Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world
See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.


BLJ

47 M
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Member Since: June 17, 2015

plus minus toggle
BLJ Loves These Places

  • September 24, 2015

  • BLJ gave * to Hyatt Regency in Boston
    great hotel. middle of everything.
    Close to T and downtown. Nice rooms. Great brand!

    September 24, 2015

  • great staff and amazing amenities!
    Love this place. 3 pools, Spa, restaurants, beach shuttle, and water sports. There are families but everyone mixes well. Book a tower room! The views are better than the beach front hotels!
    first review First to Review

    September 12, 2015

  • great LGBT friendly hotel!
    Unfortunately we were staying at the Hilton across the street but came here for a drink. The hotel is beautiful and the pool is amazing. It's not on the ocean but you have beach access. If you too find yourself in a bad hotel experience, they have day passes available for a very reasonable price. Includes pool, spa, etc...BUT I HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU STAY HERE!

    June 17, 2015


  • June 17, 2015

  • great hotel
    Hotel and most staff were friendly and accommodating! Room is nice- we had an ocean view. The only challenge we experienced was the pool service was lacking - you have to go to the bar to get drinks, etc. The pool bar staff were not friendly. All around a pretty good stay though.
    first review First to Review

    June 17, 2015

  • do not stay at this hilton
    My partner and I have been here for 2 days now and I'm shocked at how unaccepting the island is for gay men. I'm not ignorant to the differences in culture but the island tourism boards have been promoting their gay-friendly tourism for quite some time and it is entirely a marketing ploy. My partner and I checked in with a Front Desk Agent who referred to us as colleagues, then when I asked if a room with a king bed was available, she insisted that we would be happy with the room with 2 beds. "You need to beds anyway because there are 2 of you." I politely but firmly advised her we actually did not need 2 beds. The hotel has a below average room product and the mold and dingy cleaning job is ridiculous. I should disclose that I'm a hotelier by trade, which can sometimes lead to higher expectations, however in this case I can promise you that I am being as patient and understanding of "island culture" as possible. The beach is beautiful but short of that, this hotel is lacking quality and service. Choose a different option and save yourself the trouble. On an unrelated topic to the hotel, we went to a local restaurant last night and were refused service by a server who seemed to be annoyed with the fact that we were gay. One of the other servers assisted and was very helpful, however when a 2nd gay couple came into the restaurant shortly after us, the manager advised her to get over it and serve them. The food was good and the gentleman who served us was wonderful and friendly. This has all led to a very unwelcoming feel from the island.

    June 17, 2015


  • June 17, 2015