Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world
See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.

BARRYfromBOSTON

53 M
Revere Beach

traveling 9+ months a year as an international piano bar headliner.

Member Since: August 8, 2009 | Originally From: Chicago

plus minus toggle
BARRYfromBOSTON Loves These Places
  • Bars & Clubs

    December 8, 2010

    based on 2 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • BARRYfromBOSTON is now a fan of 47 Central
    Bars & Clubs

    December 8, 2010

    based on 4 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Restaurants in Boston

    December 8, 2010

    based on 3 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • BARRYfromBOSTON is now a fan of Michy's
    Restaurants in Miami

    December 8, 2010

    based on 1 rating Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • UnderBar: Oh, is THAT what it's called this week?!
    First of all, if you go to the UnderBar website, you won't even see the tiniest SUGGESTION of anything gay. They don't even mention being OPEN on Sunday nights. Are we supposed to supposed to spend our money there once a week, and hush up about being their dirty little Sunday Secret? It's the club in the closet! I like a gay bar where I can know the staff, and pop in any time, not be shunned for not being on the Thursday guest list or the Saturday guest list, each held by a separate promoter, depending on the night. Yuk.

    October 14, 2009

  • My favorite foodie experience (EVER!!) in Miami
    Critics of the arts (be they visual, performing or culinary) get a bit miffed when something they are sent to review is so flawless, they have nothing to sling clever barbs at. Can you even remember a meal anywhere during which everything was absolutely spot on? If not, let me answer your first question first: YES, you should (and indeed MUST) dine at Michy’s on Biscayne Blvd, Miami. I will take you through this amazing foodie adventure. Michy’s was participating in Miami Spice, a prix fixe $35 3-course menu. But, we choose to order a tasting menu for our party of 4, with continuous advice from our spectacular server, Jason. Indeed, not only did we sample 11 plates, but where we skipped something Jason felt the adventure wasn’t complete without, it showed up anyhow. We never told him which to bring half orders for, and which to serve full orders. We told him what we were most enthused about, and he ran the show from there. The house sent out two apps before we could order. A ham and cheese croquette and a ceviche were already on the way. The croquettes (served with a fig jam) went over well, but with the ceviche, I was already in foodie nirvana. The punchy, citrus-filled tilapia was served in a bowl (thank God it wasn’t yet another dull ceviche in a martini glass!), with corn “three ways”, i.e, popcorn, niblets on the cob, and corn nuts. The fish was fantastic. Next came 3 more plates, 2 of which we didn’t order, but “the journey wouldn’t be complete without”. We ordered a Greek salad with watermelon. The feta was unlike any I had ever had, soft, fresh, not salty. This was exceptional. Duck confit (baked 5 hours than quick fried before serving) over a bed of mandolin-sliced brussel sprouts, and Sweetbreads over fava bean pesto plated over a sauce accented by fennel seeds, orange peel and a few mandarin orange segments were presented “for the adventurous”. We tried the sweetbreads, & mostly found it to be tasty, and not dissimilar from particularly well prepared, lightly-fried chicken. The duck lovers among us went wild for that dish, as did the “Duckless Diner”, who marveled at the brussel sprouts “slaw”. Favorite Dish: Then the fettucini carbonara with crispy prosciutto arrived, along with short ribs (with oven roasted tomatoes) , Malaysian curried yellowtail snapper, and truffled creamy polenta with a truffled poached egg, which we were encourage to mix in to the polenta. Huge kudos on all. The meat from the short ribs may have been some of the most tender bites of meat I have ever known. The complex Thai flavor in the yellowtail snapper sauce (served over a hearts of palm salad and rice) had me scraping at the plate to savor. We were far too stuffed for dessert & declined, so naturally, 2 desserts for sampling arrived anyhow. One was their signature baked Alaska (referred to as the “Sarah Palin” dessert) & a bread pudding with vanilla ice cream, raisins and chocolate chunks. The baked Alaska was visually fantastic, but not terribly exciting on the palette. The bread pudding could have used stronger notes of rum & raisin, and came across as not dramatic enough to cap off so fantastic a meal. But, as these were comped, we could hardly complain. (We had noted that had we ordered dessert, the chocolate brownie with salty caramel & seasonal fruits or the nightly Granita with basil & mint would have been the way we went.) We had no clue how Jason would go about pricing all this, but was beyond reasonable for such an outstanding feast, coming in at about $58/person (with a nice gratuity), with two of us having a glass of wine, & two of us having an espresso. When I think of how two of us had atrocious food on Lincoln Road (one split appetizer, two dull-to-unacceptable entrees, one of which made me sick from bad fish, and cocktails that were supposed to be comped and weren’t at Aura), this amazing culinary event was an absolute bargain. The simple synopsis is that you should absolutely go and dine at Michy’s… ASAP, and then undoubtedly often thereafter.
    first review First to Review

    September 2, 2009

  • All this, and a parking lot!
    With a great patio for outside seasonal dining, and its own free parking lot, The Red Fez is truly a hidden gem of Boston. This hip, ecclectic, exotic room features all the Syrian/Lebanese mezzes you'd come to expect and then some, with great touches like pomegranate vinaigrette, great dips and phyllo creations, and a menu that is perfect for sharing, and lingering with their creative cocktails. It's an excellent date restaurant, that demonstrates your Boston insider status and playfulness. Everything we've tasted from apps to lamb, fish, and grape leaves was excellently prepared. On Saturday nights, the meal is accented by live Arabic music. I've enjoyed the place with friends, on a date, or with a large group, each of which they handled with aplomb.
    first review First to Review

    September 2, 2009

  • New to SoBe: A new style of piano bar
    Traveling a lot (9+ months a year!), it's fair to say that there is a piano bar culture elsewhere that most Americans are completely unfamiliar with. The American piano bar is a swanky but sleepy hotel lounge, or a sing-along gay bar with older men cackling "How Do You Solve A Problem Like Maria" while downing 800 calorie fruity drinks. But in the Netherlands, the Caribbean, and Scandinavia, a different type of piano bar with high energy performers using a digital piano in the shell of a real piano (most guests don't know it isn't a real piano) with a keyboard bass and a drum machine are at the ready to do everything from the expected jazzy standards, to dance music, R&B, and songs from today's Top 40. The best of them are as ready to perform Les Miz as they are to perform Oasis, Jason Mraz, and Coldplay. Introducing this style of piano bar to the USA is a company that has brought this brand of musical fun to Aruba, Curacao and St. Maarten at their Sopranos Piano bars. Expect a great, friendly, welcoming barstaff, great cocktails that you pay a lot more for a clubs with velvet ropes and 2 hour waits outside, and an atmosphere where international travelers at the nearby Loew's and Ritz Carlton hotels mix freely and joyously with gays and lesbians, locals and club hipsters. Early in the night, outrageous happy hour specials (including $5 cocktails where the well drinks are familiar top house brands). Later on, it's no trouble to have your mojito properly muddled, not some nightclub squeeze bottle variation. The performers rotate every two weeks, so it always stays fresh. Crescendos, located underneath the Ritz Carlton (but not in the hotel) is on Lincoln Road near the beach, just beyond Collins Avenue.
    first review First to Review

    August 22, 2009

  • Great Concept, Not Great Follow-Thru
    I couldn't wait to try Sibling Rivalry, with their Iron Chef concept... the "theme" ingredient is in the middle of the page, with what each chef did with it on one side or the other. Apps were in red, entrees in black (possibly visa versa, but you get the idea). The menu read like a foodie's dream. But, in all cases, even with the mains, there was just not much to eat on the plate. I'm all for an attractively sauced plate and artful presentation, but after dinner, about an hour later, we had to go for dinner.

    August 8, 2009

  • Big Expectations, but...
    I was very excited about the opening of Erbaluce, having been a fan of the chef in his former digs in the North End, many years ago. I found that the same palette of flavors showed up in dish after dish. Wine was poorly served, with enough sediment poured into my glass to make potpourri. We did 4 courses, and after finishing the first course, the pasta course took another 35 minutes to come out. There was some apology (from the hostess, not the waiter) about having to dump the water and start over, but how long does it take to boil water? I had high hopes, but in the end, felt that the best that I could say was that it was fair.

    August 8, 2009

  • more (3)

4 FOLLOWERS

  • route19north
  • Peiris
  • Hunkman.leatherbound
  • Freakdreamer

PLACES

I'M A FAN OF

Fan of Boston

Fan of 47 Central Bar/Club in Boston

Fan of The Piano Lounge [CLOSED] Bar/Club in Miami

Fan of Michy's Restaurant in Miami

Fan of Cathedral Station Restaurant in Boston