Fred_Head

52M. I am into it.

Los Angeles, California
Joined May 2009
5 Followers

Following 0 people

27 Loved Places

Listings

  • Blake's On The Park Midtown, Atlanta
  • Woofs Sports Bar Midtown, Atlanta
  • Cell Block Boystown, Chicago

Events

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Mojo's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    This is what a bar should be
    Groping, smoking, backed-up toilets, weird promotional nights, flaky homeless people, cheap drinks, hot bartenders, pool tables, bad music, nasty and outdated furnishings, scary neighborhood, WHAT THE HELL MORE DO YOU WANT? This is one of the last great bars in the country. GO.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Hayloft Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Some HOT men
    You know, I am not really a "bear" person. I am also not a leather person. But this place was really packed with both and there were some hot men there. I was dragged there by friends when I was on a business trip and it was pretty nice all around. There is also one bartender there who is SMOKING hot.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Pronto! Over a year ago
    Hates it

    A bunch of people that need to get over themselves
    My friends dragged me here and we barely stayed five minutes. I ordered a drink that cost twice what it should and there were attitudinal stares all around.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Woodshed Lounge Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Scary
    The Brass Rail was an old divein Charlotte, but it had character and was sort of fun. Plus they had a great jukebox and HOT men. This place tries to carry on the tradition, but it is horrible. The place needs work, you might get a disease on the patio, the drinks are EXPENSIVE, and of course... ATTITUDE. There are a bunch of stuck-up queens EVERYWHERE you look. No thanks.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Sidelines Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Nice place but needs some serious MEN
    Like Woofs in Atlanta, this place tries hard to be a sports bar, but the twink crowd makes it very attitudinal. Drop the attitudes, please. And remodel the bathrooms.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Round-Up Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A real fun time, bring a hat
    I dont know if this place is as laid back as everyone says it is. There is definitely a little cowboy attitude in there, and there are far more Sue Ellens than there are JR's in this place. BUT. Don't let that stop you from having a real good time at one of the best cowboy bars around. It is amazing how long they have been going at it with so many different changes around them. Just one of the best bars period and always a great time.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Cell Block Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Once upon a time, it rocked
    But that was back before bars had to try harder. Maybe there are just too many bars in Boys Town offering the same thing? Maybe free beer night? I dont know but not many people were in here the night we went. At least it's clean which is more than we can say for Touche.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Charlie's Chicago Over a year ago
    Hates it

    What crowd?
    I guess the Chicago enthusiasm for cowboys has worn off because neither of the other reviews talking about mobs of people applies anymore. Oh well, things change.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed The North End Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Casual fun good time
    I really like this place. One of the bartenders is always smiling. They have games in TV and not music playing over them - like a real sports bar should. People with attitudes tend to avoid this place, which is a good thing. It tends to get a good crowd during the summer with Cubs games. A fun night and good times.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Jungle Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not a wild mustang in sight
    Once upon a time, there was Hoedowns, and everything was a-ok. Cowboys from all over the South would come there every weekend. Then some major drama happened (typical Atlanta) and we get this place? I'm still waiting for someone to do a country and western bar RIGHT (Remington's does, Hoedowns was close). Until then, take your chances at 3LC. At least they have hot bartenders.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Sidewinders Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    I think I saw Pablo Escobar
    There was so much snow falling in the bathroom, I thought I was in upstate New York. Other than that, a decent sleazy dive in a city with very few options. You'll be heading home early.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Blake's On The Park Over a year ago
    Hates it

    It is what it is
    If you're expecting rough and rugged, go somewhere else. But what you get here makes JRs in DC look like the Eagle. This is attitude with a capital A - and they show it, baby. So if you're wanting cheap drinks, hole-in-the-wall atmosphere, trolls, old music, and bad parking - then you better go somewhere else.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Woofs Sports Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    A great place that went downhill FAST
    You can't go wrong with sports on TV, jerseys on the walls, cheap drinks and good food, and convenient location, right? Well despite all those great things, this place is the worst for attitudes and stuck-up cliques like you have never seen. They are also in need of a serious makeover, I heard they were moving so they must have quit cleaning the place two years ago in expectation of that. True story: I found a fingernail in my food, which says quite alot on many levels.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Atlanta Eagle Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Twink Nation inside, Somalia or Bosnia outside
    When you park your car (a mile away) you're greeted by transients and psychos. Then you go inside and you get... transients and psychos. Except these are wearing Dolce and Gabbana and drink mixed drinks. The only leather you'll see is either in the store in the basement, or the leather holsters the cops wear when they show up on the corner every 5 minutes to arrest a crack dealer. Didn't this place used to be a bear/leather bar? Still taking bets on how much longer this place can stay open before it collapses from disrepair.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Leather Stallion Saloon Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Everything wrong with bars today, under 1 roof
    In the internet age, it's not enough to simply say "we're the oldest" etc. You have to REMODEL. Change. Clean up. Add things. Go with the changing times. This place is obviously content on not having cleaned, remodeled, or changed one bit since oh about 1988. The conditions are nasty. The food is disgusting. The drinks are pricey. The people are sorta unfriendly. If this place put a weekend of elbow grease and enthusiasm into it, I'd want to go back there - but I won't ever visit this place again.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Flex Nightclub & Bar Raleigh Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun time, but needs a makeover
    Like most Southern bars, you're inside 5 minutes and you think it's 1990. Same old nasty decor, bad old-school music (Vogue in 2009?? Really), and semi-friendly local staff. They do have pool tables and some nice hard to find beers. But the best thing is the MEN. Good god almighty the night we went was UNBELIEVABLE. Highly recommended, just don't touch anything.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed JJ's Clubhouse & Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    An unusual place - depends when you go
    I used to like this bar. It still is pretty cool, but only on event nights. I have been there a few times and was disappointed. They could use a little bit of a makeover. If you like chilling out and having a beer and don't care about atmosphere, then here you go. The people are pretty friendly.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Atomic Cowboy Over a year ago
    Loves it

    This place ROCKS
    Best live music in St Louis. Incredible food. Friendly service. AMAZING beer selection. Funky atmosphere. I loved it!

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed DC Eagle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    This is THE Eagle. Accept no substitute.
    Compared to other Eagles (Charlotte's is like the Milan Fashion Show, and Atlanta's is like Bosnia outside), this one needs no introduction. Old school sweat and leather. Cruisy hunks. Cowboys. Shirtless bears. Gropes and grabs. Almost pitch-blackness upstairs. Sports on TV downstairs (year round the best place to watch a game in DC). Put it this way - if those walls could talk. Almost 15+ years and I still think it's hands-down the best leather bar on the east coast.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed JR's Bar & Grill Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Oh please. Like you need to ask.
    Everyone in the country has at least HEARD of the DC JR's. When you go in there, it's like entering the hot zone of airborne Gay Attitude Virus. Better wear a mask and gloves. Also, if you're going to pay premium prices for drinks, at least make them properly. The whole bar is 3-4 guys standing in circles texting each other with a sad, outdated video and dance music collection, and outfits from the mall. Avoid.

  • Fred_Head
    Fred_Head reviewed Green Lantern Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Going downhill faster than my ex's waistline
    Let me tell you, years ago you would come in here and see the finest array of muscle hunks and bears with ZERO attitude and always a friendly smile. Now it is all stand-and-model Discover-card hoes with fruit drinks and their little clique games. The upstairs is barely even a crowd anymore. This is sadly one of the bars that couldn't meet the challenge of the internet era and I'm afraid it's going downhill fast. They need a complete makeover and a serious remodeling. Then get some real men again.