Thad4Phila

Ted Patchell, 63M. I'm a hockey fan and would love to visit all 30 NHL arenas (I've been to over half, plus a lot of the older ones that have been replaced!) Most recently: visited the Islanders' new home in Brooklyn in February 2015.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Joined Nov 2006
27 Followers 8 Following

59 Loved Places

Listings

  • North End Boystown, Chicago
  • Big Chicks Uptown, Chicago
  • Jackhammer Rogers Park, Chicago
  • Manhandler Saloon Lakeview, Chicago

Cities

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Boxers PHL Over a year ago
    Loves it

    New here...
    it's almost exactly like the Boxers in Chelsea, NYC. This isn't a bad thing...lots of TV sets, a pool table, cute shirtless bartenders in red shorts who will take care of your drink needs pretty well. It's a better place to go with friends than by yourself. I haven't been there for a Flyers game yet so that will be the true test. Still, it's drawing a crowd the likes of which I haven't seen in Philadelphia before...!

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Rainbow Room Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun
    I went to the Rainbow Room Sunday night. It's just like the gay bars in Atlantic City used to be...well, maybe a little cleaner...but with a vaguely sketchy atmosphere. It was fun, with go-go boys circulating and shirtless bartenders. It seems small but that's part of the cozy appeal.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed The Fox & Hound Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It's not the Fox & Hound chain...
    thank goodness! (If you know that Kentucky-based chain you understand.) This is an independent, only-in-Portland operation and it's a fun place to have a drink and get to know the locals. Most of them do come here, and even a quiet night is a great time to get to know them. The room is pleasant, with a touch of old Portland ambience that I liked. I think it's my favorite bar in Portland.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed C.C. Slaughter's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Mixed response here...
    There are a couple of wonderful bartenders here (Diego & Daniel)and a couple of the other kind. ItThe crowd is friendly enough. I didn't see it crowded; that might change everything.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Silverado Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Like no place else.
    I really don't like strip clubs much. But I must say that, even for me, Silverado is tolerable. The boys do show everything sometimes...there's no cover, and drinks are reasonal\bly priced and well served.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Charlie's Denver Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Pretty bad karaoke...but an OK bar
    I really can't reecommend karaoke at Charlie's. And I don't do country line dancing. But I still like this place. It is big. And I can't think of a better place if I did do country line dancing.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Boyztown Denver Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Go at Happy Hour.
    I really don't like strip clubs much...but I will say Boyztown is fine to drop in for happy hour before things get shaking. It has that old-school gay bar vibe that's hard to find these days.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Denver Wrangler Over a year ago
    Loves it

    All good.
    The Wrangler is a great place to go on a sunny Denver afternoon. They're open to the fresh air and sunshine; the day bartender is friendly and serves good cold beer. I really do have to go back some night when I'm back in town, but anyplace that's fun by the light of day should certainly be just as good when the sun sets.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Boots and Saddle Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Kinda small...
    pleasant enough, with lots of regulars, but this bar isn't big enough. Happy hour is great!

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Boxers NYC Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Sports? An afterthought.
    The bartenders look good and are surprisingly nice. But I went here to see the Rangers hockey game in a gay sports bar setting...and the game wasn't even on. What's with that? The pool tables seem to be the center of attention, and the crowd when I went was quite mixed. It's an OK atmosphere but other cities do gay sports bars better.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed GYM SPORTSBAR Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not a genuine sports bar. Not at all.
    I'll give Gym props for showing the Rangers game on my last visit there. I wanted to see hockey in a gay sports bar and Boxers wasn't showing it at all. That being said...I wish sports bars would have the audio on when local teams are playing. And why the heck is the smoking porch outside used so much? Ick! Tobacco and sports haven't been compatible for decades. The pool table seemed to be in the way of my view of the large screen, too. But the screens were showing what I wanted to see, at least, and happy hour drink prices were nice. I do prefer it to Boxers, but New York still needs a real gay sports bar.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed The Cock Over a year ago
    Hates it

    No frills. At all.
    I was there on a Monday, so my opinion is colored by the fact that New Yorkers don't seem to go out Mondays. (It's not that way everywhere!) But this is a bar with no amenities. The DJ was fine, the bartender served well...but the place is small and dark and bare. And kinda empty. I couldn't help thinking about beautiful gay bars elsewhere with atmosphere! Perhaps the Sunday night parties are busier and more fun.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Annie's Paramount Steakhouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I love Annie's. Anytime.
    But you know something? I'm just a tourist and am always treated well there, but my last visit I noticed that there were other diners who were being treated more specially. I figured it out. They were regular customers! Wow, what a concept, being extra-nice to the people who keep you in business year-round! It was enough to make me wish I was a regular, too. The food is delicious, especially for carnivores like me. It's especially pleasant for a weekday lunch. Prices are very reasonable. And it's just so gay.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Nellie's Sports Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    The sports are here. But don't go alone.
    (revised Jan 2015) My hotel didn't have CSN so I couldn't see the Capitals game. I went to Nellie's and, sure enough, it was on...as was every other sports event in the universe. (I think.) Lots of TVs so of course no sound...that seems the norm for modern sports bars. The staff is pleasant and they have their very own beer which is pretty good. But I didn't get to really interact with anyone; I think I was the only hockey fan there. This seems to be a bar people don't go to by themselves; everyone seemed to be with someone else.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Green Lantern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My favorite DC bar.
    I love it because of its unusual location, beautiful interior, and friendly fun atmosphere.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed DC Eagle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Upstairs, downstairs...
    I don't usually like bars with porn videos playing, and they do that upstairs at the Eagle. But somehow that didn't stop me from taking someone home ffom here. The DC Eagle is your basic leather-style bar where men are welcome. I thought considering its location near Verizon Center it would get more of a Caps hockey crowd before/after games, but that didn't seem to happen.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Stir Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The best music videos
    There's no better place to hang out and watch music videos in Philadelphia. It's actually fairly small but not claustrophobic. Yes, it's the gay bar not in the Gayborhood, and it's on a small side street, but don't let that stop you from discovering it for yourself. The new ownership with new name changed a slightly seedy hangout to a place reminiscent of the secretive gay bars of old, but one you'd never be ashamed of going to.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed ICandy Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Underappreciated.
    I hadn't been to 12th Air for awhile when I stopped in Friday night. It's the kind of place I love to discover when traveling. But since it's in my hometown, I've taken it for granted. Bartenders are attentive and friendly. Drinks are good. The three levels plus patio make for a variety of experiences in the same club. Music is loud but good. I'll try to go back more often!

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Wyndham Pittsburgh University Place Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A pretty good Priceline pick
    I ended up staying at the Wyndham going through Priceline trying to get a good value hotel for a long weekend/birthday trip. The hotel is clean and modern, with friendly staff. I loved their breakfast buffet, which isn't complimentary but is reasonably priced considering all you can get! The location wouldn't have been my first choice; if I had dealings in the Oakland area with any of the universities or hospitals that dominate the area it would have been ideal, but it's not really near any gay nightlife or the stadiums and sports arena. Oakland does have interesting restaurants and lots of convenience; there's a 24-hour CVS next to the Wyndham. Pittsburgh's transit system is adequate; buses run frequently to many neighborhoods and downtown from very early to quite late at night.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Lucky's Tavern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Only in Pittsburgh.
    Happy Hour is surprisingly fun here. Even if there are only a few people you can have a good drink, listen and talk and feel right at home. When the upstairs opens it's worth going up to try to see the go-go boys. It is pretty dark. The music is good. But I was much less creeped out downstairs; I'm not really a old pervert, I just resemble one. Downstairs is relaxed, comfortable, and uniquely Pittsburgh. Within an hour you'll know if you want to move there yesterday or if you never want to be within 200 miles of the town again. Or anything in between.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Images Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good enough for drinks
    I was there for karaoke night after a Pirates game. The crowd was moderate-sized for a midweek night, fairly attractive, and pleasant although not overly friendly. Good downtown location, OK ambience, staff, and drinks. I'd go back.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Gay 90s Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Big. Not bad.
    I thought I wouldn't like this place, but it's OK. Anyplace you can dance on a Monday night has got to be good. Karaoke is enjoyable. They have drink specials! Cheap! The staff is friendly. And the multiple bars keep things interesting. I didn't go on a weekend, so it may be different then, but during the week this is fine.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Wilde Roast Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    So gay. And so pleasant.
    The autographed pictures on the wall seem like a gay Who's Who. Don't worry. This is a no-bitchiness zone in an interesting Minneapolis neighborhood. Breakfast is their best - the breakfast burro is incredibly delicious. Coffee is very good. I think they could make any coffee drink you could imagine, and I bet it would be good. It can get crowded, and the crowd includes families...but honestly, who wouldn't like it here?

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Dunn Brothers Coffee Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My favorite Dunn Bros. branch...
    is the one in the Minneapolis central public library. How cool is that? And the staff there are friendly, with the good coffee every Dunn Bros. carries.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Barbette Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The locals know
    A local friend made reservations for a group of us here. She chose well. Barbette is absolutely wonderful. The atmosphere is classic bistro. The food is absolutely delicious. Of course they have pommes frites. The portion was big and I still ate almost all of them. I had the wild Dover sole, a special, and I loved every bite.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed eagle BOLT bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Interesting Eagle
    I do like the Eagle more for happy hour than at night. I brought friends here and it was a little too loud; we didn't stay long. Bingo night seemed to draw a far-too-intense crowd. But happy hour was relaxing and fun and I'd go any day. I'd like to try some of their other special events sometime...that's the drawback of being a tourist.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Camp Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Upscale, not intimidating
    What a nice bar! It seems so upscale. But I was there on a fairly quiet weeknight...even so, I liked Camp a lot. People were friendly, drinks were good. The room is really attractive.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed 19 Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Really great neighborhood bar
    When another bar turned out to be awfully loud, I suggested that my friends come here instead. Good call. It's your basic gay neighborhood bar, with pool tables, good drinks, and lots of room to sit. The music wasn't overly loud and we had a great time.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Tremont Lounge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun in German Village
    This is just a great neighborhood bar. Both dartboards were in full use on my visit. Happy hour has good specials. The crowd was mixed and having a good time.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Rosie's Tavern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A younger multigender crowd...
    There really isn't anyplace like this where I'm from. I wish there was. Even if I felt a little like Grandpa here...it was a younger crowd, about a 50/50 mix of men and women. But everyone was getting along fine, the bartender was keeping everybody happy and thirst-free. No smoking ban in Kentucky...everyone (but me) seemed to be smoking and I could smell it in my clothing later. But I had fun! Covington is a funky old town full of bars, clubs, and restaurants...and Rosie's serves the gay community quite well.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Simon Says Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Interesting urban mix
    So there are black gay men in Cincinnati! There's a pleasant diverse crowd. It's a welcoming city bar with a nice happy hour.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Main Event Over a year ago
    Loves it

    HOW early?!
    I can't believe there's a bar that opens early in the morning - at 5:30!!! With happy hour, to boot...until 9 in the evening. This place is unique...and not just for that. The staff is fun and friendly. Great pool table, tempramental pinball machine (I tilted and it REALLY wasn't my fault). I was there early...I wonder how it gets late?

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Crew Bar + Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Probably a better restaurant...
    than a bar. But great TV's for sports-watching (even if the sound's playing the DJ's videos), a friendly staff, and really cool T-shirts.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed North End Over a year ago
    Loves it

    NorthHalsted's sports bar
    If you can handle sports with the sound off...this is a good bar. Pleasant staff. Pool tables and darts drew most of the crowd.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Manhandler Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I think somethng's going on...
    it sure seemed like someone was having sex there. OK, I didn't check it personally. And I can't think why anyone would be outside in the patio in December for another reason. But the staff is friendly even if porno on the TV makes me just a litle uncomfortable...I'd go back.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Jackhammer Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Comfortable and fun
    Based on a happy-hour visit, I liked this place! It's a nice size, friendly staff and customers.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Big Chicks Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Uh-oh
    Maybe the restaurant next door is good. But I didn't really feel comfortable walking into the bar. While I was deciding whether or not to stay and have a drink, the bartender disappeared...problem solved. Sorry. I didn't feel this was the best bar for a lonely stranger in town.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Woody's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It's being sold...
    but don't expect many changes. Woody's will still be the center of the Gayborhood. Karaoke on Mondays is surprisingly amusing...cute boys who can't really sing can be very entertaining. Some of us feel kinda old there pretty quickly. It's still good fun.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed U Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Everyone goes here...
    it's like a great central meeting place. And a damn good bar, too...the bartenders take good care of you.

  • Thad4Phila
    Thad4Phila reviewed Bike Stop Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It's home.
    This is my main hangout. It's comfortable and fun and if you're a gay man in Philadelphia who isn't totally into twinks...this is probably your kind of place. Although it's Philadelphia's only leather bar, there usually isn't any restriction what you wear (occasionally in the downstairs Pit Dtop, but you don't have to go there) and the bartenders are great.