Paul W, 59M. I've always been attracted to older men - particularly if they are clean shaven, chubby and silver-haired like my partner. Originally from London, UK I moved to Australia to live with my partner and we now live in Sydney where we have a great view of the harbour. We obtained a British Civil Partnership in 2009 and, thanks to the enlightened British Government, upgraded to marriage in 2015. I've travelled extensively for business and pleasure - mainly around Europe but also to the USA, Asia and Africa. My partner and I still visit Europe every year although he has some mobility issues.

Sydney, Australia
Joined Dec 2007
21 Followers 11 Following

17 Loved Places

Listings

  • The Oxford Hotel - Underground Bar Darlinghurst, Sydney
  • Quetzal Le Marais, Paris
  • City of Quebec Central, London
  • Macleay Apartments Hotel Potts Point, Sydney

Cities

  • Pewit
    Pewit reviewed City of Quebec Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A shadow of it’s former glory
    I met my husband at the Q (well outside it actually - he’d been stalking me) and I remember when there was a queue to get in. However, now that the area has been gentrified, the brewery wants to get rid of the gays and has appointed an aggressive lesbian manager to do exactly that. Gone are the drag queens as entertainment - all replaced by loud-mouthed female performers who should stick to the shower! So while there are a few of the older crowd and admirers there later in the evening, it ain’t what it was.

  • Pewit
    Pewit reviewed Macleay Street Bistro Over a year ago
    Loves it

    More than your average bistro
    Much smarter than your average bistro and with prices to match, it has a short but flavoursome French-influenced menu that always includes Steak Tartare. The staff are very nice and usually efficient but some tables are placed a little awkwardly due to the room layout. The outside tables are nice on a warm evening providing you don't mind sharing your dinner with the pavement parade.

  • Pewit
    Pewit reviewed The Oxford Hotel - Underground Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    An ashtray with a bar attached?
    The Oxford used to be a nice pub with a mixed crowd but it has turned into something of a freak show not helped by the "development" of the site. The smoking areas on two sides of the triangular bar make it seem that you're in the middle of an ashtray as the smoke billows in every time the door opens. In true Sydney style, what was the lounge bar had now become a gambling room for the "pokies". The upstairs bars have pretensions of being something more upmarket - but this is Oxford Street after all.

  • Pewit
    Pewit reviewed Sydney Sauna Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Daddy heaven or hell?
    If you like older guys this will be heaven - if you don't, well you're in the wrong place. Although, sometimes it feels like you've arrived on a casting day for the Hobbit movie! There must be a shortage of tops judging by the number of people lying in the cabins with their bums in the air! They play a mixture of camp old movies and recent features in the TV lounge which has machines for drinks and a counter for snacks. It has extensive cabins (one with a sling), 2 saunas, steam room, 2 small jacuzzi, porn lounge and lots of dark nooks and crannies for trolls to lurk in. "Tight-Ass Tuesdays" are especially popular with the older crowd (and admirers) as it's half price. It gets more mixed in age in the evening.

  • Pewit
    Pewit reviewed Quetzal Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not for the over 50s
    It's an OK bar with a mixture of ages - mainly 30's and 40s.

  • Pewit
    Pewit reviewed Euro Men's Club Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Gets better every time
    They continue to upgrade the facilities here with a new steam room added since my last visit. It has a younger crowd on weekends compared to weekdays.

  • Pewit
    Pewit reviewed Obelisk Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Sun, Sea and Se........
    Obelisk is an official nude beach but nudity is permitted on the beach only (there is a plan of the designated area next to the start of the access path from the road above). Nudity is not permitted in the notoriously cruisy bushland surrounding the beach so best wear something around your waist if you decide to go for a "wander" as the area is regulalry patrolled by Rangers.

  • Pewit
    Pewit reviewed Lady Jane Beach Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Sydney's Other Nude Beach
    Lady Jane Beach is great in that it's easily accessable from the centre of Sydney by taking the ferry to Watson's Bay from Circular Quay (Don't forget to check the time of the last ferry back!). However it is rather small and rocky (especially when the tide is in), and there are both people who perve on the beach from the path above as well as those who stand in the water and flash at the walkers - both of which are rather tacky. Far nicer, more secluded and more cruisy is Obelisk Beach on the opposite side of the harbour.

  • Pewit
    Pewit reviewed Macleay Apartments Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good value-stay in ever-so-gay Potts Point
    Ask and if you're lucky you can get one of the upper floor rooms which offer fantastic views of Sydney Harbour or The Bridge & Opera House. Very convenient central location with clean, comfortable rooms (try to get a modernised one) with kitchenette and laundry facilities on most floors. Very friendly helpful staff and very handy parking. Some rooms are a bit small and the street rooms can be noisy at night. 311 & hop on/off tourist bus stop outside. There is a tiny pool but not worth bothering with - go to the Andrew Boy Charlton pool or Obelisk Beach (nude) both with a view of the harbour instead.

  • Pewit
    Pewit reviewed Thai Nesia Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A great meal with the Thai boys
    Probably the last of the (mostly) gay-run Thai restaurants on Oxford Street, Thai Nesia hasn't changed over the years but has aways maintained their reputation for delicious Thai food at reasonable prices - and is still very gay-friendly. The upstairs dining room is great for parties. BYO but there's a bottle shop almost next door. Tables can be a bit cramped in the middle.

  • Pewit
    Pewit reviewed Zinc Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Consistantly great in Poofs Point
    Trendy-ish, gay-owned and run, Zinc provides great food at good value for money. This cafe-cum-restaurant is always busy especially for weekend brunch/lunch for both locals, fashionistas and the occasional celeb. The well-spaced pavement tables are ideal for playing "gay, straight or bi" as buff Poofs Pointers walk their fluffy dogs up Macleay Street. Excellent Coffee and Tea. Fantastic value/quality set menu each evening. The waiters are really lovely but can be a bit up themselves at busy times.