ericolav

Olav Hansen, 45M. I am a quiet but fun loving guy from the Northwest who enjoys travel to warm & sunny locations!

Seattle, Washington
Joined Oct 2008
33 Followers 21 Following

29 Loved Places

Listings

  • Badlands The Castro, San Francisco
  • Berlin Boystown, Chicago
  • Hydrate Boystown, Chicago
  • Touche Rogers Park, Chicago
  • Oil Can Harry's Studio City, Studio City
  • Rich's San Diego Hillcrest, San Diego

Cities

Events

Upcoming

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Oil Can Harry's 1 year ago
    Loves it

    Fun night out
    Fun club in the heart of Austin. No cover on a Saturday night & decent priced drinks. Good crowd mix of ages & races.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed The PumpJack Pub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Saturday night!
    Pumpjack is the place for the over 35 crowd to go to avoid the snobbish Millennials at other area clubs & have a great time. Good, friendly crowd on Saturday nights, great music & strong drinks! My Saturday night hangout place!

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed The Cuff Complex Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Neighbour's alternative
    Spent New Year's Eve here 2011/12. THis was my first visit here; usually I go to Neighbour's, which is becoming more of a straight hang-out. I had a great time here; danced with a couple of hotties. The club is large with a big dance floor, and the staff were cool. The real test will be to see what it's like on a regular night and not a special event like New Year's Eve. Will review again shortly to see if it's always good like that!

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed R Place Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good New Year's club
    I was here for New Year's Eve 2011/12. Won over $20 in the cash balloon drop which was fun, but I don't know if I'd come here on a regular basis - not my type of crowd or music.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Hamburger Mary's Diner Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good breakfast.
    I like coming here for breakfast. Good food, friendly service and decent prices.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed F212 Steam Vancouver Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Decent Vancouver play place.
    Located in a safe area in the gay village. Not as busy as it was 5 years ago or so, which I blame on the internet (Manhunt/Grindr, etc) It is clean with friendly staff. Can be fun if the crowd is decent, but I find most of the clients are either older or Asian. It's fun there on special event times like for Pride or Gay Whistler.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Twist Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Decent for Miami Beach
    The club is hit or miss depending on the night/crowd. South Beach isn't what it used to be but you can have a good time at this club if you get a good crowd. The scene seems to have moved north to Fort Lauderdale.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Paco's Ranch Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good Puerto Vallarta club.
    Visited in November 2011 while in PVR for Atlantis Events. Very fun club with a good crowd on a Wednesday night. Reasonably priced drinks, no cover on Wednesday, good drag show, great music, friendly staff & fun overall crowd.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Blue Massage Spa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good massage parlor
    Heard rumors of "exotic massages" here. Not quite "exotic", but Alex is an excellent masseur and the price is right, too. Just don't go in expecting too much and it will be a nice experience.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Arty Farty Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice little Tokyo Club.
    This is probably one of the nicest gay clubs in Asia, which isn't saying a lot as there are very few gay clubs there, but at least this is something. It is upstairs and quite small, but that's typical for Tokyo. You must buy a drink upon entry, but there's no cover charge when I was there, even on Saturday nights. It fills up on Saturday night with a Japanese majority but a surprisingly large foreign crowd. A favorite of gay ex-pats living, working or teaching in Japan. In all, nothing special but a fun time with reasonably priced drinks (for Tokyo), friendly crowd & good music.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Aiiro Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Small Tokyo bar
    Typical small Tokyo gay bar. It attracts a sizable group of expats, so if you're a foreigner and living, working or teaching English in the Tokyo area, this is a good bar to meet others doing the same thing. Drinks reasonably priced for Tokyo.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Touche Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great neighborhood leather bar
    If you're into the leather scene, this is the place on the north end. Firendly crowd and all types of men there.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Hydrate Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Typical club on Halsted.
    I was visiting Chicago as a tourist looking for a good club on Halsted. This club is more of a neighborhood bar with lots of locals rather than for tourists. Moderate crowd for a Friday & Saturday night; not huge but not empty either. Mix of gay & straight. Decent drink prices. I had a good time there although I've been to better clubs in my life.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Berlin Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good neighborhood club
    I was a tourist visiting Chicago solo looking for a good dance club. It is more for the locals, but I had a good time anyway. It doesn't get going until after midnight, but a good croud by 1 am. The club is a mix of gay & straight with lots of girls. Decent drink prices.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Fountainhead Pub Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Be careful here!
    In March of 2009, there was a gay bashing here - the victim is in serious condition as of this writing. Just another attack in an epidemic of gay bashings in the heart of Vancouver's gay district along Davie Street. Hard to believe we are not even safe in our own clubs! Outrageous!

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Numbers Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great club for the over 30 crowd.
    This is a fun multi-level bar & dance club that caters to a more mixed age crowd. While Celebrities & Odyssey are chiefly for 20-somethings, this is a club where 30 & 40 somethings will feel more comfortable. It is also not loaded with girls like the other gay Vancouver clubs seem to be.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Island House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great place in the Keys!
    Stayed here 2 nights in November. Great facility with pool, inndoor & outdoor hot tubs, gym, video room sauna & steamroom. Good variety of men young, middle age & older. Friendly staff.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Coral Reef Guesthouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Wonderful guesthouse!
    Next time you're in Fort Lauderdale, treat yourself to a stay at this guest house. It is located in an upscale neighborhood a little out of the way, but less than 15 minutes by car to downtown, airport or Wilton Manors. 5 minutes to beach by car, or take one of their bikes for a fun ride. The owners go out of their way to make you feel at home. Snacks, sodas, beer available all day. Great breakfast spread. If you're there on a Saturday, they just may treat you to a cruise on the intercoastal in the Stingray (their boat). Awesome trip. The hotel grounds are clean and feature beautiful tropical flora. Rooms are clean & comfortable.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Coral Sands Motel Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Older cruisy hotel in Hollywood
    This is not the Waldorf Astoria by any means - it's a cruisy older basic hotel in the heart of Hollywood. Yes it is a little worn, but I had a great stay there. Porn on 2 channels daily. Nice pool & hot tub area, where guys cruse. There are some drugs so be careful. I saw a guy smoking meth in his room.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Badlands Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great video bar
    Badlands is not for everyone; if you don't like pop dance music or videos you won't like it. It's definitely not some uber-chic club in Manhattan. I was there twice - on a Friday & Saturday nights. It gets going early, by 10 pm it's packed and it closes @ 2 am sharp. I found the bartenders to be very nice & its cheap too ($2 cover & $3 bottles of beer). There are lots of tourists there, so the croud tends to be friendlier - I danced with several hotties there!

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Neighbours Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cool club.
    Neighbors is a cool club. Yes, there are lots of straight people who show up and sometimes attitude, but overall you should have a good time here. Thrusday 80's night is fun, especially for those "over 30". The club really gets humpin' after midnight.

  • ericolav
    ericolav reviewed Parliament House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great motel, bar, club & cruisy resort all in one!
    Great cruisy motel with a bar & nightclub right on the premises. The club was great - lots of hot guys were there. After the dancing was over, there's lots of action in the hallways of the motel. Nice pool & grounds, too. Cool staff.