61M. I'm an upbeat guy with a busy life. I enjoy the arts, bicycling, and I travel quite a bit.

New Haven, Connecticut
Joined Jul 2008
4 Followers

Following 0 people

11 Loved Places

Listings

  • The Caliph Hillcrest, San Diego
  • SCORE South Beach, Miami Beach
  • 168 York Street Cafe New Haven
  • Inn At The Park Hillcrest, San Diego
  • Hillcrest Inn Hotel Hillcrest, San Diego

Cities

  • KenCT
    KenCT reviewed 168 York Street Cafe Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Popular with locals. Some Yalies and tourists,too.
    Usually described as New Haven's version of "Cheers," at 168 you'll find locals, some of whom seem to have been on the same bar stool since the Regan administration. There's usually a sprinkling of Yalies and visitors as well. Sunday brunch and the Thursday night beer bash are good times to drop by.

  • KenCT
    KenCT reviewed The Sofia Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Historic Hotel Updated With Style
    Built as the Pickwick Hotel in 1926, the hotel retains much of its historic character, with amenities of an up-to-date boutique property. Rooms are small, bordering on tiny, many with views of an air shaft. But they are well-organized, with features you might expect in a far more expensive hotel: premium bedding, flat screen television, refrigerator, and microwave. Located downtown, a quick bus, trolley or cab ride to the airport, Hillcrest, and most other tourist attractions.

  • KenCT
    KenCT reviewed Dupont Italian Kitchen Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Casual Italian on the 17th Street Strip
    Very gay-popular restaurant with outdoor seating in warmer weather. Except for a terrific Caesar salad, food is rather average, but the price is right and the service is friendly. On the second floor is DIK bar, a favorite among older locals and tourists, too.

  • KenCT
    KenCT reviewed SCORE Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best Location for People Watching on Lincoln Road
    Gets really packed at night, but I really like to settle in at one of the outside tables during happy hour to watch the continual parade of SoBe locals and tourists Skip the frozen cosmopolitans which are usually a "special." They taste like cough syrup slushies.

  • KenCT
    KenCT reviewed Kings Inn Hotel Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not really in Hillcrest
    Just a heads up for those without cars. Hotel Circle is not really walkable to Hillcrest, nor is mass transit, i.e. the bus, particularly convenient.

  • KenCT
    KenCT reviewed Inn At The Park Over a year ago
    Hates it

    No AC
    When I walked into my room, I nearly dropped my luggage. The suites are bigger than a lot of apartments. Full living room, kitchen, bedroom, walk in closet - all decorated in mid-1940's style, well-maintained but not updated since. This means no air conditioning! The Top of the Park is THE place to be on Friday evenings and the piano bar/restaurant as street level is one of my favorite places to hang out.

  • KenCT
    KenCT reviewed Hillcrest Inn Hotel Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not THAT awful
    I'll reluctantly come to the defense of the Hillcrest Inn. The location is great and the location is great. That disinfectant smell is weird, as are some of the clients, but I'm not above staying there if I want to stay in Hillcrest and don't want to rent a car.

  • KenCT
    KenCT reviewed The Caliph Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Good Place to Start
    Always dimly lit no matter what time of day, with regulars, mostly older, dropping by for a cocktail or two before moving on. Patrons are genuinely friendly and welcoming to visitors. Definitely an attitude-free zone.