55M. Prefer taking lots of shorter trips per year (3-7 days) than one or two big long ones.

New York, New York
Joined Jan 2009
33 Followers 4 Following

57 Loved Places

Listings

  • Ty's West Village, New York
  • Barracuda Chelsea, New York
  • The Eagle NYC Chelsea, New York
  • Boiler Room East Village, New York
  • Phoenix East Village, New York

Cities

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Island Breeze Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Lunch
    They changed chefs this year and she is AWESOME! There were 4 of us and all our (warm) sandwiches (with fries) got rave reviews. The service was ok, but the food more than made up for it. Prices are average for Fire Island; but the value is high.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Ice Palace Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great underwear party
    Went one night in matching underwear with my friend. The staff was awesome and waved us in with our Belvedere bracelets. The staff/bartenders were attentive (and I'm picky because I am a bartender). We had a LOT of fun. lol.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Cherry Grove Pizza Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Good, but not NYC pizza.
    Stopped in several times. Great for a lite lunch or a bite before going home. Staff is efficient, friendly, and cute. Definitely hit the spot. Recommended. Review #2. Ate here again in June 2010. Not good. Pizza was dry. Also had a bowl of bland lentil soup. Canned would have been better, I would recommend the pizza after a night out drinking though.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed The Royal Vauxhall Tavern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Sunday Sunday Sunday!
    Lots of punters start with an early stop by (2-3p) to get a wrist band and avoid the line later. If it's a nice day, grab a pint and enjoy the outdoor area. If not come back in time for S.L.A.G.S and the Dame Edna Experience. The show is great and the live choir (you'll be part of it) inspriing. Stay later when the lights go low and the music gets pumping. Awesome.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed The Vault Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Lots of nooks and crannies!
    The place is relatively inexpensive, has a bar, and always some cute guys. There's lots of rooms, big and small, but watch your head though, some of the cielings are low.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Duckie (at the Royal Vauxhall Tavern) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Can't beleive no one has reviewed this gem
    Good music, fun crowd, great shows, AND the initimable Miss Ame Lame'. A really good night out.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Fanelli Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Ol' faithful
    This is a great place for some simple pub grub. I always go for the burgers so I can't really comment on the other dishes. They are big enough to split. It's a perfect place to stop for a reasonably priced meal in an expensive neighborhood.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Acme Bar & Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    BIG food!!
    This is big home-style southern food. Big portions, great selection of sides, and on Tuesdays they have specials on drinks and food at the bar. It's a great place to go when you are HUNGRY.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Hotel Santo Tomas Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Centrally located
    I loved this hotel. It is on a busy bus-heavy street, but is quiet inside. The rooms are large. The breakfast is decent (eggs, picco gallo, fruit, juice, coffee). There's a pool. Some bird watching in the early am. Patios allow smoking.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Puchos Night Club Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Friendly and something for everyone
    Went here on a Saturday night. Wasn't overly busy. Met some locals almost immmediately. Good DJ/Music. Excellent drag shows and dancers. Cheap drinks. Interesting back area.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Belvedere Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Love it!
    The staff is amazing; the place is gorgeous and quirky. The pool is a fabulous place to loll the day away.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Knock Bar and Restaurant Over a year ago
    Hates it

    These other reviews must be written by friends.
    This place sucked. Yes, it is upscale, but the fun stopped there. The service was slow, the bartenders pretentious, and the regulars unfriendly. The bartender actually yelled at us for trying to order drinks at the bar because there is (supposedly) wait service! Well, our waiter ws spending his time chatting with friends at the table next to ours and didn't even ackowledge us when he saw us sit down. He finally served us and then took someone elses order between serving us and giving us change! I will say it's probably fun if you go with friends, drink martinis, know the bartenders, and don't mind waiting a long time for drinks. With all the other bars with efficient staff and friendly clients why waste your time and money?

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Stir Over a year ago
    Loves it

    narrow but cute
    I liked Stir. Really nice decor. When you first walk in there's a room with a bar that is way too big. It's hard to get by There's another room further on that is more open. Cute seating on one side with toilets with frosted glass doors on the other. Further on still is another (more appropriately sized) bar and a little dance floor. Crowd was festively dressed. It's on a small side street off 17th, a little hard to find at first, and off the beaten gay path, but worth a visit. Check it out.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Pavillion Nightclub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I do love to dance.
    Went twice this year and had a fab time both times. Cute boys. Could dance with my shirt off and shake my money maker. Fun and friendly crowd.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Cherry Grove Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A bit surfy
    This summer provided some rough surf here. Water was up to the boardwalks edge. Enjoyed the warf surf anyway and even enjoyed a midnight naked dip.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Central Station Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Always something
    Have always had a good time here.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Comptons of Soho Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I awlays go here
    I LOVE this place. Always crowded. Friendly crowd. Good place to pick up mags. And, you can drink on the streets!

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Friendly Society Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Awse decor
    Love this place. Not friendly, but fun to bring friends. COOL decor.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed G-A-Y Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    A bit pretentious
    Kind of over priced. Young crowd. A bit loud, but fun with friends.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed G-A-Y Late Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun late night in heart of soho
    Is totally central. Has a cute crowd. Really good fun!

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Ku Leicester Square/Klub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Odd address
    Great place. Fun crowd. Wierd address. Do love it though.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed The Eagle NYC Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great roof deck
    A must see on Thursday night "in code". Sunday beer blast is also a great afternoon.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Stonewall Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I stop in now and then
    Not a bad place, but a weird mix of people. Nice bartenders. Met one really nice older guy once who layed out how it looked in 1969 so I will always hold this one dear.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Pieces Over a year ago
    Hates it

    A bit dodgy, but fun with friends.
    I like the cheap drinks. Threw up more than once from the Sunday LIT fest. Always a little afraid of the clientelle.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Julius' Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Burgers
    One of NYs oldest bars, if not the oldest. Older crowd, but they have the best and biggest bar burgers in NY. It's always a must stop when visiting the West Village.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Phoenix Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Old fave.
    Weird mix of old and young. Lots of drunk (barely over 21) kids. Great pick up joint.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Pyramid Over a year ago
    Loves it

    GREAT fun.
    If you love 80's music, this is one great night of fun with friends. A bit dingy and dirty

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Club Cumming Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Dance poles
    It's either deserted or packed. Usually cutish. They do have a dance poles to girate on.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed The Hangar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Waiting to take the PATH
    Always seems like everyone is waiting to take the next PATH train. Quite a different crowd every time. Not always pretty, but pleasant enough.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Ty's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Slightly sleepy
    Fun, but sleepy. Older, but friendly. Great bar staff.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Marie's Crisis Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I feel like SINGING!
    A really fun and driendly piano bar. Great crowd. Lots of loud singing. Bring friends. Great for bringing your fag hag.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed The Monster Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Piano Bar
    An odd mix of older men and younger men. Get it? The piano is fun, but not as fun as Marie's Crisis. A must visit to visitors to NY.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Boots and Saddle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A must visit
    Not the world's best bar, but a MUST West Village visit. Older crowd, but friendly. It's been there forever and the locals call it Bras and Girdles.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed The Cock Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Watch your wallet
    Fun place. Good music. Cute guys. And, like I said, watch your wallet.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Boiler Room Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great neighborhood bar
    Great bartenders, especially Alec and Nana. Good strong drinks. Great music. FRIENDLY patrons, if you know what I mean. :-)

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Barracuda Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun with changing decor
    This place has a cool happy hour, excellent DJs, and great shows. PLUS, they change the decor every month or two completely changing the feel of the place and making it feel like a brand new venue. The bartenders are also nice to look at. Good place to meet new friends too.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Venture Inn Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cute place
    Very warm and welcoming. Older crowd. CUTE restaurant and nice menu. The old lady in the coat check is a hoot.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed U Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Older crown but FUN.
    I enjoyed it here. Everyone is pretty friendly. It's deffinitely older, but they're super nice. There's a B+B upstairs which is funny. I would surely go back next time in Philly. Worth a pop in.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed Tavern on Camac Over a year ago
    Loves it

    FUN
    This is an odd place as it has a piano bar downstairs and a dance floor upstairs. Went a few different nights. Always had fun. Great staff. Friendly crowd.

  • Stevin
    Stevin reviewed ICandy Over a year ago
    Loves it

    12th
    I liked this one. Had a little of everything. Multiple floors. Dance floor, $3. Upstairts smoking area. Fun.