KingJoker

39M.

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Joined Oct 2009
20 Followers

25 Loved Places

Listings

  • The Eagle NYC Chelsea, New York
  • AWOL Olde Towne East, Columbus
  • Tilt Downtown, Rochester

Cities

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed Zum Pitter Over a year ago
    Hates it

    open
    I passed by today (4/21) - it's very much open. Great for outdoor seating , they even provide blankets for those colder evenings.

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed Blow Buddies Over a year ago
    Loves it

    This place delivers what you hoped for
    It seems it would be rare for someone to leave blow buddies unsatisfied. On a Saturday night, there are more than enough people doing anonymous acts, and some very public ones as well. What's great about blow buddies is that you don't have to feel obligated to disrobe, wear whatever you want and come as you are. They play decent music to set the mood, and the crowd is ready for action. Quite a few trolls, but a balance of hot guys as well. Score!

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed Eros Over a year ago
    Hates it

    not a typical bathhouse
    This club is in need of an update and possibly a handyman. The lockers need to be painted or replaced, the carpets are dingy and I believe it was what was causing a "wet dog" smell throughout the area. The first floor shower, sauna, and steamroom all were in proper working order and appeared updated. The crowd was a mix of older gentleman and Asian men of all ages. The older men preasant were fit and at least somewhat attractive. . I found it strange that many people were spooning and cuddling on the bunkbeds, making the atmosphere way too romantic and strange for a bathhouse. Having no privacy in the setting makes everything difficult.

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed Garces Trading Company Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Excellent fare and service but strange set-up
    Slightly expensive but you really get a nice meal for what you pay for. I chose the chef's tasting menu and it was superb. Service was great! This restaurant is set up partially as a gourmet deli counter, and partially as an upscale eatery. That's where they lose a few stars; if you are wanting an intimate dinner you'll have to choose somewhere else. The seating is unreasonably tight; this isn't New York. My date and I had to sit at a common table with a bunch of women celebrating a birthday... our personal space was limited and it was downright intrusive (I actually had to guard my plates to ensure I didn't get someones elbow in it). With the market-type venue, this place is bustling like reading terminal. My suggestion would be to step in only if it appears that the restaurant is not busy. Reservations are recommended.

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed Quest Over a year ago
    Hates it

    down and dirty!
    I was not thrilled that I had to fill out the application to enter the club, but the registration taker was welcoming, so that was good enough for me. A $5.00 cover was easy to live with. What I noticed immediately upon entering was on overwhelmingly bad smell in the place, a mixture of smoke and mustiness. Bathrooms and fixtures were downright dirty. The crowd definitely had a core group of people who let their lives waste away at that club. There was a lot of annoying cackling and drunk, sloppy grinding (instead of dancing) going on. Bartenders in the back bar were ok and im surprised they kept cool with all of the low-class BS they were putting up with. Skip it!

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed Munch Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Good for a quick munch, but not much more
    This is a quick-style casual joint that you could show up in swim trunks or khakis. I liked the fun diner-style menu, some adventurous wraps and sandwiches, breakfast options, milkshakes, mac and cheese, and some entrees...all very reasonably priced. My meal was flavorful and fresh. The atmosphere is victim of being a little too bright and cavernous for comfort. You will feel like you are eating in a flourescent-lit kiddie ice cream parlor; there is not an ounce of warmth to this place. The service was very lackluster -- my server looked like a model, but his flat personality and poor service didn't cut it. I'll give this place a second shot. Food is decent and if you are looking for a quick meal before hitting the clubs this is a good option.

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed Canyon Ranch Spa Club Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A full retreat, if that's what you are looking for
    This spa is very luxurious and a quiet retreat, but don't expect this type of spa to be made for cruising. There are fantastic elements here that I have not seen in a spa before. There are showers that will give you an experience of the sounds and feel of a rainforest rain storm in different regions...neat! There is also a quiet reflecting room, where you lean back and watch water waves reflected onto a ceiling. Immensely peaceful. (you'll have to ask where it is....it's in the co-ed section). Honestly, I was able to take a break from my peaceful moments for some fun in the steam room and sauna, some of my hottest moments in Vegas...and others were too. Overall, it's not a sure thing if you are going cruising, but enjoy the experience if you are there.

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed Palms Place Hotel and Spa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Off the path gorgeous
    If you are a young fish looking for a straight-style spot, you'll probably get along with this place. The rooms are super-cool and stylish, the crowd is always young and well-dressed. The pool is always a party of Jersey shore guidos and Los Angeles hot douchebags. If you like this sort of thing, I say go for it. I had a great stay, the food is reasonable ($20.00 buffet - C+), and the crowd will keep you motivated.

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed AWOL Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Neighborhood bar where they get super-trashed.
    Seems like this bar is good for one thing; drinking yourself into oblivion. Regular neighborhood crowd, most people seem to know each other here, nothing upscale or updated about the place. They have a large back patio...reeks of smoke there even when people aren't smoking, so no luck if you are trying to get some fresh air. Heath is a friendly bartender, he'll make you feel welcome....as well as the overly affectionately drunk patrons.

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed Union Cafe Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    GREAT spot for food and drink
    Agreed with the last reviewer...how lucky Columbus is to have this type of bar/restaurant. While I don't feel this would be the best place to pick-up people, it is a great place for entertaining, enjoying an easy-going good meal at a decent price, and enjoying the crowd around you. I enjoy that they keep this as a video bar, very cool if you like that. You could feel comfortable here coming in very casual or more refined. The crowd does not seem to be a certain genre, it is welcoming to all. The host and bartenders were very friendly; bartenders were a little slow on service, but on top of things when you got their attention. I'll be back when I hit the town.

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed Tilt Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good crowd, great atmosphere
    I say this club is a winning dance club, at least on Saturday nights. They allow an 18-21 age group to attend, so you may feel it is outrun with young people, but their energy is good and not too snotty (most people i saw were trashed and willing to dance with anyone). I went at midnight and it was fairly crowded. Drinks are reasonable and there is a bar away from the louder dance floor. Sound levels were reasonable enough near the dance floor that you could still hear the bartender speak. Dance floor had a good vibe...i danced all night with many girls and guys alike, young and some older. Give it a shot...it isnt in the most desirable area, take a cab there for this one.

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed Hyatt Regency Rochester Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Its clean
    Im not sure how many hotels Rochester has to offer, but this one is clean and updated. Great river views and not a lot of children. Gym has full weights. Though close to the convention center, there isnt much to choose from outside the hotel - everything is closed. Youll have to walk a long way to get anywhere good, or taxi it everywhere. Taxi service is ample.

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Awesome eatery with friendliest staff
    Though this bar and restaurant are very "straight", youll find the friendliest, most accomodating staff and indulgent bbq food. There are excellent IPAs on tap as well. The ambience is honky-tonk trendy, it looks like a rock-bands garage. Visit Michelle at the bar....trust me on this. Shes more than a great bartender, gay-friendly, quick-witted and super flirty, she will have you in stitches. She wasnt even my bartender but i was drawn to her...she knows how to work a room. Her nickname: Lick-a-lotta-puss. Im hooked.

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed Los Amigos Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Overpriced Chain Restaurant Experience
    Los Amigos is a small restaurant with prices higher than your average mexican restaurant. The decor is a combination of Don Pablo's, Chi'Chi's, and Chili's combined - the usual overblown Mexican color palatte, christmas lights, and Southwest tourist shop paraphernalia. The food all falls within your normal range of Mexican cuisine, you'll have no surprise element in presentation or taste. This is Mexican for your average easy-to-please tourist. There are so many amazing new restaurants and new restaurant concepts in Atlantic City...choose a unique experience versus this unmemorable one.

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed The Eagle NYC Over a year ago
    Hates it

    A disappointment!
    I've been to the Eagle about 3 times...it is much different than other Eagle's around the country in that they will definitely put a stop to any playing around you do. And yet, guys still try....until a flashlight comes violently at them. The bartenders were nice to me, but I can see that they are sassy and sarcastic queens - not masculine men that I'd hope they'd be. Music---sucks. Really bad.

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed Club Orlando Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very Clean, Could use younger crowd
    The previous reviews seem accurate. There's not enough young guys in this place. However, I find Club Orlando to be so clean and relaxing that I can spend a few hours there easily and wait until the right guy arrives. Pool area is excellent with great sunbathing opportunities. Gym is up-to-date with lots of equipment and free weights. Some of the older guys are nice but there are just as many trolls who won't leave a young guy alone.

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed The Carisbrooke Inn Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great B&B...rare find!
    This is a quiet B&B that is in a great area away from the noise of the Boardwalk. Expect a variety of B&B guests. Great hosts and great breakfast.

  • KingJoker
    KingJoker reviewed Georgie's Alibi Over a year ago
    Loves it

    All are welcome at this great place.
    I enjoy Georgie's on all levels, and it's what I always hope every gay bar would and should be. This bar does not seem to have any certain genre, old and young alike, men and women, bears to twinks are all welcome here and all seen on a given night. I was very surprised that the kitchen was open very late, and the food was excellent. The video bar and dance floor plays familiar hits that you can feel comfortable dancing to. And if you are looking to get away from a louder area, the main bar is more intimate, and the outside is usually milling with people as well. oh yes...and let's not forget, the drinks are strong!