RichardsLifeCali

Richard Wohletz, 52M. Former midwesterner, professional guy living and working in Los Angeles. I enjoy travelling to new cities - I visit museums, botanical gardens, ... during the day, and check out the gay nightlife in the evenings.

Los Angeles, California
Joined Jul 2009
49 Followers 3 Following

100 Loved Places

Listings

  • Club BNB Oakland, Oakland
  • RAGE Restaurant & Bar West Hollywood, West Hollywood
  • Urban Mo's Hillcrest, San Diego
  • Martinis Above Fourth Hillcrest, San Diego
  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed The Gossip Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Lively and Friendly Restaurant and Night Club
    Popular with the ladies, but everyone is welcome. On my first visit for Sunday dinner, there was a nice mix of gender, age,… DJ was spinning some tunes but not too loud to prevent talking with friends. You can come here for dinner, drinks and snacks, late night on the dance floor or weekly special events. There is inside seating (two main rooms), or outside patio. Service was very friendly, and everything I ordered was very tasty – appetizers: bacon wrapped stuffed jalapenos; truffle mac n cheese. Entrée: Almond encrusted halibut. I plan on coming back : )

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed le isaan Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Popular Upscale Gay Restaurant and Wine Bar
    Le Isaan opened in late 2014 just down the street from Babylon gay sauna complex. It has quickly become popular with both local Thai, expat and visiting gay travelers. Restaurant has upscale design and was recently featured in one of Bangkok’s culture magazines. Menu offers both Isaan (Northeast Thai) and Western dishes. Be advised – Isaan cuisine can be spicy, and includes traditional dishes such as green papaya salad and grilled salmon. Western dishes includes pork, chicken and lambchop house specialties. The restaurant is open for lunch and dinner, front outside and inside seating. In addition – the back patio is beautifully lit at night and is available for dinner or late night snacks and appetizers. A great spot to socialize just outside of Babylon. The Thai Manager Lek is very friendly and can customize most requests.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Tantawarn Place Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Gay Hotel in the Center of Silom
    Just finished my 6th visit to Bangkok, but first stay at Tarntawan. I had previously stayed at the renowned Babylon Sauna, but gave Tarntawan a try since it is a close walk to everything in gay Silom. The stay here was wonderful, for many reasons. First, the staff is extremely friendly and eager to please. The hotel is not "new" but very well cleaned and maintained. As previously mentioned – LOCATION. It is a quick 5 minute walk from Tarntawan to the gay restaruants/karaoke bars on Soi 4, night clubs on Soi 2, or boy bars on Soi Twilight. Tips: (1) The Japanese restaurant DAIMASU on Soi 6 is a great spot for dinner, popular with locals (reviewed on gaycities). (2) The associated massage is good for legit rub downs. (3) For quick Thai food, take a right on Suriwong when leaving the hotel and the very next right alley has a restaurant – Authentic Thai. We ate there a lot – good for an affordable lunch before the day’s adventures. (4) Hotel can find a local taxi for you just when you need it, but avoid reserving the official “hotel” taxi – this can cost a lot more.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed €uroboy$ Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Renovated Host Bar
    Used to be a go-go bar, now renovated into a popular host bar. A good place to stop for a visit, buy some of the boys a drink, and watch all the street action of Sunee Plaza. Outside seating is conventiently located with streetside views, and a relaxed atmosphere, although good opportunity to get to know some of the local Pattaya Thai boys.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Eros Boy Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Popular Boy Bar
    The most popular boy bar in Sunee Plaza, and over the past few years rated best boy bar in Pattaya by local gay magazines. It’s a table top bar – boys dance on small raised platforms. There are numerous themed special nights – Tarzan night (the boys wear loin cloths), wrestling night, … There are many boys here – ranging from petite to athletic, but all young – 18 to early twenties. Open 7 days a week. Opening time is 8pm although all the boys don’t show up by 9pm. However, as with any boy bar, it’s always good to show up early since the most handsome boys are always the first to be taken out by customers.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Two Guys Guesthouse & Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best Sunee Plaza Guesthouse
    Long running gay guesthouse in gay Sunee Plaza neighborhood. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Owners are eager to assist new travelers get their bearings. Thai staff also friendly. This is also a good place for affordable breakfast and lunch to meet fellow gay travelers from around the world. Only caution - it's a few blocks walk from the host bars and boy bars in Sunee Plaza - if you bring a young lad home with you. Doable, but a few blocks walk.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Oud's Cafe and Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Long running host bar but past it's prime
    I'm a frequent traveller to the Sunee Plaza area in Pattaya. Young cute boys here. This is actually a host bar/beer bar - should be recategorized from a restaurant. It is ok - somewhat quiet, pool table, but if you're looking for company, there are much better/busier options. The popularity of host bars is constantly changing. Sunee Plaza is a small neighborhood - just take a 5 minute walk around the race-track shaped street and stop in at the place that suits you best. Currently, cute boys in Duc's Bar. Or try the boy bars. Eros Boy Bar is the most popular, although Powerboys (formerly Mic My) has young cutie pies.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Daimasu (大枡) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Popular Japanese yakiniku / izakaya in gay Silom
    A popular and charming spot popular among locals which has made the local press. It’s located in the Silom area of Bangkok – close to all the gay venues. Take the winding soi 6 from Silom toward Suriwong. The Japanese restaurant is a both a yakiniku / izakaya. So they serve meat you can grill at your table or select from a menu that the chef grills for you in the kitchen. The drinks to accompany your meal are strong – I wisely did not finish the sweet potato shochu, although it was good.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Sanong Over a year ago
    Loves it

    High Quality for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner
    The very friendly Sanong and his long-term Belgium partner have operated this restaurant for years. Open breakfast, lunch and dinner. This is one of those places where everything on the menu is great. I enjoyed the Chicken cooked with beer. Wide variety of thai and european cuisine. You must try this on your first visit to Sunee Plaza.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Little Mango Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    fun Sunee Plaza dinner spot
    I always visit here at least once for dinner during each stop in Sunee Plaza. Fun vibe, thai and western menu, young thai manager. Think of it as their version of Hamburger Mary's.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Siam Paragon Mall (สยามพารากอน) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    "Must Do" Shopping Trip when in Bangkok
    This is one of the largest malls in Asia - and even the world. It can take an entire day to see it all. Siam Paragon includes an aquarium on the ground floor and IMAX theaters. Huge food court and grocery store. Multi-Level Department store had large watch collection, clothes, cosmetics,... Close taxi ride from gay Silom neighborhood (about $150 baht). At the customer care booth, you can show your passport and get a vat waiver. Also - if you have time visit the adjacent Siam Center Mall - a smaller mall but one of a kind stores.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Double Shot Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Totally Renovated under New Management - Now "Double Shot Bar"
    Corner Bar has been totally renovated into the slickest drink/pool establishment Sunee Plaza has ever seen. The interior design rivals what you would find in the gay Silom area of Bangkok. The new management has even splurged on their own tuk tuk to transport VIP patrons from their hotels to the bar. And as the name suggests – the drinks are strong. I know the boys who work there – very nice. Drop in to begin your night and please remember to tip the boys and buy them drinks if you spend time with them.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Come In Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Social Hub of Sunee Plaza
    This street-side beer bar is always busy with a dedicated clientele. The French ex-pat management always makes everyone feel welcome. A good place to start the night and perhaps meet a nice young thai boy.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed The Holloway Inn Motel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Affordable and Centrally located
    Great location on Santa Monica Blvd a close walk to everything in West Hollywood. Affordable rates, and our room was clean. Parking available but with only 8 upper spots + 4 in the lower garage there may not always be enough for everyone. Make sure to tell them which car is yours so you don’t get towed. When checking out when the office is closed, you can slide your key under the office door and call them in the morning. For food, you can check out the new kitchen24 just down the street – trendy 24-hour diner. But be prepared for long wait times during peak weekend brunch hours.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed L'Ardoise Bistro Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Romantic off-Castro Traditional French
    This small & cozy traditional French restaurant is in Duboce Triangle North on Noe from Market Street by just a few blocks. I enjoyed our table by the window. We ordered the tiger prawn ravioli since I’ve read so many rave reviews on it. Well – it was very good with it’s creamy white sauce, but nothing spectacular. I ordered a goat special, with side of green beans. Also tasty & perfectly cooked, but no special sauce or flavor that really permeates. The Cotes du Rhone red was sumptuous – earthy and rich.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Poquitos Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Delicous Mexican Fusion
    Wow – were we surprised and impressed! Initially we expected this to be a predictable Mexican Restaurant. Nope – a menu with unique fusion dishes, all of ours were delish. We started with the grilled octopus – great tangy sauce. The Yucatan Style Chicken was moist and wonderful with a chipotle marinade. Pork Chile Rellenos was spiced up with raisins, cinnamon and almonds. Poquitos is located on a busy corner on Pike St in Capital Hill. It was packed (lots of locals) with a good diverse mix – gay/straight, young/older, guys/gals,… Ample seating inside, or seat yourself on the large outdoor patio. Brunch, lunch and dinner, 2 daily happy hours (4-6pm & 11pm-1am). A favorite drink during happy hour is their Punch – similar to sangria but with more alcohol.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Vivace Espresso Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Another Rave Review for Vivace!
    A neighborhood standard for locals and students. I told the baristas I was in town for just 1 day before my gay Alaska cruise and they were very helpful in suggesting restaurants, clubs, … Creamy, perfectly prepared latte… and try their slow roasted blend – they take their coffee very seriously in Seattle and I quickly understood how this place has stood the test of time. And the expansive open air seating overlooking Broadway made for a perfect Saturday afternoon. If I lived in Seattle, you would see me here about every weekend.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Ace Hotel Seattle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    hip gay-friendly hotel close to Capital Hill
    Seattle’s version of the hipster Ace Hotel chain. Includes the “Ace” trademark minimalist décor, friendly & knowledgeable staff about everything local, and of course the quintessential soap on a roap above your sink. Most rooms share bathrooms, but that wasn’t a problem at all. There were 5 conventiently located on our floor and there was always at least one available. All bathrooms were adorned with perfectly clean tile and complimentary aromatic shampoo & body wash in the large shower. Be prepared for the tall flight of stairs, but the staff is ready to assist with your heavy luggage. Complimentary breakfast was a hoot – I loved the unique waffle griddle where you pour in your own batter and turn upside down until it reaches a perfectly timed perfection of outer criskiness. Seattle’s Ace is located in the trendy Belltown – lots of good shopping and cafes, and the famous Pike Place Market just down the street, but be prepared for the noisy weekend evenings from neighboring bars, but although it’s a gay-friendly area, the gay clubs and restaurants of Capital Hill are a short few minutes cab drive away. The Seattle survival guide placed in each room has good tips.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Elliot Bay Book Company Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Charming Capital Hill Independent Bookstore
    You’ll love the large glass windows, creeky old wooden floors and railings, and a seemingly endless collection of book shelves, including a glbt section of course. Elliot Bay is in Capital Hill, on a side street in between Pike and Pine, and across from the beautiful Cal Anderson Park which hosts bicycle polo on Saturdays. Elliot Bay is open 7 days a week. They serve pastries, sandwiches and beverages (including wine) in it’s café. The gay neighborhood feels complete with this independent bookstore as an addition to the cafes, lounges, restaurants and clubs.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Julia's on Broadway Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Long Tradition of Great Breakfast - and a whole lot more
    For over 25 years they have been famous for breakfast. But the tasty, local ingredients also make their way into the lunch and dinner menus, and popular happy hour. The breakfast Frittata is a good option if you want something slightly different than the usual omelet. Some of the breakfast items are under $10. The corner locale in the center of gay Capital Hill, exposed brick walls, weathered wooden floors and large front windows looking out onto Broadway (weather permitting) give Julia’s a comforting atmosphere. Service was friendly and fast. And check out Seattle’s longest running celebrity impersonation show – every Friday and Saturday at 10pm. I was here for breakfast, but it looks delightfully raunchy. If I lived in Seattle, you would find me here often.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed The Tractor Room Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A hip, rustic modern twist to a mountain lodge
    The Tractor Room is smack dab in the middle of Hillcrest just across from the apocalyptically-busy hash house a go-go. Open for brunch and dinner. Specialties include elk sausage hash, which was not greasy and filling enough with the sides – including their soft and creamy cornbread. Drinks are strong, my faves being the various whiskey/bourbon mixologies. They also offer a lengthy bloody mary recipe list. I recommend reservations during peak times (weekend brunch).

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Urban Mo's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Gay Eatery Epicenter in Hillcrest
    I’ve visited here a number of times over the years – always busy. Fun, gay, numerous events. I like the signs used to reserve tables: “Table Reserved for whores”. There’s an inside bar with seating, dance stage, covered outside patio with separate bar. Today I hit the Sunday champagne brunch. Drinks were strong enough, attentive service, but I would pass on the breakfast steak and eggs – the steak was small portion. Parking here can be tough, unless you do the $10 all day hillcrest parking next door.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Hash House a Go Go Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Come Hungry!
    To echo previous reviews – portions are HUGE served on large heavy plates, but still good quality. For weekend breakfast/brunch, be prepared for long wait times (at least 30 minutes). If you’re up for some carbs, try the mango coconut flapjacks. And another popular speciality is the sage fried chicken And Bacon waffle. A mixed crowd – actually mostly straight, although obviously gay friendly (this is Hillcrest). Although weekend mornings are very hectic/busy here – service was surprisingly fast thanks to the experienced waitstaff well-prepared for the morning’s breakfast triage. So go ahead – eat up! You can hit the 24 hour fitness a few blocks away to work it off.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Bananas Modern American Diner Over a year ago
    Loves it

    An Orlando Gay Diner You Should Visit
    Bananas is located in the middle of gay friendly Vi-Mi neighborhood, just a few stores down from the Orlando Gay/Lesbian Center. There’s a separate parking lot in addition to ample street parking, and they are open 24 hours during weekends. I stopped off for breakfast – which is served all day. The restaurant is clean with nice diner décor, and you know you’re in the right place when you see the one wall adorned with large portraits of beautiful divas. The Bananas Big Breakfast was a full plate for just under $9. They also serve every-changing mac-and-cheese, 4 flavors of wings (i.e. honey garlic, chipotle), sandwiches, burgers and entrees, and 8 flavors of Huge Handspun shakes. They stage weekly events – gospel Sunday brunch, Saturday evening drag show, dining with divas,… The experienced waiter was attentive, knew the menu, and made the owner and (regular) patrons laugh with his slight jabs. The place is affordable and will make you feel at home if you’re a gay traveler. I recommend this place.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Pulse (CLOSED) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Wednesday College Night was a lot of Fun
    Wednesday (college night) is a busy night here. Complimentary valet (the only way the valets make money is by tips – so please be generous). Cover: $5, mixed drinks: $7.50. The place is clean, stylish, large paper lanterns hanging from the ceiling that changed lights with the music was a nice touch, although the small screens over the dance floor didn’t play any videos of the music – just very simple computer animation. There’s the main stage area and bar, separate room with bar and small stages for go-go boys and the drag show – which lasted over an hour and popular. There’s a large covered outside patio with another bar, hookah lounge with seating. They played good house music, a little hip hop towards the end. Everyone was having a good time. It’s a young crowd, although not exclusively. As with any college-age night it may be tough coming by yourself if you’re on travel and try to break in socially. But I met some nice young boys.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Brian's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    it's just ok - but not very gay
    It’s an easy 5 minute drive from the Parliament House, popular with friendly locals and families but only 1 gay couple there on a busy Sunday morning. Parking lot is small, but there is street parking nearby. The remodel is classy, and an outdoor patio overlooks Lake Ivanhoe. The food is decent portions and NY Strip Steak tasted ok, but they can not make simple substitutions. Nora’s wine/beer shop is next door (closed on Sundays). So if you’re in the area, you might try instead Bananas Diner, which is in the gay Vi-Mi neighborhood and next to the Orlando Gay/Lesbian Center. Or just eat at Parliament House. Either way, a better chance at making new friends.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Elephant Plaza Hotel Over a year ago
    Hates it

    New Management - Hotel no longer recommended
    This hotel used to be "Don Plaza Hotel". But as of 2013 it has undergone new management and I can no longer recommend this hotel. On my last stay in Sunee Plaza I found the hotel not sanitary, slow service and no more on-site manager. The previous management has just opened "The New Don Plaza". I will visit this hotel next month and post a review.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Nice Boys Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Beautiful, young boys
    Young boys here. But be careful - check I.D. Every thai boy is suppose to have a National Thai I.D. card if you ask. The place was raided by police a few years ago.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Krazy Dragon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Biggest of Sunee Plaza's Boy Bars
    The boys are friendly, in matching classy white shorts with golden dragon emblem. The American owner was attentive. But the best part was when I ordered a large bottle of whiskey for the boys (1200baht / $40 US). Thai bois love their whiskey. It made the whole place come alive - well worth it.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed DJ Station Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The Dance Club you must visit while in Bangkok
    The big gay dance club in Bangkok. Daily drag shows which are fun, and drink specials. I tried the “Snow White” – not sure what’s in it, but slightly sweet. It’s packed on weekends, and the dance floor is small, but you can meet a lot of people upstairs. Just watch your wallet. A lot of pick pockets.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Telephone Over a year ago
    Loves it

    great place to start the night
    It’s been a few years since they’ve installed a telephone at each table, but this is still the best place to begin the evening. Perfectly located on Soi 4 in the gay area of Soi Silom, Telephone is the most popular bar/restaurant to begin the evening. Some decide to stay here instead of venturing into Soi 2 for dance clubs, or Duangthawee Plaza (off of Surawong Road) for the boy bars. The menu here is large – including thai and western dishes, many drinks to choose from, and wait staff is friendly to offer suggestions to visitors. I usually began every night here, but there are other clubs, wine bars on the street to also try.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Babylon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    high end gay resort in bangkok
    This is the high-end gay resort in Bangkok, a short taxi to the gay Soi Silom. You shouldn’t have to pay more than 100Baht for a taxi ride each way. Facility is clean and gardens are well-manicured. Staff here is friendly, and you will meet fellow travelers from around the world. Complex includes gym, pool, massage area (legit), sauna area (frisky), café for lunch and a restaurant serving dinner. Foam parties on certain Fridays. Poolside cocktails were weak, but they do serve beer and wine. Dinner prices were very reasonable – I usually saved time by eating here before going out each night. No ATM on site, but they can show you where one is located about a block away. You share a bathroom with the barrack rooms (which I heard are “friendly” in the evenings), but you get your own bathroom with the garden suites, which are very nice – concrete floors, wooden panels, small private balcony overlooking the garden, … A garden suite for a long term stay start around $87 USD per night.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Beans & Leaves Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Gay coffeeshop & community social center
    A nice gay coffee shop walking distance to everything in the 39th St. Gayborhood. Owned and operated by a super friendly Australian man. The weekend I was there he hosted a commitment ceremony for a lesbian couple. There are weekly events, poetry readings, …

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Club Ripples Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Asian Night is Fun
    A friend and I went here on a Saturday for asian night – Inv[Azn]. Plenty of free parking by the beach across the street, cover charge only $5, drinks only $6 (and strong enough), friendly staff and patrons, good layout – patio on the 1st floor with dance floor above. Enough asian guys but mixed (with plenty of ladies). The go-go dancers and wet undies contest were hot. But they didn’t play any asian/k-pop music (just the usual house/Rihanna stuff), although on their monitors they showed a few k-pop videos on repeat (I saw “Hello” by SHINee played at least twice). All in all – fun if you’re in the area, but I wouldn’t travel a great distance for it. Oh – the police were conducting a SERIOUS DUI check for anyone leaving the Belmont Shore area – every driver was tested with the pencil test to check their sobriety – so be very careful leaving this club.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Tramps Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Most Popular Neighborhood/Drinking Bar
    This is a lot more than a “dive bar”. COPA is the most popular dance club, but this place is by far the most popular neighborhood/drinking bar. Inside includes a pool table, darts and small stage. There’s a large patio in the back with tables/chairs. It’s not a fancy place, but comfortable – a place where friends meet, especially on Friday and Saturday nights. A friendly crowd, and welcoming to newcomers.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed The Boom Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great food - most popular during Sunday Drag Gospel Brunch
    I went here for dinner. Food is great. Steak was perfect, and for side dish go for their green bean specialty. One of the busiest times here is the drag queen Sunday gospel brunch.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Habana Inn Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The place to stay in OKC
    I stayed here for an extended weekend. The complex was pretty much as advertised – large hotel with 2 pools, COPA and FinishLine clubs, Gushers restaurant (which is open late – I believe 4am), and Ledo martini bar. The other gay clubs are just a quick walk up the block. Staff was friendly, and place is cruisey (although there is a constant guard presence and locals tell me police routinely walk around looking to arrest guys for public nudity, …) . The site is publicly accessible, so during the evenings there are pickup trucks cruising the site driving in one slow circle around the hotel grounds. But keep in mind that the State of Oklahoma ranks like 3rd for obesity, and smoking is prevalent – especially in all clubs and bars. Downsides – internet was iffy (common with many hotel wifis I’ve experienced), no mini frig or microwave in the rooms (although an ice machine and microwave is available down the hall).

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Naked Grape Wine Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Their new location works
    I like their new location - in the middle of Wilton Manors with a small but nice outside patio. The interior is trendy (plenty of stainless steel) but still relaxed. Almost too dark, but the small flashlight they gave me to read the menu was cute. Tapas were small but tasty. A good selection of wines and knowledgeable staff. I enjoyed going here as a pre-bar before going to The Manor or Matty's.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed The Manor Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Bubblegum Friday was fun, with a few surprises
    A fun, young crowd for Bubblegum Friday. But I enjoyed a few surprises here - the side bar has an extensive beer selection - about 100 available with 25 on tap. And their revamped menu is tasty and varied - small dishes, flatbreads and main courses - everything I sampled was good.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Grand Palm Plaza Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Small. Pool not heated enough. No Jacuzzi.
    I stayed here for an evening after a gay Caribbean cruise. The staff was friendly but the resort is small. It was in January and unlike the Elysium, the pool here was not heated enough to use. The guests were sunning themselves but no one went into the pool. Also – there’s no Jacuzzi here. So your options on what to do here – especially if not in summertime – seem limited.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Elysium Resort Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Clean. Friendly Staff. Close to gay beach.
    I stayed here for a few days before a gay Caribbean cruise. The staff is professional and friendly – they remembered my name throughout my stay. In the mornings there was always someone sweeping or cleaning. And the landscaping was stylish (i.e. nicely lit at night). The Saturday evening complimentary cocktail mixer was a good way to meet the other guests. Also – I stayed here in January and the pool and Jacuzzi were both heated enough to enjoy. The location is a close walk to Sebastian Beach – the gay portion of Ft. Lauderdale Beach. I recommend staying here when you visit Ft. Lauderdale.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Enrico Biscotti Over a year ago
    Loves it

    small but wonderful cafe in the Strip District
    The caf is in the Strip District and is easy to miss but DONT! In my week in Pittsburgh, this is where I found the best food. I loved the pan seared pork chop with grilled onion. They also make pizza in their own wood burning oven, and delicious soups. And if you have a sweet tooth, you can choose between Cannoli from Sicily, ricotta pies, chocolate macaroons, ... You can bring your own wine, or on certain occasions such as Saturday mornings when the Strip District comes alive a rep from Carlos Garage Wines can make recommendations from their selection. I loved their cabernet sauvignon/sangiovese blend. You can also order from their bakery, or take lessons from a master on how to make Italian breads. This place is a jewel!

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Point Brugge Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Wonderful Shadyside cafe
    I visited here on my way walking from the Shadyside shopping (business district) to Mellon Park. The staff is friendly, food flavorful, wonderful atmosphere looking out through the large window. Indoor and outdoor seating.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Cruze Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Popular Pittsburgh Dance Club - but not your only option
    Since this club opened just recently, much of the action from Pegasus has moved here - which makes sense. Pegasus is in a far-away and dangerous Northwest part of town. Cruze is conveniently located in the (downtown) Strip District. However, the cliquishness of Pegasus has found its way here too. The bartenders often serve their friends before other people who were waiting at the bar longer. Its fun enough but bring your own crowd with you. And try the club headquarters just down the street. Its not as busy, but better drink specials and a more friendly environment.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Eleven Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Pricey but Worth It
    This is one of the city’s best known restaurants, and I found it kind of funny that the gay bathhouse “Club Pittsburgh” is just across the parking lot. The restaurant is in the Strip District, so convenient for any downtown hotel. The restaurant is pricey, but worth it when you want to treat yourself. The staff was very attentive, but the atmosphere was not stuffy. Check if they are having their weekday happy hours – great values on quality wines and very flavorful small dishes.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Circuit Nightclub 2.0 Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Some Nights Bigger than Others
    I was there on a friday night - not very busy even for northalsted market days weekend. I've been told by a local that it's best to go here on thursday and sunday nights.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great choice for Boystown
    I stayed here while in Chicago for the Northalsted Market Days weekend. Just a block from everything Boystown, clean, friendly staff, best value for the area. I would choose the same hotel again - no question about it.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Hearty / Hearty Boys Catering Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The "Hearty Boys" Land in Boystown
    Hearty is conveniently located at the north end of Chicagos gay neighborhood Northalsted - just a block north and across the street from the neighborhood IHOP (gayHop). The restaurant is run by the hearty boys Dan and Steve the gay couple made famous by the Food Network. The menu is comfort revisited containing such items as Moxie Chicken and rabbit corn dog (both of which I tried and found yu-mmy). I visited this restaurant twice while in Chicago for the 2011 Northalsted Market Days Weekend. I was initially introduced to the restaurant by a couple friend I know who live in Chicago, and just had to go back once more. Its one of those places regularly packed with locals and where everything on the menu is good. The friendly staff added perfectly to the relaxed environment. The restaurant layout includes a bar, with inside and outside dining. The hand crafted mahogany bar is paired with seaglass subway tiles and exposed brick. Walls of burnt orange and lime set off a wallmounted fireplace and bespoke stained glass art. I strongly suggest giving this restaurant a try on your next trip to gay Chicago.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Hot Java Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great popular coffee shop
    I visited for the first time last saturday. It's conveniently located at the corner in downtown Long Beach near the Park Pantry. It's close to Ocean Blvd and a nearby park - where there seemed to be ample parking. It gets a lot of business, good comfortable inside seating, or outside if you prefer, clean restroom, friendly staff - just a relaxful place to enjoy. If I lived in Long Beach, I would visit here almost every weekend.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Blue Chairs Resort Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Beach is nice... hotel is skanky
    I visited PV last week on a L.A. to Mexico Cruise. The blue chairs on the beach is fun - packed with gay guys drinking and splashing along the beach. You can try the parasail, banana boat, or various other activities if you want. Then my friends and I went up to the hotel rooftop to watch the sun set. There were Mexican "rent boys" everywhere - it was hard to tell the waiters from the prostitutes. In fact, one of the waiters was showing his d*ck to his patrons - i guess for extra tips. The elevator was broken and the rest of the hotel I could see looked run down. I didn't see the rooms but a few locals told me the rooms are run down as well.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed La Palapa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Still wonderful after 13 years
    I visited PV with my boyfriend (now ex) 13 years ago and we loved this gay-friendly classy restaurant right on the beach. I returned to PV last week on an L.A. to Mexico Cruise and took a young cutie pie I had just met on the cruise. We loved the romantic mexican ballads played by a live band, softly lit tables right on the beach, and a mixed, very gay friendly atmosphere. Food was excellent - the mussel appetizers was particularly tasty. And La Palapa is within the Zona Romantica, walking distance along the cobble stone streets to everywhere else you may go. I rarely give 5 stars, but this deserves it.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed 1350 Club Over a year ago
    Loves it

    go mondays for asian night
    okay, okay. I'll admit I go to a gay men's club, although I still have trouble saying the "B" word - you know, "b***house". They're phasing out "Hung Dynasty" but mondays remain asian night. From 6:30pm on there's a decent number of young asian and some latin boys who come visit for locker specials. Last time I visited, I saw 3 asian boys (all in early 20's) having a threesome in a lounge area. Add them all up and you might get 2% body fat percentage. Damn.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed 2nd Saturday Art Walk Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Huge Event Every 2nd Saturday in Midtown
    On the 2nd Saturday of each month, the midtown area literally comes to life as over a thousand people tour the neighborhoods visiting the galleries. You can download a map from the website, as well as find maps at various locations, but theres so many people it was easy for me to simply follow the crowd. Some of the upscale galleries offer wine, and you can find a wide selection of crafts from vendors on the street. Theres also a few small bands that play on the sidewalk, and one street was blocked off for dancing. It really gives the midtown a nice neighborhood feel something from a city like sactown that I found to be just the right size not too large to be unfriendly and fast paced, but large enough for cultural events like this.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Tower Cafe Over a year ago
    Hates it

    popular cafe with the tourists
    This caf is named after the first Tower Records store which used to operate from across the street. Its PACKED on weekends mostly with tourists. Food is good and portions large enough, atmosphere is mostly straight but gay friendly (most of the staff is gay). The large outdoor patio is nicely shaded with large trees overhead (it reminded me why sactown is called the city of trees). There is a large parking lot in the back, but it fills up quickly as the line starts to back up for nearly an hour long wait time.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Zocalo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Large Contemporary Mexican Standout in Midtown
    This is one of the largest restaurants in the gay area Lavender Heights section of midtown. Its a Mexican restaurant on a busy corner with large glass windows and a busy mixed crowd. I tried the empanadas appetizer and with the chips it filled me up. Service was fast and friendly. But beware of the pitchers of margaritas and other mixed drinks they can get expensive, so make sure you know the price before you order.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Jack's Urban Eats Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Refreshing Midtown Original
    This restaurant is conveniently located on a busy corner in the gay section Lavender Heights of midtown. It looks new and clean (I especially liked the polished concrete floors), with a large patio. I tried the steak salad, which was heavy on steak and very filling. The service was fast and friendly. And the patio is one of the best spots in the Lavender Heights for people watching.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed 58 Degrees Holding Co. Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great wine bar with experienced staff
    This is a wine bar/lounge located in the gay section Lavender Heights of midtown. It is stylishly decorated, which gives it an upscale atmosphere (which could be good or bad, depending on how serious the clientele takes itself). But 58 degrees offers a wide selection of wines, and my nice/helpful waiter could easily describe each Italian, French, Portugese and American wine on the menu. They also offer 3 oz tastings so you can create your own flight, which I did and thoroughly enjoyed. There is also an attached wine shop. Ive heard from locals that the food is very good, although I didnt try any of their dishes. But check this place out if youre in town a great place for happy hour, dinner, appetizers, wine tasting, and wine buying.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Badlands Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Fun dance club - but can be hit or miss
    This is the dance club to visit in Sacramento in the middle of the gay section Lavender Heights of midtown. Friday night seemed to be for the younger and straighter college crowd including a lot of women. But I was surprised to find how busy it was on a Sunday evening this time all guys.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Mercantile Saloon (The Merc) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Solid Neighborhood Bar
    The Merc has been around for many years, and is located smack dab in the middle of the gay section Lavender Heights of midtown. More than just a pre-bar, its a great neighborhood serving stiff cheap drinks. I found a variety of people here young and older, men and women, friendly atmosphere. Most people converge on the large outdoor patio. While visiting sactown for the weekend, I came here more often than any other bar or club.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Rockwell Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Enjoyable for Sunday Rehab Brunch
    Rockwell is known for their sunday brunch they title Rehab, which is an interesting title for the bottomless mimosas they offer. The space is elegant, DJ was spinning tunes in the background, and a mixed crowd - professional but not pretentious. And Los Felix is a nice neighborhood to walk around before or after.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Sur Restaurant Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Expensive, elegant and disappointing
    The decor is nicely done up with a Moor-ish chabby chic with white walls, worn out wood and lots of candles. However, the food is disappointing. They put bread on the table with those cheap slabs of butter still within it's foil and cold - right out of the refrigerator. At least a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar would have been nice. My friend ordered the filet mignon - very bland. Mashed potatoes also without flavor, as well as soggy grilled veges. There are no waiters, only waitresses, and they are the skinniest people I've seen in all of L.A. When we left, we passed by 2 men who appeared to be managers, but neither one told us goodbye. I would skip this place, especially for how expensive it is. Check out my review for St. Felix - I live in West Hollywood and this is still the best, most lively place to get dinner or after dinner food.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Bisou Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Bisou is a GREAT restaurant - popular with locals
    I visited San Francisco recently with a friend. We tried Bisou just caused it looked busy and smelled good from the street. Even though we had no reservations, the matire de was very accommodating in trying very hard to find a spot for us. Our waiter greeted us with a warm, genuine smile, and told us all we wanted to know about the menu. The food was wonderful - mushrooms for appetizers were rich, flavorfull, butter-like. I had the Beef Borguignon for dinner - also wonderful. And Chef Nick - he hugged us before we left, which we now understand is common. This was the HIGHLIGHT of our trip to San Francisco. A friendly, tasty, reasonably priced french restaurant right near Castro and Market Streets.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Crema Coffee Roasting Co. Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great coffee shop next to downtown & Gay Venues
    I stopped by here daily on a recent weekend trip to San Jose - Friendly, clean, "old home" cumfy feel, large windows, large outdoor patio, free wi-fi, next door to Gay/Lesbian community center.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Babycakes Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not Always what it used to be
    I live in West Hollywood but frequent San Diego often to visit friends. I always try to hit Babycakes when I'm in town. This is a coffeeshop, but also serves wine and small plates. They are FAMOUS for their cupcakes - especially the cream filled ones. The location is right in the heart of Hillcrest, and they are open from about 9am to midnight. However - after years they still don't have wifi near the front of the store or front patio - you have to take your laptop to the back of the shop. And on sunday afternoons it's now a loud circuit-type event with DJ. Ever since this place started serving alcohol - it's become less of a coffee shop and more of a club. If you want pure coffee shop with wifi in Hillcrest - check out Filter.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Martinis Above Fourth Over a year ago
    Hates it

    atmosphere fun, but food disappointing
    I finally had a chance to catch this long-standing piano bar saturday night with friends. The place is festive, piano and singer was nice, and the place was nicely decorated for upcoming halloween. However, carpacci was blank, portions were small or just not impressive. No surprises on dessert list - could have come from a hundred other restaurants. Sunday brunch is suppose to be good, but I haven't been. The outside patio is nice, if you don't mind the cigarette smoke.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Parliament House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great for Latin Night on Thursdays
    I visited Parliament House again - this time just on thursday night for latin night. It was packed with a lot of very young and handsome guys, and a nice drag show on the main dance space. They place was being decorated elaborately for halloween. Some big headliners are coming soon - including RuPaul and Bill Vilance. I'm glad the place seems to be doing well.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Sawmill Camping Resort Over a year ago
    Loves it

    relaxed camping, with frisky side
    I visited here a few hours on saturday on my way from Orlando to Tampa. It's a nice, clean campground in what seems like the middle of no-where. It's tucked away just out of Dade City. It's clothing optional in the pool area, and in the entire park on special occasions. It's mostly mature men, but not entirely, and a few women. If you're looking for something on the wild side, you can enter "the trails", which are interconnecting pathways near the lake. It seems to be busier in the morning or evenings/night time. Out of nowhere you may stumble across a swing, some chairs. At the trail entrypoint, there's a small metal basket of condoms nailed to a tree. It reminded me of the proverbial "rubber tree" from an episode of Queer Duck.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Flamingo Resort Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice renovation, but poor service
    I visited Flamingo last weekend. It's true - the place is busiest for their sunday t-dance. Some people were there saturday, it wasn't empty, but not packed. The renovation looks very nice - retro modernistic style, and the rooms had nice drapes, furniture (dark wicker), new carpet, ... HOWEVER, the service was consistently poor. You have to yell or wave your arms about to get any attention from poolside service. The guys would mostly go to tables of people they seemed to know and skip everyone else. It was common to see people go inside the bar to order drinks, and I had to bus (pick up) my own table. The place is only a few blocks from Georgi's Alibi - a great bar/club that was packed on saturday night.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Southern Nights Tampa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Where the boys all go on saturdays
    I visited Tampa/Ybor City last weekend. This was the place to be saturday night. There's 2 separate areas - one is mostly a large dance floor and the other has a pool table begging for use. The typical scene - nice looking guys, mostly younger scene, packed, but I was able to get drinks from bartenders quickly.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed The Honey Pot Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I agree - the place for the bois on fridays
    I visited Tampa/Ybor City last weekend. This was the spot for mostly boys on fridays. A line started forming before 11pm. Nice club inside, large dance floor, dancers, cute guys. It's close to Streetcar Charlie's for dinner, or you can bar hop and check to see how Ybor City Social Club is doing, Spurs (gay country club), ... everything in the Gaybor district is close to one another.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Georgie's Alibi Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Was packed on saturday night
    I visited St. Pete last weekend. This place is only a few blocks from the new gay Flamingo resort. It has a nice dance floor, 2 bar areas, separate room for darts, videos, mix of people - men & women, very popular and lots of available parking.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Umai Sushi (West Hollywood location) Over a year ago
    Hates it

    expensive and inconsistent - skip it
    Of all the restaurants conveneintly located on Santa Monica Blvd in West Hollywood, this is the only one I steer visitors away from. It's expensive, the rolls are known to fall apart, and the fish is not always the most fresh. As an alternative, if you're willing to go for a short 10 minute drive south on la cienega towards the Beverly Center, I would HIGHLY recommend Ronin (www.roninizakaya.com). It's Fresh asian tapas - unique, wonderful, some of the best food I've ever tested in L.A.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed The Nash Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    inexpensive hotel with charm in downtown Berkeley
    The hotel is a little old, but that gives it it's charm. I love coming home late from a night out to creeking hardwood floors. You can even get a room with shared bathroom if you're a budget traveler. The location is good - 1/2 block from downtown Berkeley BART, right off UC Berkeley campus, 1/2 block from Shattuck which is where the ghetto gourmet section of town begins. And if you want to head to the ever popular bathhouse Steamworks, it's an easy drive or bus trip 1 3/4 miles south on University.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Club BNB Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Friday was fun here for Latin Night
    Spent last friday night here. Mostly latins of course, with a sprinkling of their white admirers. There's $15 cover, but they have dancers and an amateur wet underwear contest. It reminded me of how a latin club can be more fun - just people enjoying themselves and their friends dancing and laughing. The only drawback - it's not close to anything gay. You'll need to drive or find how public transport works to get here. A cab ride from Berkeley and back totalled $60. Good news - the location is near downtown Oakland, so not too scary. Even for a white guy like me raised in the suburbs.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Cafe D' Etoile Over a year ago
    Loves it

    classy French Restaurant in Weho
    This classy (and a little pricy) French restaurant is near the gay apex of Santa Monica Blvd and Robertson and would be an ideal place to impress a date. It's always packed (a reservation would be a good idea) with a mature clientele. Many items on the menu are very good, such as the filet mignon, calamari and creme brulee. Sunday brunch is popular.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed RAGE Restaurant & Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Friday Nights always packed with young asian boys
    I've travelled a lot throughout the U.S. and Rage on fridays (GameBoi) wins the prize for the most concentration of young asian bois (18+) that I've ever seen. I live in the neighborhood and have been going here the last few years, and a friend of mine has been used as one of their models for publicity. And for us white admirers - it's good news that many of them are not "sticky rice". On most fridays the place could be a show on Oprah - "young asian boys and the older white guys who like them". However, one important note of caution - the urban legend is there's some boys under 18 who get in with fake IDs... so be careful...

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Saint Felix Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best Happy Hour, Tapas in West Hollywood
    St. Felix has been opened for over a year now, and it is always busy for good reason. Location is perfect - in Weho near the corner of Santa Monica Blvd & Robertson (on your way to The Abbey...). There's outside dining for the best people watching, or comforable and classy indoor dining. The staff are VERY friendly and love seeing new faces. The food is excellent as well as drinks. Many people's favorite tapa is The steak skewers, and they have many specialty drinks and their popolar mojito (in a mason jar). I live in the neighborhood and I have been to this restaurant many times, and this is the first place I take friends on their first trip to Weho. Happy hour is every day 4pm - 8pm (everything on the menu is half off).

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Starky's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Long-running establishment in SE Portland
    I travelled to Portland for a week and made it to Starkey's on saturday night. It's a long running establishment with many regulars. It has full menu - my mushroom appetizer and entree were both good, friendly staff and patrons. The video bar isn't a separate area - it's just a tv above the bar portion of the restaurant, which is fine. The patio outside is nice. It's a crowd older than the night club SW Portland - mostly 40's and up. One warning - the stall in the bathroom has no door. I've seen this in clubs, but at a restaurant? yikes. Oh, one important tip: When I left the restaurant, I walked about 10 blocks west (towards downtown) and I really enjoyed the evening feel of the SE part of town - coffee shops in old buildings with exposed brick walls, small eateries with streetside tables, people eating outdoors and sharing wine in their yards of their old victorian homes. I was grateful to witness this SE Portland charm.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Vista Grande Resort (Atrium, Avalon & Mirage) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The place to stay in Palm Springs
    I've visited Palm Springs a number of times over the past few years, and have usually stayed here. When travelling to Palm Springs, make sure to check if it's a busy time or off-season. This resort is not new, but I've always found it clean enough, and comfortable. I've found it busier and bigger than the other resorts, so easier to meet people, and the place is sexually charged if you want that. The guys are usually 40's or older, although some younger guys around, or you can find them at local clubs and bring home guests. The staff has always been friendly. Oh - and on friday nights everyone goes to Wang's for happy hour. Although lately Palm Springs in general seems to be less busy. I don't know if it's the economy, or if the guys are going elsewhere...

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Clyde Common Over a year ago
    Loves it

    This is the restaurant inside Ace Hotel
    I didn't realize it until I visited Portland - this is the restaurant owned and within same building as Ace Hotel in the Pearl District - very convenient. The place is busy for breakfast, lunch or dinner. For very late night you can hit The Roxy across the street. It's mostly a straight crowd, but gay/lesbian friendly. It's communal dining - so you're likely to share a large table with others, although I didn't end up striking a conversation with any of the locals, though. I was hoping I would as the tourism from out of town. But food is impeccable and ambiance is uber-earthy-chic - has to be experienced.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed The Roxy Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Did not disappoint
    I stopped by the first time at 4am after a friday night of gay revelry. The staff was friendly, food was served quickly, and it was good portions and quick refills of coffee. It's within a block of Ace Hotel, Boxxes/Red Cap and Scandal's Tavern, but about 6 blocks north of the biggest joints (Silverado's, Hobo's, C.C. Slaughter's), which is a little far to hoof it. The only caveat I have is that I sat on one of the stools at the counter but there's not a lot of room behind me, so I got bumpbed a lot by wait staff and drunk patrons. It didn't really bother me - laughed it off - so just fyi.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Parliament House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Comes Alive Weekend Nights
    I traveled to Orlando for a business conference and stayed the weekend at The Parliament House. During the days the place is virtually empty – unlike Palm Springs where there’s always guys walking around the grounds. But in the evenings the place comes alive and becomes the social center of Orlando – each of the numerous clubs on site and the drag show is standing room only. Hundreds of guys. And that’s when it’s convenient to be staying there – it’s a short walk to bring a “guest” back to your room. A few warnings: (1) There are a lot of older guys who get rooms there and during the day and evenings they walk/stalk back and forth around the balconies on the 2nd foor. One local told me they call them “balcony bats”. (2) The neighborhood is extremely dangerous and is the highest crime rate area in the city. It’s on Orange Blossom Trail, but locals call it the “O-B-T”. I made a quick stop at the local liquor store to stock up and all the people loitering around started to gather around my car, kind of like Dawn of the Dead. Creepy.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Silverado Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good combination strip-club / neighborhood bar
    I recently traveled to Portland for a week, and ended up visiting all the gay venues in town. Silverado was busy every night of the week. There was a mix of guys - younger, older, and the kitchen served a decent menu - the nachos were huge... The only club with more people would perhaps be C.C. Slaughters, which is Portland’s dance club complex. At Silverado’s there are strippers about every night and they actually go totally nude, which surprised me since they don’t do that even in L.A. I was texting status reports to my friends back home: “… 2 cut, 1 uncut. How big? Well, it’s flopping around right now, but probably a 9”. They seemed to have nearly the same strippers each night, though. After a week I recognized familiar… um… “faces” onstage. There’s a lounge on the other side of the club – quieter, pool table, but large bar area. So unless you want to dance, Silverado’s is the place to go to be with the biggest crowd.

  • RichardsLifeCali
    RichardsLifeCali reviewed Ace Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Stylish Gay friendly Hotel
    I recently travelled to Portland & The Oregon Wine Country for a week. The Ace Hotel is THE place to stay for the gay traveller to Portland. Ace is in the epicenter of the uber-earthy-chic SW portion of Portland, which includes the Pearl District and Nob Hill. Many gay venues are only a block away (BOXXES/Red Cap Garage, Roxy's, Scandal's Tavern), with most others an easy 6 block walk east. Clyde Common is the hotel's restaurant, so it's located in the same building - perfect for lunch, dinner or late night dining. Ace is also just a block from the famous Powell's bookstore, and Living Room Theatres. Parking is available for $20 a night, but in a small outside lot a block down the street. Bicycles can be rented - perfect for checking out the Tom McCall Waterfront Park or Saturday Farmer's Market.