Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world

See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.

RU87

27 M
Hartford, Connecticut

Member Since: October 24, 2012
Ethnicity: African American | Friends Call Me a: Art Lover, Bar Hopper, Film Buff, Foodie, Theater Queen, Music Lover | I'm looking for: Whatever

plus minus toggle
RU87 Loves These Places
  • RU87 gave * to Polo Club
    Bars & Clubs in Hartford
    What Hartford gas to offer
    I think if one considers that this club is in Hartford, CT, and not in a condensed and competitive city like New York or San Fransisco, it would be one of the best for its genre in the area. The venue is cheap, the drinks are slightly expensive, and the immediate residential area is not amongst the most desirable list, but the club itself maintains a safe and intense entertaining environment with a strong history that supports it. The drag shows are very funny and exciting. I always enjoyed this place even when I would go solo, and would bring my out of town friends there any time.

    Oct 25, 2012 at 12:05am ·

    based on 15 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • RU87 is now a fan of Freedj
    Bars & Clubs in Paris

    Oct 24, 2012 at 5:54pm ·

    based on 11 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • RU87 gave * to Freedj
    Bars & Clubs in Paris
    Nice, quality club
    It never gets old to simply entertain your guests with some inexpensive drinks and really good music; That to me is what Freedj routinely does. It provides 2 floors for two different tastes; one for conversation at the bar, and one monstrous "basement" where the heavy party usually resides. I tend to always meet friendly people here who are not reluctant to dance and have a good time. The playlist is superb. They go back to the 80s and 90s circa that transcends most nationalities, ethnicites and generations who happened to have turned on a radio or tv during that time. I prefer clubs whose environment makes you forget how much youve paid for drinks -- this is that club for me.

    Oct 24, 2012 at 5:53pm ·

    based on 11 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • RU87 gave * to Raidd Bar
    Bars & Clubs in Paris
    Modestly entertaining for foreigners
    If it weren't for the full frontal nude shower performances (and the nicest doorman I've ever met), I wouldn't even recommend it. Since they don't do the performances as often as they once did, I'd hardly recommend it now. It is unfortunate that the space is far more conducive to standing around and looking than it is for dancing. Drinks are expensive, gay staff is a minority, music is repetitive and often an unrecognizable trance version of pop hits with a purposefully removed bass, and it gets uncomfortably crowded with hoards of foreigners and bellicose alcoholics. When it is not high season however, it is a convivial atmosphere in which you can have (still expensive) drinks and a nice conversation with friends and other anglophones.

    Oct 24, 2012 at 5:42pm ·

    based on 16 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • RU87 is now a fan of Sun City
    Bathhouses in Paris

    Oct 24, 2012 at 5:12pm ·

    based on 22 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • RU87 gave * to Sun City
    Bathhouses & Sex Clubs in Paris
    First experience at a Sauna...
    ...and I must say, I've made a good choice that is hard to dominate. I've found since then that european saunas, in general, are remarkably different than the ones you'd find in the states, and for good reasons. I was mesmerized by the amount of space and amenities that were included; a large heated pool, 2 jacuzzis, an extensive gym, a movie theatre, and a bar. I actually found myself frequenting there for the amenities and not the dark rooms up above. Best part is that it is only 15 euro to enter and a stay up until 6am! Highly recommend this place, even if it is used for a liberating space to get naked, grab a beer, and chill in the heated pool!

    Oct 24, 2012 at 5:10pm ·

    based on 22 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Bars & Clubs in Hartford
    Boy Night - Best Night!
    Tisanes is a very comfortable place with decent food and cocktails on most evenings, but obviously boy nights on tuesdays are the most populated without ever losing the quality of being comfortable! I've enjoyed myself each time. Food and cocktails are "okay." Didn't love the mojitos.

    Oct 24, 2012 at 5:03pm ·

    based on 7 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • RU87 is now a fan of Tisane Tea & Coffee Bar
    Bars & Clubs in Hartford

    Oct 24, 2012 at 4:59pm ·

    based on 7 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?

FOLLOWING 3 PEOPLE

  • deke52
  • jjkeyes
  • peteorius

2 FOLLOWERS

  • LatinoBostonBoy
  • dreyfus

PLACES

I'M A FAN OF

Fan of Freedj Bar/Club in Paris

Fan of Sun City Bathhouse/Sauna in Paris

Fan of Tisane Tea & Coffee Bar Bar/Club in Hartford