Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world
See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.

uncutedge

37 M

Member Since: June 2, 2010

plus minus toggle
uncutedge Loves These Places
  • nice place
    This is the only gay place left on what was the gay strip. It's also just about the only option open before 11pm. Service and food are very good, the prices are in line with other trendy places in ipanema (a bit high compared to rio overall but still not expensive by world standards). Popular with locals and tourists. This place is pretty much a must for any gay visitor to Rio.

    June 18

  • excellent deal
    Good value. Big comfortable bed. Fast wifi. Big breakfast selection included. I'll definitely come back to this hotel
    first review First to Review

    June 18

  • MAJOR IMPROVEMENT
    Back when this bar was Keith's it sucked - rude/indifferent staff and nasty clients. Plus bad drinks at bad prices. NOW, thanks to the new owner, it's 100% different - the bartenders are great, the drinks are good, the prices are good, there are fun specials and theme nights, and the crowd is much bigger and friendlier. There are a core group of regulars but lots of new faces as well. I'm very impressed. 5 stars for this neighborhood hangout!

    January 22, 2012

  • mediocre
    It looks likes my opinion is in the minority here but I don't like Guava Lamp very much. The decor is actually very nice but the layout is bad. There's a huge space between the bar on the one side and tables on the other which makes someone walking in feel very exposed, like all eyes are on them. Except, they aren't, because the place is very clique-ish and it's very difficult to break into the groups of friends. The drinks are average in quality but very high in price, and the bartenders again are very clique-ish - they'd rather sit and chit-chat with their friends than, you know, tend bar. Guava Lamp is obviously going after a more upscale crowd but they need to go to F-Bar, or even Meteor, to see how it's done. I've tried GL a few times but I'm not going back there again if I can help it.

    July 10, 2011

  • Excellent place
    F Bar is by far the best of the many new places that have opened up recently in Houston. The design is really well-done and hip and the patio is beautiful. Happy hour til 9pm is good. I'm impressed!

    May 17, 2011

  • uncutedge is now a fan of 13: The Heights Bar
    Bars & Clubs in Houston

    January 2, 2011

    based on 6 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Worst bar layout ever
    January 2011 revision: The bar has since been remodeled and is MUCH more inviting and pleasant to spend time in. Apparently there is new management, there are also new bartenders, the place is a million times better now. Thought I should edit my original review and be fair. May 2010: Seriously, I've been to many bars in my life, and this has to be the dumbest bar layout I ever saw. It's a cavernous space where people walking in are going to feel like all eyes are upon them, but then the bar is sequestered off to the side with railings so it's difficult to get a drink. Just terrible. It needs to shut down, remodel, and re-open. It's a shame because the heights / NW side are full of gay people and a nice bar there would be well-patronized.

    January 2, 2011

  • eh. so so.
    The bar isn't terrible. I've tried it a few times at different days/times of the day, and it's never awful, but never that great either. The layout is kinda bad, with a lot of dead/empty space, and the smoking is atrocious - I think the carpeting magnifies the smoking effect. I have lived with various smokers over the last 10 years, I'm not tobacco-phobic, but this bar is ridiculous when it comes to cigarettes, it's like walking into an ashtray, the place needs to be fumigated. The crowd is kinda blah, the bartenders are kinda blah, the drink prices are a bit steep... see what I'm getting at? The outdoor patio area is pretty nice though. This bar would be improved immensely if it banned smoking inside and replaced the carpeting with any kind of hard floor. There's definitely potential but the management needs to make some changes.

    January 2, 2011

  • more (3)

3 FOLLOWERS

  • TravisTi
  • RyanC
  • GuavaLamp

PLACES

I'M A FAN OF

Fan of Houston

Fan of F Bar Houston Bar/Club in Houston

Fan of 13: The Heights Bar Bar/Club in Houston

Fan of Montrose Mining Company Bar/Club in Houston