DTracer

Dan Tracer, 31M.

San Francisco, California
Joined Apr 2009
221 Followers 163 Following

72 Loved Places

Listings

  • Moby Dick The Castro, San Francisco
  • El Rio The Mission, San Francisco
  • Aunt Charlie's Lounge Tendernob, San Francisco
  • The Stud SOMA, San Francisco
  • Wild Side West Bernal Heights, San Francisco
  • Piranha Boutique Nightclub Paradise Fruit Loop, Las Vegas

Cities

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed The Stud 2 weeks ago
    Loves it

    For a moment it looked like SF was about to lose this piece of vital queer history, but the Stud is back!

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Bitchy Butch @ Biberium 1 year ago
    Hates it

    closed
    This party is no more.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Hotel Cortez Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A head above the rest...
    ...like, an actual head above the rest. You'll know what I mean when you get there, but fair warning: If you're squeamish around the sight of blood (or body parts, or the undead), then you might want to check out the Embassy Suites down the street. But if curiosity gets the best of you, you'll have one hell of a vacation story to tell. That is, if you make it out alive.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Blue60 Guest House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Comfy, low-key sophistication
    Josh was the absolute best host during our recent trip to New Orleans, and his Blue60 is a gem. From inspiring strolls around the stunning Marigny neighborhood to some of the best food I've ever had, this was the perfect spot to call home away from home. Um, and did I mention that it's literally across the street from <a href="http://neworleans.gaycities.com/bars/386-the-phoenix-bar">The Phoenix</a>. Perfection.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Pony Over a year ago
    Loves it

    good crowd, great patio
    On a warm summer night, the patio fills up and is a lovely place to hang out. The bar has an alternative feel but seems to me to be welcoming of all types and ages. I seem to wind up here every time I'm in Seattle. Not complaining.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Element Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Had a great time
    Was in Pittsburgh for a few nights and decided to check out Spin--glad I did! The space is fun and interesting, and the crowd was easy on the eyes :) I'll definitely return when I'm in the area again.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Coffee Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great food, awesome vibe
    Coffee bar's atmosphere is perfect whether you're meeting a few friends for lunch or going solo to get some work done distraction-free. The salads/sandwiches are all delicious--I recommend the Cobb salad, one of the best I've ever had!

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Hash House A Go-Go Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Enormous portions to soak up an enormous hangover
    For what it is (giant almost novelty portions), this place is pretty great. Not too pricey too, which is a though thing to say for a restaurant on the Strip. Perfect after a late night of taking in the local culture.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Jorge's Tex Mex Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun atmosphere, great margaritas!
    If it's nice out be sure to snag a table on the big front patio. The ambiance is really nice and sometimes there is live music. Great spot for a big group.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Piranha Boutique Nightclub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Thursday night hit
    Piranha was a blast on a recent Thursday. We got there pretty late, but the crowd was still hoppin' and the drinks were definitely still flowing. Great venue to work up a sweat on the dance floor then chill in one the comfy booths. Staff was awesome too--super friendly and welcoming. Will definitely pay them another visit the next time I'm in Vegas!

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Dottie's True Blue Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    An oasis in the Tenderloin
    I give Dottie's food 13 stars out of 5. I'd put it in my top three breakfasts ever. It's in a bit of a dicey part of town, but the bums are mostly harmless in the morning. I take off one star for the wait--it's out of control. If you don't want to stand in a two hour line on the weekends, go elsewhere.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Boogaloos Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Can't go wrong
    Boogaloos is a Mission hipster breeding ground, and on a warm Sunday morning you can expect to wait quite a while. The food is great--hangover cure heaven--and the prices are very low. I recommend the Desayuno Tipico: biscuits and veggie gravy...nom nom.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed John's of Bleecker Street Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best pizza in NY
    Every time I travel to NY, John's on Bleecker is on my to-do list at least twice. I've been going since I was a kid so I'm sure nostalgia has some hand, but it really is the best. I suggest keeping it simple (cheese pie and a pitcher), and don't even think about not chomping down that last slice. My boyfriend even carved our names in one of the booths :)

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Pizzeria Mozza Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Butterscotch pudding? yes please...
    Can't recommend this place enough. Pizza is to die for, the spicy muscles appetizer is a godsend, and yes, the butterscotch pudding is a dessert that must be experienced. Try going on the early side (6-6:30 or so) if you don't want to wait for a table.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Yerba Buena Center for the Arts Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Be sure to walk behind the waterfall
    The park here is one of those perfect SF spots. It's a great spot to chill when you're hopping around downtown. You can park it on the grass across the street from MOMA, or check out Samovar, an awesome tea house overlooking everything.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Chow Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great atmosphere and yummy food
    I've noticed a pattern in a lot of "gay restaurants" where the food is overpriced and sub par. Chow is the perfect exception--you won't go broke, the menu is varied enough to satisfy any taste, and the ambiance is warm and cozy.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Wild Side West Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Check out the patio
    Wild Side is a totally casual, welcoming neighborhood bar. I've had only pleasant interactions with both bartenders and other patrons here. Everyone is there to relax, play a game of pool, or sip on a drink in the gorrrrgeous back patio (it is not to be missed!). Yes, it's mostly ladies and curves to the older side of the spectrum, but you can't help but find interesting conversation here.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed El Rio Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cheap drinks and shuffleboard!
    This is one of the best hangouts in the city. The back patio is perfect for a sunny afternoon, and for some reason I can't stay away from the shuffleboard after a few drinks. Usually a mixed crowd, so don't be shocked to see straights.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Will Rogers Beach Over a year ago
    Hates it

    If you must...
    This beach leaves much to be desired. If you drive a bit north into Malibu you'll find much nicer spots, but no gay ones that I know of. Will Rogers at least has that. If you're looking for guys in speedos, this is the spot. For actual surf and good swimming, head elsewhere.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Blackbird Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great addition to Castro scene
    I was here on Friday night not expecting much, but wound up really impressed. This isn't the typical Castro bar - no thumpa-thumpa bass, no go-go boys. Instead you'll find a cool and different atmosphere (subdued and stylish) and great drinks. The crowd was mixed--some older, mostly younger--and good looking!

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Dolores Park Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Breathtaking
    This is one of my favorite spots in SF. Yesterday the SF Orchestra had a huge stage set up, and they played a free concert. It was magical to bask in the sun while listening to a live professional orchestra. Regardless of the music though, the gay area is always a blast when its nice out.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Bronx Pizza Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best slice in SD
    I used to go to Bronx for a slice (or two or three) every few weeks when I lived in SD. It's a total NY vibe there - no frills - just good, quality pies.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Vivace Espresso Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    For serious coffee drinkers
    I went to Vivace on a recent trip to Seattle after hearing about it from some real coffee addicts. Their advice payed off - this is some of the best coffee (outside of SF of course :] ) I've ever had. And super cute guys there!

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Americana Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Lovely
    After reviewing the menus up and down Broadway, we finally chose Table 219. I had the chicken sandwich with pesto and it was totally delicious, and my bf's Gorgonzola marmalade sandwich was good too (but too much marmalade). Also, the beer we ordered had waaay too much head (never thought I'd say that!) but the staff was super nice when we commented about it and filled the glass.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Tres Agaves Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Amazing cocktails
    This place really knows their tequila. I had a Mexican 75 - a play on the French 75. 100% agave tequila, lime juice, agave nectar, and champagne -- YUM!

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed La Jolla Playhouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best theater in SD
    I'm a bit biased - the Playhouse is truly near and dear to my heart. I've been going since I was a kid, and participated in their summer conservatory where I met people who I am still in touch with to this day. I've seen some of the best theater of my life here (I Am My Own Wife, 700 Sundays, The Laramie Project, etc.), oftentimes before a production reaches Broadway.

  • DTracer
    DTracer reviewed Black's Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A must visit for SD
    This is a truly stunning spot. If you aren't bothered by the clothing optional mentality, a visit to Black's will give you the best San Diego has to offer. Just drive along the dirt road as far as you can, and you'll find the somewhat sketchy path leading down to the coast. Beautiful sweeping views accompany your trek down, and a flock of gay sunbathers await you at the bottom.