Bos Guy, 47M. I have varied interests but few hobbies. If time and money were plenty, I would spend my time traveling and dining. If you have a sense of humor and like to laugh we would probably get along.

Boston, Massachusetts
Joined Dec 2009
110 Followers 58 Following

87 Loved Places

Listings

  • Badlands The Castro, San Francisco
  • Club Cafe Back Bay, Boston
  • Eagle South End, Boston
  • The Bourbon Pub and Parade French Quarter, New Orleans
  • Oz French Quarter, New Orleans

Cities

  • Rio de Janeiro 91 Listings
  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Trophy Room Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Formerly Fritz - Now Restaurant & Bar
    While the Rainbow Flag no longer flies outside, the clientele of this sports bar & restaurant remains decidedly gay. This is a well designed space great for a date or grabbing a drink and watching a game.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Area Four Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hip Restaurant & Cafe near MIT in Kendall Square
    Area Four is a casual restaurant with a menu of small bites meant to share, a few main plates and several pizzas. The menu changes daily since the restaurant is committed to serving locally grown produce and products. The price point is very reasonable.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed W Fort Lauderdale Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Mixed feelings
    The W-FTL is the largest W property I think I've stayed at and it is well situated a few blocks from the gay beach with many rooms providing nice views of the ocean. If you are not a 'beach person' the hotel also has a beautiful pool with great views of the water. It may be one of the best pools in FTL, although I'm not familiar enough with the town to know for sure. For a relatively new property I was surprised by the amount of noise you could hear in the hallway and the lack of amenities that I am accustomed to - for example the radio / alarm clock in the room did not have a docking station for my iPod and everyone in our party (there were 9 of us travelling) agreed the beds were not that comfortable. Note: internet is not free in your room, but it is free in the hotel lobby and bar.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed New York Marriott Marquis Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not a fan
    Really do not care for this hotel which is chaotic and run down. If you are determined to stay in or near Times Square and want to stay at a Marriott property, the Renaissance NY Times Square is much less hectic and has a bar with a million dollar view of Times Square.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Cafe Heaven Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cute eatery best for breakfast or brunch
    This centrally located and tiny cafe serves up pretty good food and is worth checking out if there isn't a line. People are packed into this tiny joint like sardines, so be prepared for a bit of jostling. On the plus side, its great for eavesdropping. Breakfast will run you approx. $12.00 per person.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Towne Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Popular BackBay Restaurant
    Located in BackBay this is a good option if you are staying at one of the hotels near the Prudential Mall / Hynes Convention Center. Dinner will run ~$50.00 / person for a drink, app and main course (not including tip). If you go, make reservations and insist on a seat upstairs; preferably overlooking Boylston Street otherwise you'll be shouting over all the noise from the bar and jostled throughout your meal.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Trois Cent Onze Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Rustic French Restaurant in Old San Juan
    If you are in Old San Juan, I would suggest checking out this restaurant. The menu, service and food were all quite good; actually even better than expected when you consider what a tourist trap this neighborhood is. Dinner for two (2 apps & entrees) not including drink, tax or tip will run about $75.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed BudaTai Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Upscale Latin-influenced Asian Restaurant
    Dinner for two consistently costs me 100.00+ but I really enjoy this restaurant which also has a nice second story patio to dine outside if you like. This restaurant is approx 2 blocks from La Concha Hotel.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed il Postino Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good Italian Restaurant in Condado N'hood
    This restaurant is just 1 block from La Concha hotel in the Condado. It serves huge breakfast portions on Saturday & Sunday morning and delicious pastas for lunch and dinner. The menu also included a few sandwiches and pizzas which I did not try. Food is reasonably priced and worth trying.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Mistral Over a year ago
    Loves it

    One of Boston's best restaurants
    Power diners and foodies take note of this Boston resturant. This is a great place if you want to plan a special night. Service is consistently superb, dinner is always delicious and the decor is great.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed South Street Diner Over a year ago
    Loves it

    24 Hour Diner in Leather District
    Located near South Station, this tiny little diner is a good place to grab a bite. By the end of the night the place is definitely not the cleanest place, but service is quick and if you like diner food - you'll like the menu.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Trattoria di Monica Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Delicious Italian in Boston's North End
    Many visitors plan a dinner in Boston's Italian neighborhood, the North End. Consider visiting Monica's a lovely restaurant w/ a traditional Italian menu. Drinks / Apps / Dinner Main will run $40-50 w/ tip per person.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Loews Boston Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great location and good hotel for gay travellers
    Just blocks from some of Boston's most popular gay bars and many restaurants. The central location makes this place definitely worth looking into. Was formerly Jury's Boston Hotel.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed W Atlanta - Midtown Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great location for work and play
    I was at this hotel in August 2010 and thought is was nicely situated for both work and play. The downstairs bar is a bit odd early in the evening, but became more mixed and better looking as the evening progressed.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Local 186 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice restaurant with excellent patio dining
    Forget Bubula's (which oddly is owned by the same group that runs Enzo's). For just a couple dollars more you can get better food, better service and have the same exact view since its directly across the street from B's....Sit street side and enjoy the alfresco dining.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Aqua Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Out door patio bar in center of town
    New to Ptown the summer of 2010. This is a great place to grab a drink in the afternoon or early evening with views of Ptown harbor. Located in the center of town.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Relish Bakery and Sandwich Shop Over a year ago
    Loves it

    West End sandwhich shop
    This place has delicious desserts and excellent food to take on the go or bring back home. Its deep in the West End -- past the bend on Commercial Street, but worth the visit.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Bubala's By The Bay Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not a fan of the food or service - its all about the location
    Food is borderline, prices are not in line with either the meals or the service. This place thrives because of its patio and location. Move on or adjust your expectations.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Ross' Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good food with a nice view
    Request a seat out on the back balcony or see if you can face the harbor while you grab a bite. I prefer lunch over dinner at Ross'.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Tremont 647 & Sister Sorel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great place to meet up w/ friends
    These two eateries share a common kitchen and are essentially the same place, but you can't go wrong whichever side you are on. Recently they have started $2 Taco Tuesdays which gets quite a crowd, but generally speaking its busiest Thursdays - Saturday nights.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Joe Coffee & Espresso Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good coffee shop in Ptown
    Joe's has moved into new digs on Commercial Street that has more space to relax and enjoy a good cup of coffee. They have a great patio and indorr seating as well. This is a good place to relax or grab breakfast. Menu includes things like muffins, bagels, cookies, etc...

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Big Daddy's Burritos Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Quick, cheap and delicious place to grab lunch
    Big Daddy's is in the FoodCourt on Commercial Street and is my preferred place to grab a quick lunch when in Ptown. It is consistently good and has a cool menu with some tastey burrito options. Burrito + soda will run you $8-$10.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Palace Hotel San Francisco Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Old world charm and historic hotel
    Well situated just outside Union Square on the corner of Market and New Montgomery Streets. This historic hotel has sizeable rooms and is a beautiful property worth visiting. The hotel is a quick drive to the Castro and is near all the great shopping, the water, and the MOMA SF.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Badlands Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Castro Mainstay
    On my trips to SF I almost always end up paying a visit to this friendly bar. I rarely go to the tiny dance floor in the backroom, but Ido appreciate the good music and freindly-vibe of this place.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed W Boston Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The sleek style you would expect from a W Hotel
    The W Hotel Boston is located in the heart of the city's theater district and close to several of the city's gay bars. The hotel is a typical W with all the amenities you would expect. If you like W Hotels - you'll enjoy this property. The hotel bar is more interesting earlier in the evenings as people stop by after work or before shows.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Ilex Floral Designs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Distinctive florist with an eye for design
    If you happen to visit Boston for a romantic get away or celebration you may have need for flowers. Winston Florist is well known and respected and will never disapoint but neither will this slightly less known florist that is perfect for anyone who loves to receive flowers.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Ristorante Fiore Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Dine al fresco from Fiore's patio or roofdeck
    The North End is hardly a gay-neighborhood but many who visit want to check out our "Little Italy". If you would like to have a lunch or dinner outside in the North End, I would recommend making reservations at Ristorante Fiore.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Fleux Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Funky housewares shop in Le Marais
    Looking for something unique to bring home? Check out this store which is in the heart of the Marais and in two locations practically across from each other. Interestingly both shops carry different merchandise so check out both storefronts.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Prince de Galles Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Starwood property lives up to "luxury collection"
    This is a beautiful hotel in the 8th district, but it is approximately a 10 euro cab fare to Le Marais (the gay neighborhood in Paris). If you want to splurge on luxury this address and hotel is a good option.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Sorza Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cute Italian Restaurant on Ile Ste. Louis
    This is a tiny restaurant located approximately half way down rue saint louis l'ile. Good pastas and risottos.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed 4pat Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hip, casual hole in the wall worth checking out
    This tiny restaurant hosts an excellent brunch filled with eccentricities that make the experience equal parts funny + good. The clientele is predominantly gay men (and their girlfriends). Cheesy diva music (a la Mariah Carey) plays while you eat delicious breads, sip fresh OJ through baby bottles and drink coffee from breakfast bowls. A platter of hams and eggs follow all for 15 euro each.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Brasserie Bofinger Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Paris' oldest brasserie deserves a visit
    Located near the Bastille, the restaurant is located in a charming and centrally located neighborhood. Everyone should visit a brasserie for at least one meal in Paris so if this is nearby, check it out. Dinner for 2: wine/ starter/ main = 110 euros.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Cox Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Paris' most popular gay bar in Le Marais
    As I was told repeatedly by Parisians, this is the most popular of bars. However, unless you smoke or stand outside with the smokers - the inside of the bar is going to look a lot less crowded and surprisingly, older.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Oz Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great place to dance with friends
    This place was a bit more smokey than I would have liked, but it seemed to be where everyone went when dancing was involved. It is easily accessible on the corner of Bourbon and St. Ann.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed The Bourbon Pub and Parade Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun and friendly
    Located just across from Oz on the corner of Bourbon and St. Ann this was my preferred bar. I think I liked it more than the others because 1) It was crowded 2) with all the doors that open to the street the smoking seemed to bother me less. Living in Boston - I'm no longer use to the smokey bar scene.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Muriel's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fine contemporary dining
    The restaurant is conveniently located in the French Quarter's Jackson Square. The menu features New Orleans favorites alongside some contemmporary twists. For your best value, try the fix-prixe menu (three courses for 29.95).

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Coppa Enoteca Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Italian Tapas in the South End
    Coppa opened in January 2010 in what was formerly "The Dish". This tiny little restaurant is dedicated to Iatlian food but comes out in small portions intended to be shared. I tried about a half dozen items and loved all but the cauliflower. In the warmer months they will have street-side dining which will roughly double their seating capacity. Our dinner (which included 2 bottles of wine) came to $55/person.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Lekker Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Unique home furnishings
    I love to buy unique housewarming gifts at this one-of-a-kind shop on Washington Street. In close proximity to a handful of other unique gift shop is a great place to check out.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed The South End Buttery Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Neighborhood gem
    Known as "The Buttery", this coffee shop / restaurant is busiest on weekends, but is a great place to stop anytime of day for anything from a coffee to a meal if you are in the south end.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Museum of Fine Arts, Boston Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Boston's largest fine arts museum
    When visiting Boston if the weather is less than desireable this is a great place to spend an afternoon or evening. The museum's collection of fine arts, ancient Egyptian crafts and colonial furnishings are best viewed here. Just beware of the steep admission charge. It is the only thing about this museum which truly bothers me.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Calderwood Pavilion at The BCA Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Theater House in the South End
    Multiple theater companies use the Calderwood Pavilion even though it is owned by the Huntington Theater. This is a great local theater house that is always showing a variety of performances. Visiting Boston? Get tickets to a show here and then go out for dinner in the n'hood. It will be a great time.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Orinoco Over a year ago
    Loves it

    casual Venezualian eatery
    This cute little restaurant is a great date place or somewhere to catch up with friends. This place is neither fancy nor expensive and the menu differs enough to make you want to try half the items whether it is for brunch or dinner. In the warmer months, try to score a seat outside.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Cathedral Station Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Once upon a time...
    this was one of the only restaurants in SoWa. Now there are several w/in blocks of this place. And yes they have free parking and outdoor patios too. Go some place else - I can guarantee you will enjoy the "some place else" more.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed La Concha Renaissance Resort Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Love La Concha
    I agree with the previous reviewer that this is among the best places to stay in San Juan. The hotel is top notch, the beach beautiful and the amenities the best I saw (nice pool, club and workout room). Steps from the property are great restaurant choices. Would defnitely recommend this and will return.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed First Fridays (South End) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Art galleries in south end open to public
    Organized and hosted by the SoWa Artist Guild - the first Friday of each month artists open their studios and welcome the public to view their work. Located at 450 Harrison Avenue in the heart of the South End the event runs from 5:00 - 9:00pm and during warmer months draws several hundred to a few thousand art lovers. Its a perfect way to start a weekend - cap off the visit by having dinner at a restaurant in the neighborhood.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Ramrod Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Prefer the downstairs @ Ramrod
    Downstairs @ Ramrod is not really a leather bar although still technically part of Ramrod; guys intermingle from Machine the disco portion of the club and is filled with pool tables. I like hanging out here with a beer and people watching on Friday nights.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Otto's Enoteca Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Pizzeria, wine bar and more in East Village
    Fun, energetic restaurant that is surprisingly larger than it appears from the street. Up front has a standing room only wine bar but the restaurant is deceptively large and includes a large Italian menu. Better to go with friends than for a romantic evening together.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Harvard Fogg Museum Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Harvard's art museum
    Visting Boston in the winter or if the weather is not cooperating? Check out Harvard's fine art museum - its like no other university collection I've ever seen and definitely worth the visit.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed AIDS Action Committee Over a year ago
    Loves it

    AIDS Service Organization
    AAC has recently moved and is now located in Boston's Jamaica Plain neighborhood @ 75 Amory Street. AAC hosts several fun events each year. In March check out "Taste of the South End" and the first Sunday in June is usually Boston's AIDS walk.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Uniform Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Men's casual atelier
    Located in the Atelier 505 building on Tremont, Uniform always has great selection of t-shirts, jeans and shoes. If you are in town and want to check out a local mens store in the South End - this is worth checking out.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Boston Sports Club Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Excellent neighborhood gym
    This is a relatively new gym and has a lot of perks that make it a great place to work out. The cardio area has high ceilings w/ lots of natural light, good size free weights section, nice pool and free parking to boot.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Gaslight Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great for brunch or dinner
    Like Rocca this restaurant has free parking and a nice outdoor option to enjoy in good weather. I prefer making a reservation for a booth if I'm eating inside and I consistently order the beet salad as a starter which has never disapointed. This restaurant is part of the Aquitaine Group which has several restaurants in the South End all worth visiting.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Giacomo's Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Comfort Italian - no frills and not expensive
    Similar to its sister restaurant in the North End this is a solid Italian cuisine restaurant that consistently delivers. It is a no frills sort of place so if you want something more quiet or comfortable look elsewhere.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed dbar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun local gay bar
    Really enjoy this bar in Boston's neighborhood, Dorchester. Plan on needing a cab or driving. The bar also gets a great crowd each Tuesday night for "Show Tune Tuesdays", which starts at 9pm.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Eagle Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not a fan
    This bar only gets busy after 1:00am when many guys head to the Eagle for one last drink before closing at 2:00am. This bar is also often referred to as the "dirty bird" for both the general state of disrepair / lack of cleaning and the fact that many head there for their last chance to hook up for the night.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Fenway Park Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great tour for sports buffs
    Lasts about one hour and includes a guided walking tour around the ballpark by an official Fenway Park tour guide. The park is as much a part of Boston as any museum and worth the trip if the weather is good and the Red Sox are out of town.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Freedom Trail Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A must for Revolutionary War history buffs
    This is a great way to see Boston in good weather. The freedom trail begins down by the Boston Common and ends at Bunker Hill in Charlestown. I enjoy throwing in some of my favorite pubs when taking friends on this walk / tour.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Excellent museum - very worth seeing
    The Gardner Museum has remained essentially unchanged since its founder's death in 1924. The three floors of galleries surround a garden courtyard blooming with life in all seasons. The museum was once the home of Isabella Stewart Gardner a wealthy patron of the arts who collected art from around the world and displays it beautifully in what was once her home in Boston's Fen way neighborhood. You can park next door at the Museum of Fine Arts parking lot and walk the two blocks to the museum. It is one of my favorite museums in Boston.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Institute of Contemporary Art Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Boston's Contemporary Art Museum
    Boston's only contemporary art museum is located on the waterfront in the Seaport District. The museum is small, but worth the visit if you enjoy modern art.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Wave (at Crown & Anchor) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun video bar
    Great place to meet and start your evening. Fun crowd, good music and close to everything. At end of evening this place (like everywhere else in Ptown) gets cruisy.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Boatslip Resort Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best tea dance and a great place to catch some sun
    I prefer sunning myself here by day and in the afternoon returning for Tea. Price for admission depends on the day (week / weekday) and how busy that week is when you go. It is stil the best Tea Dance I've been.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Purgatory (at Gifford House) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Check it out on underwear night (in season)
    Fun bar and a nice place to check out that is different from most of the bars on Ptown in that it is below ground and does not have an outside section to it.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Atlantic House Dance Club (A-House) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Yes, this is my favorite too.
    I can't add anything that has not already been written in reviews below, but I figured I'd validate the comments that this is a fun, friendly club to listen to great music.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Ipanema Plaza Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The place to stay if your gay
    Not luxury (as the two other reviews indicate), but this is the best you'll get (for now - maybe with the Olympics things will change). It is comfortable if not plush and the location can not be beat. Get a room with a terrace (I believe on the 4th floor). It will make a difference.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Ipanema Farme de Amoedo Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Favorite location in Rio
    Ipanema Beach (praia) #9 is where they gay men congregate. This is close to Ipanema Plaza Hotel where many gay Europeans & Americans stay. You can purchase (cheaply) anything you need while at the beach (chair, umbrella, food, beer, etc). Come w/ your swimsuit, flip flops, sun lotion and money so you can blend in.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed The Week Over a year ago
    Hates it

    A poor imitation of the orginal in Sao Paolo
    The title says it all...

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Club Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The bar gay Bostonians love to trash
    This is Boston's busiest gay bar for better or worse. I've had great nights and awful nights here, but it is mostly what you make of it. My favorite feature: texting messages on the video screens in the backroom. Adds a lot of fun to the evening.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Sydney Harbour Marriott Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Steps to Oxford Street & Gay Friendly
    This is not the nicest Marriott I've ever stayed, but it is probably the best location if plan on going out. Less than a block to Oxford Street its an easy walk to all the bars and clubs. The staff is very gay friendly (many are gay themselves) and there is a large gay clientele.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Slide Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great club but not always gay
    Check ahead to find out what nights Slide is gay because it is worth the price of admission ($15 when I was there 12/09). It was by far the cleanest club I visited, the music was excellent, and the men were very handsome. I enjoyed the balcony on the second level because it gave an excellent view of the dance floor and was easier to talk to guys there. The bar is very cruisey.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed The Colombian Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Mixed and friendly video bar
    I Was propositioned by more than one hustler while there in the late afternoon / early evening, which was a turn off. But it does get quite busy later on the weekends and the upstairs is a good place to check out if you want a bit more space.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Stonewall Hotel Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Popular local bar but not for me
    This bar always has people and the music is good, but I was not a fan. The bar was dirty (not sexually) and the crowd by day slightly scary. The evenings TH, FRI and SAT are the best time to check out this bar otherwise, just keep on walking.

  • BosGuy
    BosGuy reviewed Arq Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun club and friendly crowd
    I just returned from Sydney this week and was at Arq on Sunday, December 6th. The nightclub has two levels and I prefer the ground level, but the place fills to capacity and the music is good wherever you find yourself.