RinconJohn

57M.

San Francisco, California
Joined Feb 2009
2 Followers

Following 0 people

14 Loved Places

Listings

  • Badlands The Castro, San Francisco
  • 440 Castro The Castro, San Francisco
  • Martuni's The Castro, San Francisco
  • Last Call The Castro, San Francisco
  • Midnight Sun The Castro, San Francisco
  • Moby Dick The Castro, San Francisco
  • RinconJohn
    RinconJohn reviewed Toad Hall Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Tourista Heaven
    Glitzy, overdone space, sure to be a hit with the Nouveau Gauche. Wannabe heir-apparent to The Bar on Castro, copping the name of a legendary 70s bar. If you care anything about politics, check out the history of this place and decide where your conscience lies. I prefer to put my money in someone else's pocket.

  • RinconJohn
    RinconJohn reviewed Midnight Sun Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Entertaining and real
    I have happy warm feelings towards this place lately. There is a great bartender (with a handlebar mustache) who is very personable – a change for the MS. And the crowd seems more accessible than before. They certainly are better looking than at the other Castro holes, except possibly for 440. Anyway, drop in for their two-for-one happy hour (I always ask for a double in one glass unless I'm with a date) and partake of the eclectic videos and enticing male scenery.

  • RinconJohn
    RinconJohn reviewed 440 Castro Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Still a fav
    The crowd is not always to my taste, but at least it's still a crowd. 440 has done better in this recession than many other night spots in the Castro. I think it's because of the efficient staff and easy access to Castro Street getaway-by-taxi.

  • RinconJohn
    RinconJohn reviewed Edge Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Tired
    The Edge fell over its own cliff. Seems to have suffered more in the recession than other places. The crowd is now just weird and not particularly entertaining. If you want a really stiff drink, try Walgreen's.

  • RinconJohn
    RinconJohn reviewed Last Call Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Clumsy local spot
    Well, I still like the ceiling, but the new management has become sloppy. Like hiring a clueless bartender who takes your money while you're still counting it. The last time I was there, he served a local matron's doggy a beer. And yes, said pooch drank out of a glass ON THE BAR. Now you know why that was the last time I was there.

  • RinconJohn
    RinconJohn reviewed Space 550 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Addictive 2-Step Program
    A welcome break from the bar scene. Well, they do have a full bar, but the crowd is dry or teetotalling for the most part. We get high two-stepping, waltzing and swinging across the large dance floor. It can still get crowded though, especially on Sunday nights. Come early for the lessons if you're a novice, then you'll find lots of friendly guys to dance with no matter your level. It's definitely worth a trip out to the old garment district if you have a car. Otherwise, public transit is available but it's a bit of a chore and takes you through some dicey neighborhoods.

  • RinconJohn
    RinconJohn reviewed Badlands Over a year ago
    Hates it

    OMGYG2BK!
    Extremely popular with kiddies in whom I have precious little interest. That's okay. They can keep their clove cigarettes and twitchy, garrulous little queue waiting to enter the most totally awesome gay dance club ever! However, I will admit being dragged here on rare occasion by some pretty thing infatuated with the silver beard. Mustn't dash the hopes of the young, you know.

  • RinconJohn
    RinconJohn reviewed Pilsner Inn Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Try going to Church
    When you get tired of the central Castro scene, check out the great bars and restaurants around Church and Market Streets. The Pilsner is a mellow neighborhood joint with good service. They're known for their beers, but they also have Pyrat XO, my favorite rum! The patio is lovely on warmer nights and not too smoky. Should you decide on more than a liquid dinner, there's a very good restaurant next door.

  • RinconJohn
    RinconJohn reviewed Lone Star Saloon Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Bearly noticed
    Funny thing about the bears: they were supposed to break the old molds of snobbery and cliquishness. Guess what? Now they gather in snobbish cliques at places like the Lone Star. The bartenders are often stressed out and I just don't have a good time here. Beware the patio unless you are an accomplished second-hand smoker.

  • RinconJohn
    RinconJohn reviewed Moby Dick Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Bad feng shui?
    I know lots of guys who adore this place, but it has never clicked for me. Something about the layout and the location. Maybe it's built over an ancient Indian burial ground. Drinks are decent and the bartenders are efficient. Now if someone would actually talk to me I might have a good time.

  • RinconJohn
    RinconJohn reviewed Martuni's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Watch out for the well vodka
    Mostly they serve vodkatinis in many flavors. They are delicious, but you really should call your brand. The stuff in the well never agrees with me. The back room is a dark, charming place to take a date and make out at one of the little tables. The pianists are usually good and it's a lot of fun when the partyers take the microphone. Not so much fun when one of the career amateurs gets up to "audition." There is only one toilet here and it locks, so keep an eye on the queue if you feel the urge.

  • RinconJohn
    RinconJohn reviewed Twin Peaks Tavern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A touch of class in the Castro
    Yes, it's true: during off-peak this is a neighborhood bar for older gentlemen. 25-year-old whippersnappers who think they will be young forever need not apply. During peak times it's more mixed and very friendly. Good place to have a conversation. The mezzanine is a fantastic spot to survey the crowd inside and out through the giant windows. Very friendly and efficient bartenders. I always strike up a conversation here.

  • RinconJohn
    RinconJohn reviewed Powerhouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Museum of the erotic
    The Powerhouse is more like an installation than a real cruise bar. It has hanging Crisco lanterns, video porn and a great big "Danger" sign on the back wall. Fortunately, I have encountered a few friendly docents to take me through the exhibits. You can definitely have a smirky fun time here even with the surly bar staff. I think they are just playing their part as cast members.