JoshandCody

JoshandCody Las Vegas, NV, 52M. My partner and I love travelling to parties and new places, or revisiting cities where we have old friends. Hot Dance Clubs and Leather/Levi hot cruise spots - yeah, they both appeal to us! NYC is our favorite, though we don't get there too much...ALWAYS fun to be had there!

Las Vegas, Nevada
Joined Feb 2010
58 Followers 39 Following

56 Loved Places

Listings

  • Badlands The Castro, San Francisco
  • 440 Castro The Castro, San Francisco
  • Hole in the Wall Saloon SOMA, San Francisco
  • Powerhouse SOMA, San Francisco
  • The EndUp SOMA, San Francisco
  • Blake's Midtown, Atlanta

Cities

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Grand Lux Cafe 1 year ago
    Loves it

    As a local it's one of my favorite lunch spots
    The thing that I like about Grand Lux is that it has a good menu and is pretty reasonably priced. Some restaurants on the strip can be $$$; Grand Lux gives you a break from that. If you're near The Venetian | The Palazzo Grand Lux is definitely a convenient place where you can be served well and have a pretty quick meal, and yet you're in an environment where if you want to have relaxed conversation and sit a while you won't feel "rushed".

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Flex 1 year ago
    Loves it

    Flex is a lot of fun on special event nights
    We usually go to FLEX for special event nights like UnderBEAR, where guys in underwear get draft beer 1/2 price all night. A smaller bar with sorta a neighborhood vibe, also has several pool tables off to the side if you'd like to play pool while you're there. They have a DJ on busier nights and he plays a good mix of music. You'll see people dancing and maybe go-go dancers if it's an event night. Definitely worth checking out what's going on, and a good break from "the Strip".

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Fun Hog Ranch Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Smaller neighborhood bar with great staff and good energy
    Fun Hog Ranch is a smaller bar off the strip that's a fun place to drop into for drinks on a Saturday night. It's what we would describe as a "neighborhood watering hole". Drinks are super-reasonable, not the $20 drinks you typically find in Vegas. The staff is all friendly, and we particularly love Will as the Manager on staff. Fun Hog is particularly fun when they have special events, like "Gear Night" the first Saturday of the month, an event encouraging people to come out in Leather or Athletic gear, but you can come as you are! Oink night (typically the third Saturday of the month) as a fundraiser for the Sin City Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence is also an awesome night with fun contest such as "Best Nipples", "Best Butt", etc. Definitely a fun place where you can just grab a drink and either hang out with friends or meet new ones!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Blake's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Blakes is a neighborhood "must visit" when in Atlanta
    We visited Atlanta for a wedding. Cody used to live in ATL and wanted to drop by Blakes for afternoon drinks. I was amazed at the friendliness as soon as I walked in the door! While Cody paid for parking I walked in to order drinks. Before I was two feet (literally) inside the door the bartender threw up his hand in a wave to me. What a friendly place, I thought. We had several drinks, very reasonably priced, and easily made friends with other guys while we were there. Great fun people, music videos playing thoughout he space, amd friendly service. A "must drop by" while in Atlanta!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Sammy's Wood Fired Pizza Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Friendly Service & a well-priced menu in SW Vegas
    I recently moved to Las Vegas and have temporary housing off of West Sahara. Every day when I drive to work I pass Sammy's. It's a short walk from my apartment so one night I tried it just wanting something simple and a nice drink. I am so glad I went in! The service was very good and my server gave me a warm welcome to both Sammy's and to Las Vegas. In addition to the flat bread pizza (the BBQ chicken pizza is GREAT!) there are other entrée items, pastas, and numerous salads. The BEST thing about the restaurant is the service! I went back about a week later, and the same server (whose name I am sorry to say I forget) waited on me. She remembered everything exactly from my previous visit down to the dirty martini I ordered and the espresso I had after dinner. I was amazed! Because this is a modestly priced dinner place. They are obviously doing things right to keep such a great staff! Check it out!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Starting Lineup Barbershop Over a year ago
    Loves it

    When you're just looking for an old-school Barber
    When you're looking for an old-school Barber Shop, the Starting Lineup Barbershop is a great choice. The staff is really nice, and they have 6 Barbers there to take care of you in great style. This isn't a salon; it's a true Barber Shop, something that's become hard to find other than the run of the mill Supercuts. Locally owned, this is much better and a nice Vegas local hangout. Definitely a good place to visit for a cut.

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Charlie's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun People and more than you'd think a Country Bar would be...
    Charlie's is one of the first bars that we went to when we moved to Vegas almost 4 years ago, and it remains one of my favorites for a place you can drop into and be with Friends and have a few drinks. They do line dancing lessons on Thursday night; and they have a "Men of Charlie's" contest once a month. But it's not only country. Wednesday nights are underwear nights where men in underwear drink free. Friday night has go-go dancers, and you can check out the special events on their web site. Our personal favorite is Leather Church, where the various leather clubs in Vegas gather the 2nd Sunday of each month. It's a fun social event with raffle prizes, bootblack on site, and $8 beer bust.

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Cobalt / 30 Degrees Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun Club with good energy
    Cobalt has become our favorite club in our first few months in D.C. It has a total of 3 levels including the restaurant. The mid level is a good chill and social place, with the DJ spinning, but not too loud so you can actually converse with friends. Upstairs is the main dance floor, and it gets going really well later in the evening (after 11). Music varies based on the DJ, but we always have fun. The bar staff is very friendly, prices including the cover are very reasonable. This is definitely a 21+ club to check out!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Town Danceboutique Over a year ago
    Hates it

    A pretty nice event space, but too much attitude from patrons
    Town could be a really nice space. The space itself is pretty good; the upstairs dance bar is nice - I'm disappointed that they BARELY use the dance lights; there are probably 75 lights on the dance floor and less than 20% of them in use??? The times we've been people (the patrons, I mean) have been very rude and pushy. Why people feel like they have to PUSH their way through a dance floor is boyond me....a light touch on the shoulder and people will gladly move for you for Christ's sake. None of this is the management's fault, though I'd suggest to them that they should put a few more people mingling out on the floor to keep it chill. Cobalt Bar is all over that, and it works great.

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Ugly Mugs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Friendly Cafe for Coffee & Breakfast Foods
    What's up with the name, you may wonder? Well, you just might get your drink served to you in an "ugly mug" (but they also have paper if you prefer). Friendly baristas, and they still actually MAKE the drinks, not just push a button like many coffee shops these days. The food is also good. But what we love most about it is that it's open and airy - they even have large commercial garage doors they can open when it's pleasant. So whether you're there with one friend or 15 (we have coffee gatherings there at least once every couple of months) you can find a place to enjoy your cup 'o joe. Of course complimentary Wi-fi as you'd expect. THIS is why we love East Nashville! So many places to check out within a mile of your home!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Bongo Java Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nashville's Local Coffee House
    Bongo Java is a local Nashville Brewer. East Nashville is the location that we usually visit because it's the most convenient to us, there are others as well. Not your local Starbucks - this is a more traditional coffee shop with a good variety of drinks and fresh roasted beans for sale as well. A fairly good selection of breakfast food items as well. Check them out if you're nearby!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Drifters Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good Barbeque IS Available in East Nashville
    Drifter's has been around for over a year now, and always has been a great place to grab a convenient Dinner and a couple of drinks. We hit Drifter's probably about once a month - the staff is super friendly! I'd stick with BBQ-like basics; the Pulled Pork and Ribs are great, the Brisket is good, as is the chicken. A few others like the catfish, not so much. Drinks are very reasonably priced, and they run mid-week happy hour specials. For a laid-back meal with friends it's definitely a place worth checking out!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Play Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Saturday nights are fun at PLAY - good DJs and friendly staff
    Nashville is quite lucky in some ways - while we don't have a "lot" of gay clubs to choose from, and PLAY is really the only one to go dancing at, we're so lucky to have three great DJ's on staff there. Lately DJ stretch has been a favorite of ours, creating some pretty amazing mixes live on the floor. DJ Ron and DJ Lenny are also great guys and you can have a lot of fun no matter which is spinning. It's an 18+ club so the crowd can vary a lot depending on the night - sometimes GREAT energy, sometimes just so. There's a drag show in the other room of the bar so Bachelorette parties tend to be there a lot. So more of a mixed space than an "all gay" club, but a fun place. The bar staff is friendly. Tell Dennis in the dance bar that Josh and Cody sent you!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Flipper's Hamburgers Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Gourmet Burgers and Broadened Options as well
    We went to Flippers for the first time with three of our San Francisco friends - what a pleasant surprise! They have a very broad assortment of burgers, of course - probably running around 15 different types - ranging from the American gourmet burger we all know to those such as the French Lover, with Feta and Sauteed Spinach (which was very good!). They also have broiled trout which two of our friends had and both loved, along with pasta dishes, etc. Not a full bar here, although they do have beer and wine. Prices were a good value for the quality, ranging from about $8 to $14. We would definitely recommend this to our friends.

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Maxfield's House of Caffiene Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Friendly Neighborhood Cafe for Coffee & Bagles
    We go to Maxfield's at least once on every visit to San Francisco. It's convenient (17th and Delores) while being just far enough from the beaten path to not be a big tourist destination. The coffee is great, as you would expect in San Francisco. They also have a suprisingly broad array of breakfast bagels (including a LOX Bagel which I love) and pretty broad assortment of bakery goods as well. Prices are a bit cheaper than what you'll find at those "other" places, another welcome sight. Free Wi-fi, of course, and very friendly staff. Be sure to ask for Steven - he's a great guy and a good friend - tell him Josh and Cody sent you!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Industry Saturdays @ Mighty Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Time, Good Space
    This is a relatively small club space, which makes it easy for the DJ to drive a great party environment. We went early on this trip because we really wanted to see the opening DJ, Craig Gaibler. He gave GREAT energy to the dance floor and got things off to a quicker start than you often see. We danced until after 4:00 AM at this event and would definitely come here again on our next trip Could use a bit more lighting, which they make up pretty well for with multiple video screens projecting high above the dance floor. A little heavy on the smoke machine the night but chilled on it a bit later in the night. The venue's a bit out of the way, but there were plenty of cabs when the event started winding down. There were multiple cabs lined up as we were leaving, so it couldn't have been any easier. Great event!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Powerhouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun Events - ChickenBear was a fun, campy event
    We went to the ChickenBear event this weekend and had a great time. We went with a group of four friends after the movie Sunday night and watched the ChickenBear Thanksgiving competition. This is a classic leather bar with a bit of a twist, because they had a fun show and then afterwards went back to good music. The gogo boy in his black jock strap wasn't too hard on the eyes, either. Neither were the bartenders - everyone very friendly and welcoming. A place that feels true to the Leather tradition without adding the attitude that can sometimes come with that.

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Harvey's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Place to Grab a Drink with New Friends
    Harvey's is a great little corner bar on the Castro. A place that you can grab drinks and perhaps a quick bite with friends, and also a great place to make new ones. We went to Harvey's this weekend and within 5 minutes made a new friend that was great to hang out with and just have casual conversation. No attitude, casual atmosphere. Not focused on the party, this is a great casual place to be with your friends.

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Nashville CARES Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Compassionate Counseling & Prevention for HIV/AIDS
    Nashville CARES is a caring and compassionate full service HIV/AIDS service organization. Nashville is fortunate to have such a wonderful organizaion locally.

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Lenny's Pizza #1 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Late Night and Priced Right!
    We arrived at 11:30 pm on a Friday Night, early by Manhattan time, but late for Brooklyn. Landing in our friends loft around the corner, and starving from a delayed flight, we walked to Lenny's Pizza. It is the the "pizza place" according to the locals, and one of many throughout the city. The streets were very comfortable for us, two not to intimidating guys, holding hands we walked down to and ordered our Pizza from the primarily Spanish speaking staff. They had multiple varieties of Pizza on display by the slice ( 2 bucks each) and could make us a Full Pie if we wanted to wait. Delivery ends at 11pm. Google shows the hours to close at 11pm, but that is the end of delivery pizza. They are open later for walk up "as long as they have customers." We chose from the 6 or 7 different flavors; they were warmed promptly and the steaming box of pizza was in our hands in under five minutes. 8 slices, 2 16 oz diet cokes for under 20 dollars at midnight in Brooklyn. How can that be bad! The flavor was actually really good. the sign says they make their own sauce and the dough is made daily. Who knew? I'd recommend it!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Island House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nicely Appointed Resort for Gay Men
    I've stayed at the Island House several times, and each time the resort just seems a bit nicer than the last. The rooms are a bit small, but Hell, who's going to Key West to stay in their room?? The rooms are nicely appointed though, and the daily houseman service keeps everything very fresh. The best part of the resort is the beautiful pool and dining area. And the entire property except the gym is clothing optional (those pesky health codes apply to the gym), and whether you're going to just relax or going to cruise you'll definitely find your place. In addition to the pool there are two large jacuzzis, one indoor, and a steam room, sauna, and the ever-popular video room (if you have to ask, you don't need to know). Only drawback is that it's a bit of a hike back to Duval, which is the center of everything in Key West. But still totally walkable.

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Cafe Coco Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The only 24-hour Coffee Shop and Cafe in Nashville
    Cafe Coco is awesome! It's conveniently located near Vanderbilt University in West End. What's awesome about Cafe Coco is that it's a LOCAL restaurant, not a Starbucks or another franchise (nothing wrong with those, it's just refreshing to find a local business that does it so well!). Whether you're going just to have a great latte or to have a full breakfast or lunch style meal, Cafe Coco is the perfect place to go, 24 hours a day! Definitely gay friendly, and in a great part of town to see and be seen. Only a couple of minutes from Centennial park, you could even get your meal to go and then go hang at this very popular park. The menu ranges from breakfast bagels, sandwiches, and traditional specials, and the lunch menu ranges from sandwiches and burgers to pasta and pizza as well as great Wraps and Salads. Check out their music nights. What??? Yes, you know Nashville is known as Music City, and Cafe Coco carries out that tradition by offering live music events. Definitely a place to check out!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Batter'd & Fried Boston Seafood Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Awesome Boston Seafood House with Amazing Sushi!
    We have been great fans of Batter'd & Fried since the month they opened. It's hard to believe that it's been about four years already! Batter'd & Fried is located in 5 points in East Nashville. It's a fairly small casual restaurant with the added benefit of outdoor seating for the pleasant months. While the Boston Seafood is great, that's actually not our favorite part of the restaurant - it's the sushi! It's amazing, because to walk in the place you'd not necessarily think that; it just looks like a casual fried seafood house...who would think to get the sushi instead? But you SHOULD. We've eaten in several of the best sushi restaurants (by reputation) in Nashville, and Batter'd & Fried definitely is right there with them in quality. And the staff is SO friendly and cool. Many of them know us by name. While we order different pieces when we go, we almost ALWAYS order the five points platter. There are five rolls on the platter and it's an excellent value, about $35. The head Sushi chef starts making one as soon as she sees us walk in the door. We walk up to STOP her on the rare occasion we're NOT going to order that. But that's Batter'd & Fried for you - they KNOW their locals and they always take great care of us!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Margot Cafe & Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Restaurant for casual but sophistcated dinin
    Cody and I enjoy Cafe Margot as a east Nashville favorite when we want a local dinner that is casual, yet offers sophistication. Cafe Margot is conveniently located in 5 points in East Nashville. The menu changes frequently as the chef prepares rotating specials that are elegantly simple, always savory. Specials may range from Rabbit to Scallops to vegetarian dishes. Average entree pricing runs in the area of $16 - $24; I think you will agree once you go that it's a great value for a quality menu. Cafe Margot has a full bar (of course) and a fairly extensive variety of wines ranging from about $30 and up to $200 (don't let that scare you - there are a lot of choices at quite reasonable prices). Whether you want a fairly basic Chardonnay or an elegant French wine you will find something to please. Check out www.margotcafe.com

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed McFadden's (Mondays) Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Nice Idea, but...
    Was a total snoozer the night we went. Maybe just a slow (dead) nihht...don"t kmow

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed 440 Castro Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Definitely one of our Favorites in SF
    We always end up at the 440 at least once on every trip to SF. It has enough SF "edge" to it to be a lot of fun. Can be very cruisy on a good night.

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Badlands Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Felt right at home here - will definitely be back
    We felt right at home at Badlands when we were in SF during Folsom last year. We went there on our last full night back in SF because we wanted to stay close to home that last night. I wish we'd gone earlier in the week we were there. The small dance floor was a lot of fun, and it had a neighborhood feel without being boring. It wasn't a crazy busy night - Monday night I think - but we had a great time. We will definitely check it out again the next time we're back in SF!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Faultline Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Sunday Beer Bust is nice
    The only negative I'd give the place is there seems to be more posing going on there than at the Eagle. I wish guys would just let go and have fun - we never really worry about the guys around us so much, it's more fun just to be social with a few people.

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Eagle LA Over a year ago
    Loves it

    We Love EagleLA! Always a fun place!
    Our favorite nights have been Oink! parties and Meat Rack. Both are great events! But even on a non-event night, it's just a really friendly place to hang out. I agree with another reviewer who said that it's better than Faultline in that there's not the attitude that Faultline seems to have when we've been there. If you're comfortable in a leather/uniform/levi environment this is a MUST CHECK OUT bar. You will be glad you went!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Black Eagle Over a year ago
    Hates it

    OK place to grab a drink, but not up to Eagle Name
    This was an OK place to grab a drink, but didn't really have any of the traditional Eagle vibe when we checked it out. That may have been because it was a pretty cool night, and the roof top is popular for smokers and most of the crowd seemed to be there. More of a S&M bar that night (Sit and Model or Stand and Model). When we go back to Toronto we'll be more likely to hit Fly. There was another COOL club on Church with a rollup front door, but for the life of me I can't remember the name. Guess we'll just have to find it again!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Fly Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Definitely must check it out
    You definitely must check it out, after all, it IS Babylon from Queer as Folk! Amazing though, not as big as you'd think from the TV show. The music was great and we had a lot of fun there. Check out the information online; the cover gets progressively more expensive as the night heats up. But it was very reasonable and we had a lot of fun while in Toronto.

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Abbey Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A nice casual place to hang out with Friends
    Abbey is a nice casual place to hang out with friends and have drinks, grab dinner, etc. The music is good and it has nice energy. We would enjoy it more if it had a dance floor for later in the evening, but it's definitely a great place to check out. Food is reasonable and good, something you don't always find when you travel and have "gay dining".

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Woofs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Place to See the Game - or the Boys
    Woofs is awesome, and one of the things that we love about Atlanta. A Gay Sports Bar? Something that only a city the size of Atlanta or larger can really deliver. Woofs is a fun place where you can grab a bite to eat, and the food is GOOD, not "badly done bar food" like you often see. The staff is friendly, and yeah, you can catch the games or play pool while you're there. Fun for grabbing a beer or two or for spending the evening.

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Heretic Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Heretic Bar-little leather edginess-great Dancing!
    We love the Heretic, though we live in Nashville and don't get to go but a few times a year. Heretic has maintained just enough of it's leather edginess to be fun without scaring away the more "Polo and Penny-Loafer" crowd (do people really wear those???). The resident DJ is great and plays a solid mix while reacting to what the dance floor is craving that night. Heretic is a definite "not to miss" when you visit Atlanta!

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Tribe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hot video bar. A place you'll love...
    The coolest thing about Tribe? It's a little bit edgy on a busy night, lots of energy with people hanging out and enjoying the great video mixes, and some dancing as well [though there's no "official" dance floor :( ]. But with all that, it's a place you'd be comfortable taking Mom for a drink when she's visiting town (well, if your Mom's cool). If you've never been, Wednesday night is a great time to check it out. It's an after-work destination on Wednesdays! Friday and Saturday nights are great as well.

  • JoshandCody
    JoshandCody reviewed Lipstick Lounge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Neighborhood Bar - Friends, Drinks, and Food
    We love Lipstick Lounge. Of course we're possibly a bit biased...they're our neighbors! But really - the think that we love about Lipstick Lounge is that everyone is welcome there. It's a very friendly place to go even on weeknights. Grab a great sandwich (the kitchen's not your typical "bar" kitchen - way better than that!), have a few drinks, and hang out with new friends. Live performances some nights, Karoke other nights. A great place to enjoy being yourself!