Mendelssohn

47M. French-Canadian living in Montreal. I really like cultural exchanges with people from all around the world. Thanks for your interest. Cheers! ;-) Warmest regards, Gino

Montreal, Canada
Joined Sep 2009
5 Followers 5 Following

Following 5 people

17 Loved Places

Listings

  • The Monster West Village, New York
  • L'Aigle Noir (Black Eagle) The Village/Le Village, Montreal
  • Sky Complex The Village/Le Village, Montreal
  • Le Stud The Village/Le Village, Montreal

Cities

  • Mendelssohn
    Mendelssohn reviewed The Monster Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My favorite bar in Manhattan
    As a French-Canadian (Quebecker) tourist, I visited NYC at the end of April 2010 for one week. I went to the Monster three times for the happy hour. I liked the mix crowd, for it is not snobbish at all. The atmosphere at the piano bar level is relaxe and friendly. The basement level which has the dance floor was neither exceptionnal nor boring. In other words, the dance floor is not better or worse than the others that I have seen in my life. In all, I have nice memories of this bar, for I met nice guys there.

  • Mendelssohn
    Mendelssohn reviewed Tabla Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice indian restaurant
    I have been there twice. The food is delicious particularly the chicken with butter sauce. A good one in its category.

  • Mendelssohn
    Mendelssohn reviewed Chez Cora Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The best place for a breakfast in the gay village
    I have been there several times. The food is tasty, and the fruit cocktails are incredible. You have at the same place French, Quebecker, English and American breakfasts. What do you want more than that?

  • Mendelssohn
    Mendelssohn reviewed Bato Thai Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Really good asian food
    I have been at this restaurant several times. I like both the atmosphere and the food. If you like asian food, you must try this one!

  • Mendelssohn
    Mendelssohn reviewed Le Saloon Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Food is good but sometimes music is too much loud
    Before going there, you should verify if the music is at low volume... It is not a restaurant for a quiet and romantic moment, but if you like disco atmosphere, this restaurant is a good one.

  • Mendelssohn
    Mendelssohn reviewed Gouverneur Hotel Montreal Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The brunch on Sundays is really good.
    I have never slept at this hotel. Nevertheless, I have been there several times for the brunch on Sundays. The food is both diversified and delicious. The price is honest not exaggerated at all. The customer service is professionnal. In all, good value.

  • Mendelssohn
    Mendelssohn reviewed Bar Relaxe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    No dance floor. Quiet and relaxe!
    Most of the clients are in their 50's or 60's. It is not a big deal if you are there with a friend for taking a beer. The music is not loud what it means that you can talk quietly. The pool table is popular. In all, it is not really a bar for cruising, but a place for talking with a friend.

  • Mendelssohn
    Mendelssohn reviewed Le Stud Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not my favorite one but music on the 2nd floor...
    It is not my favorite bar, but the electronica music on Saturday night on the second floor is amazing. I have never heard this kind of electronica music before. It is a funny sensation that I like a music that usually I don't like. Most of the clients are bear, leather and jeans. This last detail doesn't mean that a guy like me doesn't have his place there. Nevertheless, I have to admit that I am not the kind of guy who usually attracts them.

  • Mendelssohn
    Mendelssohn reviewed Le Resto Du Village Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good food and affordable prices.
    My favorite restaurant in the Village. You can bring your own wine. Whatever you are alone or with friends, you feel comfortable in this restaurant. The poutine is really delicious. Daily menu is nice too. Open 24 hours a day.

  • Mendelssohn
    Mendelssohn reviewed L'Aigle Noir (Black Eagle) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Not my favorite one but the music is really good
    Most customers are bear, leather or jeans, but it is not a bad thing. That's only the clients' profile. The music is really good. You can listen to rock, punk, electronica and pop! Good for me! Great place for either talking or cruising.

  • Mendelssohn
    Mendelssohn reviewed Sky Complex Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My favorite gay bar in Montreal
    Why do I like Sky Pub? I like it, for the happy hour on weekends are a good opportunity for talking with friends in a nice atmosphere. Most customers are French-Canadians, but the employees give customer service in both French and English. There is a special price for the draft beer from 5 to 7 pm i.e. 2 for 1.