Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world
See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.


HappyD

45 M
Anaheim, California

Member Since: May 27, 2010 | Originally From: Los Angeles, CA | Relationship Status: Single
Body Type: Average Build | Ethnicity: Caucasian | Friends Call Me a: Bar Hopper, Coffee Addict, Foodie | I'm looking for: Friends, Date, Soul mate, Playmate , Whatever

plus minus toggle
HappyD Loves These Places

  • May 26, 2011

  • The BEST bathhouse in the U.S.
    I'm from so cal but I've been coming to Steamworks for a few years now and it's the best bathhouse I've ever been to. Expansive, clean, and ALL types of guys can be found here. There's Reviewer HappyD - 39/M Not you? Sign in as a different reviewer something for everyone. I just went on the Sat before Folsom St Fair and it was off the hook. Waited four hours for a room, this place was the most packed I've ever seen, at least 200 people. 1 - 2 hour wait on weekends is normal for a room, but it was never like this. The Eucalyptus steamroom is the best around, although small. The play areas and sexual energy here are great. All kinds of northern CA boys come to this place and it's the only bathhouse around except for the Watergarden in San Jose. Not cheap, but you definetly get what you pay for. Expect to pay at least $30 for a basic room, $17 for a locker. Many large and speciality rooms that are equipped with slings can be had for a higher price. Best nights are Fri and Sat and Thurs night Blackout night

    March 4, 2011


  • February 6, 2011

  • "Busy as shit!!!"

    December 22, 2010

  • HappyD is now a fan of Steamworks
    Bathhouses in Oakland / East Bay

    December 8, 2010

    based on 15 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Great Location
    This hotel isn't like the other boutique hotels or chains listed here so far. This hotel is fairly basic but has what you need, including free internet. The best part is the location, it's right off of Folsom street in the heart of SOMA. If you're going for the fairs or just a weekend to hang out in San Fran, this hotel is center to everything. They do have offsite parking, but i've found myself many times just parking my car in the remote lot and walking where I need to go or using BART. I've often gotten rooms for less than $100 and it makes it worth it! No air conditioning in rooms.
    first review First to Review

    October 29, 2010

  • Love this hotel!
    I was this hotel listed and nobody's reviewed it!! This hotel is in downtown next to the Powell street cable car stop. I like this hotel because it's in a well preserved building from the turn of the century with all of it's old world charm in tact. The hotel is well kept and modern but hasn't been overdone like chain hotels. It's in the heart of downtown so plenty to do, although not that close to the gay bars :(
    first review First to Review

    October 29, 2010

  • Good Location
    As the last reviewer said, the best thing about this hotel is the location. I've never eaten there (usually avoid hotel food) but it's right at Market and 8th, there's a BART station on the corners and it's within walking distance of the SOMA bars. If you're driving into town parking can be expensive ($30 a dar). Not a lot to eat around the area late at night, so plan accordingly!

    October 29, 2010

  • Better!
    Hawk's is smaller than Entourage but set up better for playing. There's rooms, a small steam room and a back dungeon area with different equipment. It's busy on the weekends with a dark room that gets pretty seedy, but sometimes so is the clientele.

    October 13, 2010

  • more (17)

41 FOLLOWERS

PLACES

I'M A FAN OF

Fan of New Orleans

Fan of Steamworks Bathhouse/Sauna in Oakland / East Bay