MusicDoc

41M.

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Joined Dec 2007
8 Followers

Following 0 people

21 Loved Places

Listings

  • Dallas Eagle Oaklawn, Dallas
  • J.R.'s Bar and Grill Oaklawn, Dallas
  • Round-Up Saloon Oaklawn, Dallas
  • Scandals Saloon Wilton Manors, Wilton Manors
  • Alibi Wilton Manors, Fort Lauderdale
  • Urban Mo's Hillcrest, San Diego
  • MusicDoc
    MusicDoc reviewed Amsterdam Action Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Strange Bar Scene
    Just visited Cape Town in mid-November. Stopped by this bar to find not many people drinking, and even more unfriendly people. It wasn't until Russell, a bar tender started talking to my partner and myself that the locals, after an hour or so, engaged in very limited conversation. I'm starting to think most South Africians aren't very fond of Americans. But, we weren't completely ignored, and the drinks were cheap, so I give this TWO stars in review.

  • MusicDoc
    MusicDoc reviewed J.R.'s Bar and Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The Dallas gay bar pivot point
    Don't know what night which bar is great? Go here - the standby bar for when you are in question. Loved it here - outdoors looking over the street is awesome. Not the best "video bar" per se - in desperate need of tech updates. But a good solid "all around" place that has a variety of patrons.

  • MusicDoc
    MusicDoc reviewed Round-Up Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    HUGE bar - lots of fun
    Had a great time here. Friendly guys, and the bartenders are quick, and always give you a smile. Check out the cool deck out back.

  • MusicDoc
    MusicDoc reviewed Dallas Eagle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Favorite place in Dallas!
    Great bar. No cover, good prices, friendly, HOT guys. No contest.

  • MusicDoc
    MusicDoc reviewed Club Diversity Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I love this place
    Probably my favorite place to go in Columbus. The most unique gay bar I've seen anywhere. Best martini bar in Ohio. Nice place to go before a show or to just meet a few friends for a drink or two.

  • MusicDoc
    MusicDoc reviewed AWOL Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Bear Happy Hour on Wednesdays
    Fun bar. Just be careful where you park your car, the neighborhood isn't the most secure.

  • MusicDoc
    MusicDoc reviewed Charlie's Phoenix Over a year ago
    Loves it

    good for everyone
    I'm not really into the cowboy/line dancing scene - but this place is large enough that it has a very mixed crowd. Probably THE place to go after having a few warm-up drinks at Cherry Bar. Good times here, despite the snobby bartenders.

  • MusicDoc
    MusicDoc reviewed Pat O's Bunkhouse Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Go out back!
    Ugh - the inside bar is a mess - cramped and not so great. But the outside patio in the back is the nicest in Phoenix. Nice place to meet friends and throw a few back.

  • MusicDoc
    MusicDoc reviewed JR's Bar & Grill Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Just OK
    Went on a Wednesday night, and the bar was rather full. Drinks were very pricey and the televisions were mostly old tube TVs (not very good for videos these days). Definitely a stand-around and talk bar, nothing too exciting. In a nice area though, if you're looking for a place to eat.

  • MusicDoc
    MusicDoc reviewed Green Lantern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Friendly small bar
    Nice little off-the-beaten-path bar. Friendly bar tenders and generally an older crowd. Thursday shirtless drink for free hour was fun. Starting to realize that men only go out in DC when there is free something. However, it was a nice place to go for a few rounds - I recommend if you are on a business trip and just want to toss a few back.

  • MusicDoc
    MusicDoc reviewed Scandals Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good times!
    I frequent Scandals every time I'm in Fort Bottomdale. Fun dancing, karaoke nights, and friendly guys. Hell, I don't even like country, but this place is a lot of fun. Tell Todd behind the bar that he looks like Russel Crowe, and you'll get a surprise. :)

  • MusicDoc
    MusicDoc reviewed Urban Mo's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Go here, it will remind you of Rosies!
    A former Hamburger Mary's, this place reminded me of Rosie's in Fort Lauderdale. It was the ONLY bar in San Diego that had fun bartenders (Brandon, you're a HOTTIE!) and great bar food and service. If you ever find yourself in the unfortunate position of being in San Diego and wanting to go out - go here.

  • MusicDoc
    MusicDoc reviewed Pecs Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Locals actually give this place hype?!
    My boyfriend and I wanted a place to visit because we had a week off, and came to San Diego. Friends here said this place was a "happening" bar on Friday nights. Rude, rude, rude people, and the most disgusting, indifferent bartenders that I have ever experienced. What a hole. Go to Mo's instead if you ever find yourself in the unfortunate position of being in this town and wanting to go out.

  • MusicDoc
    MusicDoc reviewed Alibi Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Gosh, what queens
    Okay, fellow reviewers... stop for a moment. First of all, please know the local laws before you start complaining about the smoking/no smoking policy of Lauderdale bars. It is your responsibility to read up on this before you go out. Yes, you can smoke outside, and not inside. But - don't go to the Alibi for the food... I'll give you that bit of advice. Do go for the atmosphere, and for the people. Lauderdale is indeed a tightly knit community, but I've been visiting for a long while, and realize all you have to do is be friendly and say hi. Yes, you might have a few jerks ignore you, but you'll find that anywhere. If all else fails, go to the booth and talk with Barry the VJ - he's a GREAT guy. Tip him, ask him to play some Patsty Cline, and you'll be a VIP in no time! Cheer up fellas - it's a bar. Play the game, and enjoy Lauderdale. I certainly do.