Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world

See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.

Reason

42 M
San Francisco, California

I live in the Castro and love the variety of cafes, restaurants, and bars within walking distance.

Member Since: August 1, 2005

plus minus toggle
Reason Loves These Places
  • Reason is now a fan of Lime: CLOSED
    Bars & Clubs

    Dec 8, 2010 at 12:56am ·

    based on 11 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Reason is now a fan of Applewood Inn
    Restaurants in Russian River

    Dec 8, 2010 at 12:56am ·

    based on 2 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Reason is now a fan of Harvey's
    Restaurants in San Francisco

    Dec 8, 2010 at 12:56am ·

    based on 32 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Reason is now a fan of Catch
    Restaurants in San Francisco

    Dec 8, 2010 at 12:56am ·

    based on 15 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Reason is now a fan of Martuni's
    Bars & Clubs in San Francisco

    Dec 8, 2010 at 12:56am ·

    based on 11 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Restaurants in Russian River
    An oasis in the middle of muddy Guerneville
    The Applewood Inn is an amazing B&B located just a short stroll from "downtown" Guerneville. However, in spite of its proximity, it feels like it is a world away -- very understated, peaceful, and with a beautiful pool and gardens. The restaurant here is one of the area's jewels, and it is hard to believe that this gourmet experience is so close to the offhand trashiness of the Russian River. The meals that we had here were nuanced and delicious, the service was knowledgeable, friendly, and polite, and the wine selection was local and interesting.
    first review First to Review

    Jun 15, 2008 at 10:51pm ·

    based on 2 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Reason gave * to Martuni's
    Bars & Clubs in San Francisco
    Depends on the quality of the piano player
    My partner and I love Martuni's because it is great fun to listen to the piano player's patter and the bar can attract quite a high caliber of singers for its continuous open mike. The down side is that the fun depends on the quality of the piano player, and our favorite retired a couple years ago. But still, a lovely place to sit and listen to music.
    first review First to Review

    Aug 10, 2005 at 3:20am ·

    based on 11 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Reason gave * to Harvey's
    Restaurants in San Francisco
    A pleasant place for lunch or brunch
    I've only been here as a diner, but this is actually one of my favorite lunch spots in the Castro. The food is not spectacular -- the portions are on the small side and the sandwiches are better than the salads -- but the banks of large windows make for a bright, sunny place to relax and watch the crowds pass by. There are some seriously fine waiters here as well.
    first review First to Review

    Aug 10, 2005 at 3:14am ·

    based on 32 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Bars & Clubs
    Fun if you can grab a seat
    Loud, flashy, often packed. This is a fun place to people watch, although conversation is difficult. The specialty drinks I've had there have all been quite tasty. Standing or sitting in the lounge area are not very comfortable, so it's best to fight for a bar seat or one of the oval tables. The rear seating is for diners only, and it is worth it to buy one of the tasty appetizers in order to grab a chair. Note that the men's room has no lock and no stall, so it's not for the shy.

    Aug 10, 2005 at 3:06am ·

    based on 11 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?

FOLLOWING 1 PEOPLE

  • Scott

6 FOLLOWERS

  • Scott
  • RoccoCass
  • Queertrip
  • jasondman
  • gctester1
  • GayTravel

PLACES

I'M A FAN OF

Fan of

Fan of

Fan of

Fan of Lime: CLOSED

Fan of Martuni's Bar/Club in San Francisco

see all »