TheBrian

34M. I live in the city. Play basketball, surf, and like to go out.

San Francisco, California
Joined Apr 2009
9 Followers

Following 0 people

9 Loved Places

Listings

  • Club BNB Oakland, Oakland
  • White Horse Inn Oakland, Oakland
  • Eagle London Vauxhall, London
  • The Joiners Arms AWAITING REDEVELOPMENT East, London
  • Pizzeria Delfina The Mission, San Francisco

Cities

  • TheBrian
    TheBrian reviewed The Joiners Arms AWAITING REDEVELOPMENT Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Favorite pub in London
    I usually end up going to the Joiner's at about 2am when all the rest of the drinking establishments in the area are closed. Walk past the unpretentious and plain exterior, and you'll stumble on a diverse crowd ready to dance well into the night (and morning) to a pleasing mixture of house and pop. The Joiner's attracts a more alternative East End crowd and is thus a welcome respite from the plastic neon bars in Soho. During the mid-week it can be slow but is usually packed late night on Friday and Saturday. Go around midnight on Thursday or Sunday for a manageable mix. Highly recommended for the alternative minded.

  • TheBrian
    TheBrian reviewed Eagle London Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Thursday night
    Can only speak on the one night I've been there. I went on a Wednesday night. Pretty typical divey type bar--that is, dark, a bit grimy, and inexpensive. I enjoyed it on the whole. There seemed to be a few regulars, though it was relatively empty (bear in mind this was a Wednesday night).

  • TheBrian
    TheBrian reviewed San Francisco Gay Basketball Association Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun place for all to play basketball
    The SFGBA had its first open gym in 1986. Since then it has grown into a Castro institution. Open gym continues to this day on Sundays at the Eureka Valley Gym, where anyone can come and play basketball from 5 pm - 9 pm. There is also a league with 6 teams that play every Thursday. Above all, the people are very friendly, and it is a great place to meet new friends.

  • TheBrian
    TheBrian reviewed Pizzeria Delfina Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hip Spot for Great Pizza
    I have been here several times, though oddly enough, haven't been since I moved to the Mission. The waiters are fun and knowledgeable, and the atmosphere is relaxed and funky. I am a huge fan of their pizza. There is an array of interesting toppings that include unusual ones such as broccoli raab and fennel sausage. Great outdoor dining as well.

  • TheBrian
    TheBrian reviewed Oscar Wilde Co-op Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Pretty Interesting Place
    I lived there for a year and met some great people, but, that said, it takes a certain type to live in the co-ops--perhaps you know who you are. In any case, it is a safe and fun place for all queer individuals to have fun and make friends.

  • TheBrian
    TheBrian reviewed White Horse Inn Over a year ago
    Loves it

    If your parents were gay...
    They would probably go to the White Horse. That said, it a pretty down-to-earth joint with a homey decor, friendly people, and decent music. The crowd tends to be a little older (and less gym-oriented), though there is a nice sprinkling of younger, cute guys and UC Berkeley students.

  • TheBrian
    TheBrian reviewed Club BNB Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Fun and diverse club near downtown Oakland
    I have gone to Latin Explosion several times on Friday nights. It attracts a primarily Latino crowd (duh), but there is a nice mix of men of all colors. The music ranges from Salsa to Reggaeton to hip-hip to pop. The Bench and Bar is a good East Bay alternative to the Castro scene.