cydzeigler

Cyd Zeigler, 44M. I'm the co-founder of Outsports.com, the world's leading gay-sports publication. Author of the non-best seller, The Outsports Revolution. Former associate editor of The New York Blade. Contributing writer for Out, New York Press, reFresh, Genre and other publications. When I'm not writing articles and books, I'm writing screenplays and working on other entertainment projects. And when I'm not doing that, I'm playing football, ultimate frisbee, bridge, some other card game, or keeping up on politics.

Los Angeles, California
Joined Aug 2009
24 Followers

18 Loved Places

Listings

  • Fubar West Hollywood, West Hollywood
  • GYM SPORTSBAR Chelsea, New York
  • Spiritus Pizza West End, Provincetown
  • cydzeigler
    cydzeigler reviewed Snaps Bistro Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great food, good atmosphere
    We sat at the bar and had a really tasty dinner. The open-face sandwiches were fantastic, particularly the mushroom (don\'t get scared by the \'creamed\' part of the title - it\'s done in a wine sauce) and the pork belly. There were several other gay men at the restaurant, but you\'ll find that lots of places in Reykjavik. The service was good, though one of the waitresses couldn\'t take the scowl off her face. But go for the food - great spot.

  • cydzeigler
    cydzeigler reviewed Liliha Bakery Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best pancakes you will ever have
    A Hawaiian friend had told me Lihila Bakery has the best pancakes in the world, but I didn't believe him for a second. He was right. Incredible. I thought about them every morning for our stay after eating them. There are only about a dozen seats in the place, so you may have a wait if you go at a peak time. But the pancakes are worth it!

  • cydzeigler
    cydzeigler reviewed Stage Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good food, great atmosphere
    Solid food. The calamari crusted in graham cracker had great sauces but was a little chewy. The pork chop was excellent, juicy. Dessert was an "Asian sundae" with green tea ice cream, caramel, raspberry compote, coconut tapioca...pretty tasty but the flavors were an odd combination. The decor and atmosphere are high-end and great. May remind you of your favorite cosmopolitan spot in Manhattan. Music gets you in the mood. They also have a great wine bar - stop by for a snack and some great wine!

  • cydzeigler
    cydzeigler reviewed Fubar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best small bar in L.A.
    People compare Fubar to bars in New York, and based on the space and the feel of the physical bar they're right. But the crowd and bartenders at Fubar are much friendlier than New York bars. Dance Bitch on Friday nights is my favorite: Fun music, great host, good energy.

  • cydzeigler
    cydzeigler reviewed Bake Shoppe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fantastic old-fashioned bakery
    The best bakery in Rehoboth, it's one of the best bakeries I've ever had the pleasure of visiting (and I make it a point to visit them!). Their cream-filled donuts are a revelation, but they've got wonderful danishes, muffins, babkas and other great baked goods. If you're going to endulge in some sweets, you can't do better in Rehoboth than Bake Shoppe.

  • cydzeigler
    cydzeigler reviewed Aqua Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best spot for a cocktail in Rehoboth
    Maybe it's the outdoor space or that it fills up while the sun is still shining, but this is my favorite bar in Rehoboth. There just seems to be a better energy than at the other spots.

  • cydzeigler
    cydzeigler reviewed GYM SPORTSBAR Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Chelsea's best neighborhood bar
    The bar has everything from a diverse crowd to sports on TV to lots of alcohol.

  • cydzeigler
    cydzeigler reviewed Dragonfly Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great spot in old San Juan
    The food's fantastic, the service is top-notch and the ambience is downright cosmopolitan! By far the "hippest" place to eat in the city.

  • cydzeigler
    cydzeigler reviewed Spiritus Pizza Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best pizza in town
    Forget about the crowd and the people-watching (stop by at 1 a.m. if you want the cruisiest crowd in Provincetown), the pizza itself is really tasty.

  • cydzeigler
    cydzeigler reviewed Cafe Heaven Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Good go-to spot when all else fails
    When there isn't a line out front, it's a decent place for a casual breakfast. The food is pretty good, but the service is hit-or-miss.

  • cydzeigler
    cydzeigler reviewed Lobster Pot Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Lobster Pot is so overrated
    This is the ultimate tourist destination. The food is mediocre and the place is crowded. You can get much better food -- and seafood -- elsewhere in Provincetown.

  • cydzeigler
    cydzeigler reviewed Chillingsworth Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The best restaurant on Cape Cod
    It's about a half-hour drive back down the Cape from Provincetown, but Chillingsworth is one of the most special places you'll ever dine. Set in a 350-year-old captain's house, the restaurant features both an a la carte bistro and a six-course fine-dining experience (the latter is incredible!). Definitely stop in early for a cocktail at the bar and say hi to Kathy. Then enjoy the truffle mac&cheese, seared scallops, grilled swordfish, shrimp 'taco' and other amaaaaazing French-California fusion food. If you're looking for something quiet and romantic, ask to dine in the Empire or Dining Rom; The Terrace offers more people-watching; The Alcove makes you the center of attention; And if you go with a group of 6 or more, the Gazebo gives you a private outdoor dining experience. Very gay-friendly.