnati, Ohio
Joined Jul 2011
2 Followers

Following 0 people

32 Loved Places

Listings

  • Bobby Loves Boystown, Chicago
  • Old Street Saloon Monroe (suburb), Monroe
  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Bobby Loves Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not sure what to think
    The customers seemed friendly enough when we first came into the bar. However, the bartender took his time (at least a minute) to finish up a conversation with another patron before getting our drink order. Then, our rum & diet and 7&7 ended up costing $16! It sort of made me feel like we were the joke of the bar, and they were hosing the out-of-towners. The crowd looked pretty low-end as well.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Dudley's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Friendly bar with outdoor sidewalk seating
    It's a small bar, but the atmosphere is nice. Great neighborhood aesthetics with plenty of restaurants and places to go to around the corner. The guys here were really nice, not nasty and scary like the ones back home in the Midwest where we live. They helped us out (without us asking) with a mistake we made parking on the street. Strangers engaged us in conversation and said "hello".

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Babylon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice bar, friendly crowd, not scary or cliquish
    Pretty impressed.....nice atmosphere, and everyone was friendly. One of the best bar experiences I've had amongst other cities in years.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Pulse Ultra Club Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Decent for Myrtle Beach
    A little dive-ish, but overall a nice bar with really nice local people and staff. Large space, plenty of seating, and has a dance floor. The only negative is that smoking is allowed, and the ventilation isn't good. Based on my two visits there, it also appears to be frequented by the occasional preppy middle-aged traveler looking to hook up with guys that are way out of their league. I found it rather entertaining! Appears to be the only gay bar in Myrtle Beach. Unfortunately, it isn't in the most convenient location......down on the south side of town.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Crowne Plaza Dayton Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Most convenient to the bars and Oregon district
    Doesn't look the most desirable and is misleading from the outside....could benefit from a good power wash and updating. However, the interior of the hotel was recently remodeled and is nice. Rooms are clean. Hotel has a bar and restaurant on the top floor. Closest hotel to the bars and the Oregon district if you attend Pride or Gay Film Festival events or if you otherwise had too much.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Georgie's Alibi Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The best and biggest gay bar in Tampa Bay
    Conservative, preppy gay traveler here. Tested out several places, and this was the one I liked the best. Large establishment with two bars, a dance floor, and deck seating as well. Staff was friendly. Above average quality crowd. Best yet, you can't smoke in the bar.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed City Side Lounge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very nice bar with outdoor patio
    Well maintained bar. Upscale aesthetics albeit a bit boxy on the inside. Had a very large, nice patio with another bar. People seemed nice. Crowd was approaching middle age but not skanky. Only negative is that smoking is allowed in the bar. Also, the bar is a bit isolated from anything else that's gay themed. Not much around that would otherwise be a destination. Conservative, preppy 44 yo gay traveler here. Felt very comfortable.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Bistro 303 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Business traveler, good place for after work
    I went here nearly every night after woork. Nice bar, and decent crowd. Bartenders are nice.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Rehab Saint Louis Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Two people DIDN'T leave their attitude at the door
    I had the strangest experience here. I went in after work while I was in STL on a business trip, and two guys in suits asked me to join them in conversation. Then, they acted like a couple of d!cks and started insulting me. I know it isn't the bar's fault and they shouldn't be nailed because of a patron's behavior. Still though, these are the type of people they attract. Not exactly the type of thing I want to put up with when I'm relaxing with a drink.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Tremont Lounge Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Seedy place
    The title pretty much states it. Went once and never went back.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Level Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Overpriced and all about presentation
    Looks nice and has potential. Food has a modern presentation that really doesn't add much to the quality. I stopped going here because I "drank and dashed" after I couldn't get the bartender's attention to pay my bill. It seemed that he preferred to talk to other patrons. I guess I wasn't cool enough.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Union Cafe Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice bar and staff
    Nice bar, great atmosphere, and great food. The crowd is generally a little too young to my liking. Also, as I've found throughout the gay community in Columbus the patrons are very cliquish. Not a great place to meet people, but pretty good if you just want to drink, have dinner, and chill.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Club Diversity Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Has a lot of potential
    It looks like a nice place with a lot of potential. Unfortunately, what mostly ruins it is an overrated Columbus gay community. The gay community is so highly touted here; I’m not impressed. It’s nothing more than a bunch of Appalachian hillbillies that have the pretension that they are part of a major metropolis. (As I like to tell people, Columbus is West Virginia's largest city!) It’s very cliquish and not open or friendly, and it is a low brow crowd. I had much better luck meeting people when I lived on the east coast, and they were people that were more appealing to talk to. In addition, there are problems with a couple of the bartenders: one charges different prices every time you come up to him (raising them in succession....he's the one that smiles at you phony), and another recently spent his time surfing the internet and acted perturbed when I asked him for the wifi password. He spouted it off quickly and unclearly, acting annoyed when I asked him verify. (The password contained a “plus” – is the word spelled out, or is it the “+” sign?) The back patio is overrated too; pretty dirty from all the smokers. Columbusites seem to have a thing about touting up themselves and their city, this bar included. It isn't all that.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed English Ivy's Restaurant & Corner Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    There are better after work places
    Was visiting and came here after work since it was highly ranked. The atmosphere seemed adequate enough, but it was a very old crowd quite cliquish. I finished my drink, left, and went somewhere else.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Club Masque Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Dance club mixed gay/straight
    Looks like a nice club, but unfortunately I never make it past the front door since I'm not willing to pay a cover charge when there is no one there. Of course, I've gone after work on a weeknight.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed The Stage Door Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Very dingy and dead
    Never gone into this place because it looks uninviting from the outside, and I've never seen anyone in it.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed MJ's On Jefferson Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Recently moved and renovated
    UPDATED 12/30/2014 - A step up and much improved after the recent move over to where "The Vault" used to be. Has a lot of potential. Unfortunately though, Dayton isn't the type of place where the bars draw out what few gay people are here. Also, I found out this place suffers from a bad rumor going around, which I won't post publicly on here. If you're looking to meet someone, don't be selective. Drinks are OK and reasonably priced.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed The Bar Complex Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Disappointing
    Was visiting from another city. Is this really as good as it gets in Lex? Bartender was unfriendly. The crowd was really cliquish, low class, and appeared to be a lot of regular, degenerative drunks. Listening to some chick at the end of the bar, drunk & mad at the world, talking about what a rock she is in everyone's life, and everyone is listening to her. In that case, thank you everyone for not speaking to me. Very dark and depressing place. I'm giving it another 10 minutes before I head out.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Old Street Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Gay bar in a place you wouldn't expect
    I visited this bar last night. It's in the heart of downtown Monroe, which more resembles a nice small town removed from the city than it does a suburb. The area around the bar is decent. The guys there were pretty nice.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Main Event Over a year ago
    Hates it

    This isn't a gay bar
    This used to be a gay bar called Carol's, but it's no longer a gay bar. I checked it out twice after work and saw straight black people.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Hyatt Regency Cincinnati Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Some wear & tear
    This hotel needs to be renovated. Walls marked up, carpets stained, and I even found a cigarette burn hole on the duvet cover (I had a non-smoking room). Despite this, it is clean. Also, you can get this room on Priceline by bidding $45/night for it.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Below Zero Lounge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice place, but not as good as it used to be
    I used to see professional guys here after work, but not so much lately. Where are they going now? Nothing wrong with the bar itself though. It is swanky.

  • fedacct
    fedacct reviewed Simon Says Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Kind of a creepy place
    Not trying to be mean, but it just didn't feeel like a comfortable and safe place.