MikeHawk

32M.

Joined May 2007

Following 0 people

11 Loved Places

Listings

  • Piranha Boutique Nightclub Paradise Fruit Loop, Las Vegas
  • Freezone Paradise Fruit Loop, Las Vegas
  • Neighbours Capitol Hill, Seattle
  • The PumpJack Pub Davie Village, Vancouver
  • Celebrities Night Club Davie Village, Vancouver
  • MikeHawk
    MikeHawk reviewed Freezone Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Something different
    I have always enjoyed a mixed crowd more than a sea of poseurs, and this place made me very comfortable. We even witnessed a break dance circle. Definitely not trendy but a friendly crowd. The tunes were a real mix and I heard some tunes I haven't heard in a long, long time. Not for everyone but if you are an experienced traveller with an open mind this is a side of Vegas few visitors ever see.

  • MikeHawk
    MikeHawk reviewed Piranha Boutique Nightclub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Worth the cover charge
    We paid $10 on Thursday and $20 on Friday to get in - not sure if that's normal as it was "pride" weekend. This bar was packed while others were empty. The crowd was mostly young (under 40). There is three distinct rooms, 8 1/2 is more hip hop, Piranha in the back is top 40 and has hot go-go boys in their underwear, and a patio for conversation. We are two guys and we brought along a lesbian friend and enjoyed ourselves until 4am, the place was still goin' strong! Music was great in both rooms.

  • MikeHawk
    MikeHawk reviewed Neighbours Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Deja-vu
    This is the typical gay club. The crowd is varied and the tunes are good. Dance club. Cheap drinks. Guys of all ages. Guaranteed good time - go after 11pm.

  • MikeHawk
    MikeHawk reviewed The PumpJack Pub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good kind of durty
    This is a neighbourhood bar. There is no dance floor. Lots of Daddies, Bears and their fans. The staff are pretty hot. Beer drinkers all. Crowd is very friendly but don't cop a 'tude in this place. Sunday afternoons are busy, lineups after sunset pretty much everyday. Don't bring your Mom :)

  • MikeHawk
    MikeHawk reviewed Georgie's Alibi Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Everything in one place
    Went here not expecting much more than a sports bar. In the afternoon after the beach this place was mellow and friendly. Went back after Granny's bedtime and partied and danced until 2am. The dance floor was packed and the top 40 tunes were accompanied by videos on a big screen. Drinks everywhere in FLA are so generous, so take a cab. Mixed crowd - meaning all ages and types.

  • MikeHawk
    MikeHawk reviewed Numbers Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Retro bar with eclectic theme nights.
    It's all in the theme here. Amateur strip night is so hit and miss. This place is always voted "best place to pick up a man". No more needs to be said - except that there are pool tables and you can drink while you play (a rarity in vancity for some reason). The decor is straight outta 1972, but that is so unusual for vancouver that it seems kinda cool. Latino night once a month is the best.

  • MikeHawk
    MikeHawk reviewed Fountainhead Pub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Neighbourhood pub for everyone
    Everyone in the Vancouver gay crowd has gone here and had a good time. Twinkies, bears, dykes and daddies intermingle like nobody ever told them not to. Staff are so friendly and there's lots of plasma screens to look at if you are shy. Big patio for the smokers...with heaters for the 8 cold months of the year.

  • MikeHawk
    MikeHawk reviewed Celebrities Night Club Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Mixed but young
    Gay friendly more accurately describes this bar. Lots of adorable staff and patrons, top notch tunes on Tuesdays. This is a place to go with friends as nobody here talks to strangers.