Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world

See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.

sfgam

51 M
San Francisco, California

Gay Asian Man from San Francisco

Member Since: February 26, 2009 | Originally From: Hong Kong

plus minus toggle
sfgam Loves These Places
  • sfgam loves Mangos
    Restaurants in Sacramento

    October 18 ·

    based on 6 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • sfgam is now a fan of Badlands
    Bars & Clubs in San Francisco

    December 8, 2010 ·

    based on 90 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • sfgam is now a fan of Truck
    Bars & Clubs in San Francisco

    December 8, 2010 ·

    based on 16 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • sfgam is now a fan of Twin Peaks Tavern
    Bars & Clubs in San Francisco

    December 8, 2010 ·

    based on 22 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • sfgam is now a fan of Pilsner Inn
    Bars & Clubs in San Francisco

    December 8, 2010 ·

    based on 16 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • sfgam gave * to Badlands
    Bars & Clubs in San Francisco
    Good place for Happy Hour on Friday
    This is a place where I usually go for Happy Hour on Fridays. You can't beat the 2 for 1 drinks that last till 8pm. It is a place where you could cruise alone or hang out with your friends. Clients ages range from mid/late 20s to early 50's. Mostly Caucasian (60 - 70%), Asians (20 - 25%) , Latinos (5 - 10%), African American (less than 2%) and there are always straight ladies who like to hang out with their darling gay friends. There are plenty of video screens throughout the bar playing music video to keep you occupied if you were alone. It could get very crowded during HH on Fridays but it gets worse on Friday and Saturday nights. The line to get in starts around 10pm on Fri and Sat and it gets longer after 11pm. It could take up to 20 - 30mins to get in if arrived late. I usually avoid to go there on both nights because it is jam packed inside and indeed the dance floor is too small for the dancing crowd. This place also has loud music so it is not for everyone. But if you wanted to go to somewhere that is cruisy and want to find a trick, you do have a good chance there. As the night goes on, lonely people want to pair up and leave to do their things. Of course, a lot of them already drunk so they are not as picky. This rules always applied to gay bars everywhere :-) Have fun!

    February 26, 2009 ·

    based on 90 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • sfgam gave * to Mangos
    Restaurants in Sacramento
    Nice place to have a drink but food is terrible
    Boy, the food in this place is getting worse! The only reason that I gave it a two stars is because Jeff, the bartender makes good cosmos. When this place was opened up couple years ago I was very excited because I thought Sacramento needed more gay establishments like this. The food was decent then and was a lot busier. Since my BF lives in Sacramento, he goes there quite often to get his dinner and have his beer. He told me that the chefs there come and go and the restaurant was once closed because the owner couldn't strik a deal with the chef. Now they have two guys in the kitchen (don't even bother to wear aprons) who really don't know what they are doing. My BF ordered a steak which was very dried and tough. My grilled halibut was so overly cooked and favorless, I had a hard time eating it. I didn't really want to eat there that night because I knew the food was not going to be good but I didn't know it was that bad. Being the only gay lounge and resturant place in Sacramento you would think they have all the adventages. If you went to Sacramento and want to go to a nice lounge (it is very nicely decorated and their mens room is beautiful) to have a drink, this is the place. Food wise, forget it.
    first review First to Review

    February 26, 2009 ·

    based on 6 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • sfgam gave * to Truck
    Bars & Clubs in San Francisco
    This place is hot!
    This place is cool, hip, has great music and lots of energy! I drove by this bar a numberous of time during the day and finally went there to check it out last Saturday night. My boyfriend and I walked in about 10pm and there were several dozen of people hanging out. There is a diner like place in the back that serves burgers and fries. We just had our dinner in the Castro otherwise would love to try their food. By 11pm, the place was packed with studs age from late 20's to mid 30's. Just about everyone there is physically fitted so you would see lots of eye candies. Most people go there to meet up friends and I didn't see a lot of singles cruising. A very hot African Amercian guy wearing tight swim trunks was pouring dollar shot of magarita and we got a few from him. The location is not great but it is an alternative if you wanted to stay away from the Castro and catch a breath of fresh air, that's the place to go. So, good looking people, great music, burgers and fries... What more do you want? I am sure my bf and I would go back sometimes soon. Have fun boys!

    February 26, 2009 ·

    based on 16 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • sfgam gave * to Pilsner Inn
    Bars & Clubs in San Francisco
    An unpretentious bar
    A down to earth and unpretentious bar. It is at a convenient location for non-drivers because you could take buses, street cars and Muni to get there. The parking could be difficult from early evening on because it is located on Church and Market. Try finding parking on Delores Street. This is another option when you want to get away from the Castro which is walking distant (10 minutes). It is also a nice place to have a drink while you wait for a table at Chows (which is a nice restaurant next door).

    February 26, 2009 ·

    based on 16 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Bars & Clubs in San Francisco
    A gay bar with history
    It is the very first gay bar in the U.S. that has the big open windows that people could look right in so there is a lot of history behind it. My boyfriend and I love to sit by the window and watch people walk by while sipping on our Irish coffee. I also love to hide in the mezzanine and sit right by the small window. That is a perfect little spot to watch people when you go to the Castro Street Fair, Pink Party or Halloween night.You could watch people without they starting right back at you. Yes, the customer are mostly older gentlemen but who cares? Since they serve stiff drinks so it is now attracting a younger crowd in their 30s. I would recommend any tourists from out of town to go in there for a drink.

    February 26, 2009 ·

    based on 22 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?

PLACES

I'M A FAN OF

Fan of Badlands Bar/Club in San Francisco

Fan of Pilsner Inn Bar/Club in San Francisco

Fan of Twin Peaks Tavern Bar/Club in San Francisco

Fan of Truck Bar/Club in San Francisco