Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world

See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.

RuthlessDuchess

44 M
Amman, Amman, Jordan

Travel a lot...for business, pleasure and the right (I hope) combination of the two sometimes, so I get to know a lot of gay places 'round the world. Excesively well educated, I have an eye for quality, fashion and manners.

Member Since: June 20, 2009 | Originally From: MADRID | Relationship Status: Single
Body Type: Average Build | Ethnicity: Caucasian | Friends Call Me a: Art Lover, Bar Hopper, Shopaholic, Theater Queen, Music Lover | I'm looking for: Soul mate, Travel buddy, Networking, Whatever

plus minus toggle
RuthlessDuchess's Reviews
  • Bars & Clubs in New York
    luv it
    A mandatory stop in my regular pilgrimages to NYC, The Eagle is what it is, and one has to take it as such. Nice crowd (if one into that kinna crowd), stiff drinks and amazingly good music. Cruising is the word, and also a lot of variety is appreciated.

    May 31, 2012 at 2:22pm ·

    based on 50 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Bars & Clubs in New York
    ... not my cuppa tea
    Completely misled by a big fan, I was utterly dismayed when stepping in. True: it was middle of the week and a extremely wet and frisky April night but we found the venue almost empty except for a cheerful group of clearly usual patrons gathered around the piano devotedly singing Musicals tunes (yesssss, I acknowledge my weakness). I mildly appreciated the extremely kitsch deco, it had a charming “je ne sais quoi”, indeed. Correct by limit icy staff served us acceptable value for money drinks. After a brief tour of the facilities (a visit to the loo) I discovered my bf had vanished in thin air... just to find him outside having a ciggie, his excuse to avoid a couple of customers who almost sit on his lap while I was gone :@ We did not visit the basement club outraged by the cover fee and the complete lack of expectations in terms of ambiance and/or crowd. My big fan friend still does not understand why we left the place without a better impression.

    May 31, 2012 at 2:13pm ·

    based on 40 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Bars & Clubs
    a truly devoted
    Gorgeous venue in a calm neighborhood. Friendly staff, stiff drinks and... Musicals! what can you not like of Splash? for sure a place to go back.

    May 31, 2012 at 1:53pm ·

    based on 72 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • RuthlessDuchess is now a fan of Splash
    Bars & Clubs

    May 31, 2012 at 1:51pm ·

    based on 72 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • RuthlessDuchess is now a fan of MOVA Lounge
    Bars & Clubs in Washington DC

    Dec 8, 2010 at 12:56am ·

    based on 20 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Bars & Clubs in London
    show, show, show off!!!
    A classic in gay SOHO, a lot of stearing and showing off outside (strangely clonic men all crowded together on a narrow piece of pavement), mostly nobody inside, and -notice the quotes pls- "action" in the rest rooms: basically men trying to get a look at your piece while havin' a wee. Pfffffff would be my main reaction.

    Sep 27, 2009 at 5:50am ·

    based on 9 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Bathhouses & Sex Clubs in Washington DC
    It all depends on standards...
    Let's be clear: compared with the European saunas... :-( But among the very poor US market I found The Crew Club a more than acceptable place. Correct in terms of hygiene, staff limit dry... although nothing a real Duchess cannot deal with. Funny the system of renting cabins... had seen it previously in Germany, but it is not widely spread. Pity there is not a bar but a couple of crappy vending machines. I'll come back when in DC.

    Sep 27, 2009 at 12:14am ·

    based on 40 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Bars & Clubs in Washington DC
    Bye bye Farrah
    The staff was nice and very correct, the drinks (I had dry martinis and cosmos) well prepared, generous (in size and alcohol contains) but slightly overpriced. In all a very nice place with kinna relaxed ambiance. Definitively not a cruising place, mostly couples or groups of friends. Nice music. My only regret, while there, we all learnt about the death of Jacko, and more importantly: of Farrah Fawcett.

    Sep 27, 2009 at 12:06am ·

    based on 20 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Bars & Clubs in Washington DC
    And I thought the Duchesses were rude!
    Staff not friendly at all, they even refused to serve me a drink when I showed my 50 bucks bill on the excuse of not havin' any change. When I asked where could I get it changed I was simply told that was not their problem and was invited to basically bugger-off... very different from the NYC Eagle but as any other "leather" bar in the States... basically a place where you find a lot of "strouting one' stuff" but very little or none at all socializing / action. I regret the time I spent there.

    Sep 26, 2009 at 11:58pm ·

    based on 39 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?

1 FOLLOWERS

  • Face3fucked

PLACES

I'M A FAN OF

Fan of Splash

Fan of MOVA Lounge Bar/Club in Washington DC