Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world
See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.

robert5

64 M
Clearwater, Florida

Thank you for reading my profile. Not seeking dates or lovers . I am a retired housing judge from New York and speak English, German and Spanish. My favorite singer is Zarah Leander. I value being polite , don't smoke or drink. If I go to a bar, I order Orange Juice! People kid me about that but I never have to see a doctor. I love those who are openly, joyfullly Gay. In spite of all the prejudice against us, I wouldn't change who I am for the world. "Poor is the man (or woman) whose pleasures depend on the permission of another". PS on Jan. 12 -I'll be wintering in the jungle where I may not have access to this page. So if you want to send me a message please wait till you see activity here again from me. Thank you.

Member Since: December 25, 2011 | Originally From: New York
Ethnicity: Caucasian |

plus minus toggle
robert5 Loves These Places
  • Gay Hotel in Blackpool
    When I asked the British Tourist organization for info on Blackpool I got a strange reply: "Blackpool? No one goes there." It sounded perfect for me! Of course, many people DO go to Blackpool, it has been popular for generations. I flew to Manchester and took the train over to it. Trades Hotel is within walking distance to whatever I needed. Not plush, but my room was comfortable and the price was right. I loved walking by Blackpool's honky tonk seafront. At Trades, I met a nice guy, Derek, who invited me to go to Wales with him. An enjoyable time. I have fond memories of Trades.

    January 12, 2012

  • It is what it is
    I try to be positive in my reviews and -without dispute of the other's remarks- I would like to add my own. I have stopped into the Ki Ki Ki about once a month with a friend when I am in Tampa. Yes, they did have a roach problem but I didn't see any roaches when last there. It did stop me from going but when I heard they dealt with it, I gave it another try. Steve the bartender has always been friendly as are the other customers. Yes, It does get some rough type business boys sometimes but also some cute sweet ones, too . It is hit or miss. As far as the comments about only losers go there, I am successful, healthy and happy in life so please don't judge everyone. I could name worse places in Tampa Bay. The bar isn't for everyone or to everyone's taste. I think everyone would agree it is not a palace. Personally, if I go I have to sit away from the smokers. The antics that go on ensure entertainment. You don't have to be buying or selling to enjoy the show. I wish the Ki Ki Ki and it's great staff good luck. It is different.

    January 11, 2012

  • Small, friendly lounge
    After being told about the Lucky Star Lounge, I went there with a friend yesterday. The set up is intimate There is a small outdoor patio and it is connected to the open bar room. Although no one was smoking on the patio when I visited, I don't know if it is far enough away from the bar to make it really smoke free. You walk through the patio to enter the bar also. I think it is someplace where conversation flows freely. The location is good, steps from Central Ave and within walking distance to other places. All in all, I had a positive feeling.

    January 11, 2012

  • Fun Bar in Anchorage
    I have to say that my view of The Raven is colored by the first time I went there. One of the most beautiful Native American young guys I've seen grabbed me and tongue kissed me as I walked in. Now that does not happen to me often and maybe not often at The Raven either. But I thought "Well, I've come to the right place". I've found the Anchorage scene to friendly which almost makes up for how drab a city Anchorage is. The bar is at the end of downtown and it won't win any awards for decor. It's just to relax and maybe meet someone

    January 10, 2012

  • I have been to Quebec in the dead of winter and ,yes, life goes on. Montreal has an extensive underground city. I hope that you will dress warmly and enjoy Montreal. You already know what to expect, it won't be a beach destination

    January 10, 2012

  • In my opinion, there is no good month to go weather wise to the UK! Only kidding, lets hope by spring or summer things should be looking up. I have always enjoyed staying in Earl's Court in London although it is no longer the Gay area it once was. The reason I like it is that there are many reasonable hotels and places to eat (although even Earl's Court has become more expensive as of late- you have to look around if you are on a budget). It is also between Heathrow Airport and the center- the Tube stops there. So getting around is easy. I've stayed in the East End and found it rather bleak. Also in the center and found it too frantic (as well as not much value for money). Of course, where you stay depends on what your interests are.

    January 7, 2012

  • If the weather isn't so bad, I find a night run on the Staten Island Ferry to be romantic and it doesn't cost (how's that for New York!). I love seeing the Statue of Liberty and the lights of Manhattan from the boat. The trip takes about 25 minutes each way. If it is cold, there is heat on the boat. The terminals are grim but the ride is super.

    January 2, 2012

  • Cruisy Gay Beach Worth a Visit
    A charming beach to spend the afternoon on. They don't charge to sit in the chairs, you just order something. The prices were not as high as I expected. Handsome business boys approached me. Since I was with someone, it was not difficult to shake off any I didn't want. I went for a little stroll on the beach and a sexy lifeguard made it clear he was available. Never found out his rates.

    December 26, 2011

  • Great skin care products and scents!
    A chain of great smelling fragrance shops. Perfect to stop in for that rainy afternoon at the mall.
    first review First to Review

    December 26, 2011

  • Leather Bar without much leather
    Ok, Lieblings, there was once a time when I would put on something butch (clothes, not a person) and head on down to The Eagle. I'm a native New Yorker but would not feel safe walking around here late at night, so I would advise taking a taxi. I've found it more of an S&M locale, meaning "Stand and Model". It certainly doesn't offer the leather scene from days gone by, but that is not the bar's fault. It can be a nice night out with some friends. The decor is what you would expect from a leather bar.

    December 26, 2011

  • more (11)

2 FOLLOWERS

  • rorer714
  • GStadium

PLACES

I'M A FAN OF

Fan of Georgie's Alibi Bar/Club in Tampa Bay